Help With New Honywell TH622OD-Heatpump - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2009, 04:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help with new Honywell TH622OD-Heatpump


I have a Florida Heatpump with aux heat. I replaced my original t-stat with a programmable honeywell because we like it a bit cool at night and the programmable seemed like a nice way to do it (instead of hitting the up and down buttons all the time.)

Anyway, the install went smoothly, I figured out the wiring switchover, but the problem I am having is that the AUX heat is running a LOT more now then it did with my old t-stat. I would rather be behind a few degrees and just let the heatpump catch up eventually than have the AUX come on all the time.

Short of going back to my old t-stat, I would like to program this one to use the AUX a lot less. I am guessing that would be in the "Second Stage heat Cycle Setting"?
Also, I am a little confused. There is a Heat Cycle rate, a Second stage heat cycle rate. AND a Compressor Cycle rate (CPH) and a second stage (CPH).

The t-stat also has "Adaptive Intelligent Recovery" which trys to have the temp at the programmed level at the particular time. For instance, wake up is set at 7am and the temp for 69. Instead of coming on at 7am and running until the temp reaches 69 it will try to have the temp at 69 at 7am. Would turning that off help me attain my goal?

Again, my goal is to let the temp drop at night and bring it back up in the morning and maintain it during the day using the AUX as little as possible.

Sorry for the longwinded post, but I wanted to get what I think is the complete issue out there. Any help would be appreciated.

One last thing that may be important....I live in a cold climate (northern Michigan).

Advertisement


Last edited by shacky4; 01-19-2009 at 05:04 PM.
shacky4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 05:21 PM   #2
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Help with new Honywell TH622OD-Heatpump


If you drop more than 2 deg away from set point like when it is recovering from the set back it will go to aux ht. In my opinion you should not set back a heat pump. you wast more energy on recovery than you gain from the set back. Just leave at a comfortable temp and enjoy. On some thermostats you can spred the diff between stages and when aux begins. With a optional outdoor temp senser I can set my stat to never use aux ht unless it is below say 30 deg. But keep in mind if the heat pump fails and it is above the 30 deg outside the aux will not turn on.

Advertisement

JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 05:28 PM   #3
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Help with new Honywell TH622OD-Heatpump


Looked up your t-stat and you do not have the options I spoke about.
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 06:15 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,414
Rewards Points: 4,480
Default

Help with new Honywell TH622OD-Heatpump


Adaptive recovery tries to raise the temp without using the aux heat anymore then it has to.

Set your aux heat cycle rate to 3 or 2.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 06:37 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help with new Honywell TH622OD-Heatpump


Thanks so much for the quick replys.

Let me ask you this.

What is the best setting for:
Heat Cycle Rate
Second Stage (AUX) Heat Cycle Rate-answered above
Compressor Cycle Rate
Second Stage Compressor Cycle rate


I hear what you are saying about just leaving the temp at one setting but I see the AUX coming on in the middle of the day now and I never used to see that.

Again, I don't mind if the heat lags a couple degrees behind and it takes a while to catch up...I just don't want it using the AUX.

Edit: Just had a thought. What if I switched the AUX wire to Emergency. Then the system would only use the AUX in emergency's. Any downside to this?

Last edited by shacky4; 01-19-2009 at 06:40 PM.
shacky4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting a House..heatpump or no? DavidsCPU HVAC 10 02-07-2010 11:22 PM
Carrier Infinity HeatPump code 46 SeanWhite HVAC 1 07-31-2008 08:48 PM
Heatpump Issues printman HVAC 2 06-28-2008 11:33 AM
old heatpump help. woody100 HVAC 2 11-23-2006 08:02 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts