Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2010, 11:25 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Help with my Gas furnace..Pressure switch and water??


Hi there all, I need your help. I have a 10 yr old Gibson Gas Furnace Model KG6RC100C-16 and yesterday it started having problems. Specs: Itís a gas furnace with internal piezo electric ignition. The April Air thermostat runs as part of our home automation system through a RS-232/485 interface to communicate to the system.
I got a call at work from my wife saying that the furnace wasnít heating the house and when I got home to look at it I noticed it would try cycling through the blowing process and stop within 2-3 mins. Additionally the gas fireplace was having issues firing up, even though I could see the pilot was lit. That finally came one and I think there may have been air in the lines. So back to the furnace. The air filter was dirty so I swapped that out and the blower fired up almost instantly but then it quit again. The LED lights were blinking and the corresponding code said that the pressure switch was stuck to open.
I looked at the whole situation a bit more closely, and noticed that during the 2-3 mins that the unit is running I can hear water running, draining, trickling through the system. Within 30 seconds of hearing the water, the pilot light goes out.
I am trying to decide if itís actually the pressure switch stuck open alone or how the water is playing into the problem. Could it be that the pressure switch closes a valve to prevent water from flowing?

Any and all help would be appreciated. Thanks.
J

JASPhoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 06:33 PM   #2
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Default

Help with my Gas furnace..Pressure switch and water??


http://www.grandaireac.com/Products/...AS_FURNACE.pdf

The factory installed condensate drain on your furnace (shown on page 3) must be cleared.

Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 08:07 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Help with my Gas furnace..Pressure switch and water??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Houston204 View Post
http://www.grandaireac.com/Products/...AS_FURNACE.pdf

The factory installed condensate drain on your furnace (shown on page 3) must be cleared.
Thank you for your quick response Houston204. I cleared the line as per your suggestion and also installed a new pressure switch (just in case). After firing up the unit, it appeared to be running normally for about 5 minutes then I heard a loud couple of clicks from the new pressure switch (I think) and then the burner went out and the status LED started blinking 2 flashes indicating a "pressure switch stuck open" condition again.

Are there any other possible causes for this condition that come to mind? Any additional advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you with best regards,

J
JASPhoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 08:50 PM   #4
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Help with my Gas furnace..Pressure switch and water??


take hoses off & make sure water is draining properly from vent motor housing & 2nd heat exchanger. It's stopped up somewhere
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 01:43 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 49
Default

Help with my Gas furnace..Pressure switch and water??


hey jas. ok what you should do is check the hose going to the pressure switch with an manometer to see if your getting the correct amount of vaccum from your IDM. you might have other promblems like a cracked heat exchanger, too big of a flame, or blower motor. but if your getting correct amount of vaccum the whole time up until it shuts off then you might have a bad control board. if you figure it out then call a pro. good luck
hvac kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil GNE075B12 Water in teh tube between combustion blower and pressure switch Quin HVAC 51 01-04-2013 11:46 AM
My pressure switch turns on-off quickly v1deoguy Plumbing 11 11-16-2009 11:41 AM
Pressure Switch, Draft Inducer, Burner Box, Problem majorapus HVAC 7 10-25-2009 06:14 PM
bad valve washing machine?? drdon51 Plumbing 6 06-29-2009 01:02 PM
New Pressure Switch -- low water pressure chach Plumbing 4 01-18-2009 09:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.