Help, It's COLD And Furnace Isn't Working - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2011, 01:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help, It's COLD and furnace isn't working


I'm new here and dont know what I'm doing. Ive got a Concord 80 Furnace. I know there is gas getting to it because the hot water heater is next to it on the same line and its getting gas. The valve is open. This is also the first time weve turned on the heat and only cold air is coming out of the vents. I took the top door panel off and there is no flame. Does this mean that the pilot light just went out some time in the last year and can I just light it. That leads me to the second question how do I light this thing if thats all I need to do. Getting to 32 tonight and this is our only source of heat.Thanks

Advertisement

chadmemphis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 02:28 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Help, It's COLD and furnace isn't working


Hi and welcome to the forum.
I took the liberty of moving this question over to the HVAC section.
You'll get much speedier replies here.

DM

Advertisement

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 03:10 PM   #3
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Help, It's COLD and furnace isn't working


First thing check your RED cover emergency switch top of stairs or outside the room the furnace is within set STAT FOR heat ....standing pilot we'll go with it..shut the service switch off on the side of the furnace.turn the dial on the gas valve within the furnace to pilot,light a strip of wood or spagetti(reach in) to where that silver thin tube ends on the pilot assembly and press the valve down in the pilot position. pilot will "light up" keep holding the valve dial down IN PILOT count to 30 then release...pilot will stay lit turn the gas valve to ON step back and toggle up sevice switch there on the side of the furnace....and...... results get back
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 03:29 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,645
Rewards Points: 2,604
Default

Help, It's COLD and furnace isn't working


this furnace should hot surface ignitor and draft inducer? get me picture of furnace with door off...
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 03:29 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Help, It's COLD and furnace isn't working


Quote:
Originally Posted by chadmemphis View Post
I'm new here and don't know what I'm doing. Ive got a Concord 80 Furnace. I know there is gas getting to it because the hot water heater is next to it on the same line and its getting gas. The valve is open. This is also the first time weve turned on the heat and only cold air is coming out of the vents. I took the top door panel off and there is no flame. Does this mean that the pilot light just went out some time in the last year and can I just light it. That leads me to the second question how do I light this thing if thats all I need to do. Getting to 32 tonight and this is our only source of heat.Thanks

Hi chad, I want to say that i spent a few days in Memphis earlier this year....did Graceland and downtown.....you have a beautiful city and some great food as well! I am gathering that you don't know much about your unit or what exact kind of heat you have, so in order to avoid giving you "bad" advise or leading you down the wrong path, if you could post a few pictures of your furnace with the doors off, we could help you much faster and much more accurately. would that be possible to do?
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 05:43 PM   #6
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Help, It's COLD and furnace isn't working


first thing that should be running in a heating call for is the induced draft motor mounted above the burner within the furnace then that silver round thing with the 2 wires going to it and the rubber tubeshould close to proof out air supplied and the ignition should start
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 08:40 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 493
Rewards Points: 346
Default

Help, It's COLD and furnace isn't working


I think the first thing we should do is warn the OP not to try to light his furnace! We need to see if by chance he has a standing pilot model but I doubt it.

Advertisement

sammy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 04:51 PM
Intermittent furnace lockouts, fouled nozzles, combustion air, and cold basements rodney23 HVAC 6 02-13-2011 10:38 AM
Lennox Furnace not working when very cold bsharitt HVAC 2 02-11-2010 06:58 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
It's cold already...furnace not working :( bryangwilson HVAC 5 09-11-2008 05:44 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts