Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-29-2010, 08:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Help Installing Honeywell Thermostat....


I'm looking for a little help installing a Honeywell VisionPro TH8320 Thermostat. I am replacing a Carrier TSTATCCPRH01-B and the wiring codes aren't really matching up the way I had hoped. Below is a legend of how it is currently hooked up (to the Carrier thermostat) and my assumption as to how it should be hooked up (with some unknowns).

Wire Color - Old Wiring - New Wiring (my guess)
Orange - O/W2 - ??
Pink - Y1/W2 - ??
Red - R - R
Green - G - G
Yellow - Y/Y2 - Y
White - W/W1 - ??
Blue - C - C
Brown - S1 - S1
Purple - S2 - S2

Here is a link to the Carrier thermostat manual http://www.docs.hvacpartners.com/idc.../tstat-1si.pdf and here is a link to the Honeywell thermostat manual http://www.forwardthinking.honeywell...ll/68_0280.pdf

I have a heat pump with gas emergency heat. If somebody could just tell me how to hook up those 3 ?? wires and check my other connections I would really appreciate it. Thanks.

jobondur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 09:00 PM   #2
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help Installing Honeywell Thermostat....


That is not your Carrier manual. You have this Thermidistat..

http://www.docs.hvacpartners.com/idc...tstat-23si.pdf

What are your existing configuration settings?

Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 09:14 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help Installing Honeywell Thermostat....


Here are the current configuration settings:
  1. 03
  2. 2
  3. F
  4. OF
  5. On
  6. On
  7. OF
  8. 40
  9. The thermostat skips right over #9
  10. On
  11. OF
  12. 1
  13. 0
  14. 2
  15. On
  16. OF
  17. P
That's what you were looking for correct?
jobondur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 10:01 PM   #4
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help Installing Honeywell Thermostat....


http://www.docs.hvacpartners.com/idc...t/tstat-3w.pdf

Refer to Figure 12.
You will need the Honeywell C7089U1006 outdoor sensor.

CONFIGURATION OPTIONS — SUMMARY:
03... Option 1—Anticipator adjustment
2.... Option 2—Clean filter timer adjustment
F ... Option 3—English/Metric selection
OF... Option 4—Fan (G) ON with W selection
On... Option 5—Variable-speed blower present selection
On ...Option 6—Cooling lockout below 55 selection
OF ...Option 7—Variable-speed super dehumidification selection (only available when variable-speed blower is used)
40... Option 8—Auxiliary heat lockout temperature setting (only available when heat pump is used)
NA...Option 9—Intelligent Heat Staging selection (only available when single-speed heat pump is used)
On... Option 10—Dual Fuel selection (only available when heat pump is
used)
OF... Option 11—Balance point setting (only available when Dual Fuel
is selected)
1 ...Option 12—Defrost heat selection (only available when heat pump
is used)
0... Option 13—Room temperature offset adjustment
2... Option 14—Heat/cool dead band adjustment
On... Option 15—Enable Auto mode
OF... Option 16—Enables Super Comfort Heat Mode
P... Option 17—Non-Programmable selection

Last edited by Houston204; 03-29-2010 at 10:04 PM.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 10:23 PM   #5
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help Installing Honeywell Thermostat....


Y2 = yellow
Aux & E = white
S1 = brown
S2 = purple
Rc & R = red
O/B = orange
Y = pink
G = green
C = blue

170 = 12
180 = 0
190 = 0
200 = 1
210 = 1 (Honeywell outdoor sensor required)
220 = 3
230 = 3
260 = 3
270 = 3
280 = 1 (if you want a constant backlight)
300 = 1
310 = 3
320 = 0 (Fahrenheit) or 1 (Celcius)
340 = 2 (Honeywell outdoor sensor in use)
350 = 15 (if gas is expensive in your area) I'd set it at 40 in my area
360 = 0 (If gas or oil is high in your area set at 40)
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 05:09 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,080
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Help Installing Honeywell Thermostat....


You do realize, that other then the programmable function of the TH8320, its a lesser thermostat then what you have.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 06:02 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 0
Talking

Help Installing Honeywell Thermostat....


Ok, so I'll go ahead and bite, how is it a lesser thermostat than what I have? Plus my Carrier thermostat IS 7-day programmable.

And thanks a ton Houston, I would have never figured out all those settings.
jobondur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 06:07 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,080
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Help Installing Honeywell Thermostat....


The TH8320 has no ability to control blower speed on a VS blower system. Nor can it do cool to dehumidify.

Even with blowers that are not VS, a relay can be used to slow the blower to get additional humidity removal.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 06:39 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help Installing Honeywell Thermostat....


So, based on my current configuration settings, it seems like I have a variable speed blower but have the dehumidification aspect of it turned off. Correct?

The reason I want a new one is the one I have is not very intuitive or user friendly. The Honeywell was what I had at my last house and I really liked it. It was easy to program and also easy to override or place on hold when you left town.

If I bought the wrong thermostat, I'm fine putting this one back on ebay and getting a different one but what would your recommendation be?
jobondur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 07:48 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help Installing Honeywell Thermostat....


Quote:
Originally Posted by Houston204 View Post
Refer to Figure 12.
You will need the Honeywell C7089U1006 outdoor sensor.
So you're saying the honeywell thermostat is not compatible with the carrier outdoor sensor I already have?
jobondur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 03:17 PM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,080
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Help Installing Honeywell Thermostat....


Honeywell IAQ(YTH9421) would be a good choice for a VS blower system.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 08:24 PM   #12
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help Installing Honeywell Thermostat....


Beenthere is right, your old stat is more capable than your new stat, with a variable speed blower. It just doesn't look as good and is less user friendly.

The Carrier sensor will not work with your Honeywell stat.

I removed a Carrier tstatccpac01 to install a Honeywell TH8321 and I'm very happy with it, but I do not have a variable speed blower.
The Honeywell IAQ would be a much better choice for your application, though more expensive.

Last edited by Houston204; 03-30-2010 at 08:27 PM.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 09:29 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help Installing Honeywell Thermostat....


So if I get the Honeywell IAQ and the Honeywell sensor you mentioned above, do the hookups and settings you posted for the TH8320 still hold true for the IAQ?
jobondur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 09:42 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help Installing Honeywell Thermostat....


And would I need to install the equipment interface module or just the thermostat? I don't have a humidifier on my current system.
jobondur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 10:01 PM   #15
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,080
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Help Installing Honeywell Thermostat....


Need the (YTH9421).
It comes with both the stat and EIM.
Need the EIM. Or the stat can't communicate.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing Honeywell thermostat with another Honeywell flipz HVAC 4 02-06-2010 04:19 PM
Need a programmable thermostat. LUX or Honeywell. speedster1 HVAC 37 12-06-2009 08:33 AM
new honeywell rth6300b to replace very old honeywell thermostat Designman20 HVAC 2 05-06-2009 04:43 AM
Wiring/Programming of a Honeywell TH8320 Thermostat homrjheath HVAC 4 10-15-2008 01:30 PM
Wiring help - Honeywell Thermostat w/ Carrier Heat Pump Tom Williams HVAC 7 09-14-2008 07:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.