Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2009, 11:10 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

help im sick of this ruud furnace


silhouette 11 ruud code 3 limit switch flames on runs good 5-6 minutes flames out then cycles back on flame on 5-6 minutes then cycles off cleaned both flame probes excellent constant blue flame changed vacum hose on limitswitch (old one cut short kinked at nipple) checked exhaust pipe its clear sucked on vacum hose to limit switch klik klik klik thats good poss cracked heat exchanger/ or dirty coil under the furnace/ heat from vents on floor 160 hot air while runnning any ideas

mike shea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 01:12 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,413
Default

help im sick of this ruud furnace


The switch with a hose, is NOT a limit switch. Its a pressure switch.

The limit switch is a temp limiting switch. Its a safety switch.

When is the last time you changed your air filter. or cleaned your A/C coil. Either or both may be restricting air flow.
Next thing is the blower may not be running fast enough due to bad capacitor, or bad blower motor.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 05:33 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

help im sick of this ruud furnace


Overheating due to lack of air flow, 160 out of registers is WAY too hot.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 07:49 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Default

help im sick of this ruud furnace


air cleaners are clean 2 in unit 1 in hall, big blower rocks hard, started to take cover off for ac coil looks clean no heavy dust as i said the unit runs good but has allways cycled on off every 5-6 minutes of running till it reaches room temp normally set for 64-68 degrees , also register heat reads 120 out of kitchen air duct, code 3 every cycle shut down then start up, cant afford service call unemployed for xmass
mike shea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 07:55 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Default

help im sick of this ruud furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by mike shea View Post
silhouette 11 ruud code 3 limit switch flames on runs good 5-6 minutes flames out then cycles back on flame on 5-6 minutes then cycles off cleaned both flame probes excellent constant blue flame changed vacum hose on limitswitch (old one cut short kinked at nipple) checked exhaust pipe its clear sucked on vacum hose to limit switch klik klik klik thats good poss cracked heat exchanger/ or dirty coil under the furnace/ heat from vents on floor 160 hot air while runnning any ideas

dood , I think I have this exact problem as you. I would get a light. Would flame for 10-15 min and then conk out, and take like a half hour to relight.

I just posted a thread on my situation. . .

Pump for a furnace question! PLEASE HELP! . VERY COLD LOL

Try what I accidently did . . I drained water out of some place and everything seems to be working. I will clean the hose out I believe tomrrow. Still unsure of my situation but its been running an hour strong! . Even shut it off and turn it back on easily starts.
dvandam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 07:56 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Default

help im sick of this ruud furnace


heat out of registers is 120 not 160 my mistake air cleaners are fine big blower works strong lots of air ac coil i peeked in pryed cover back could see the fin radiator side was clean couldnt see the other side of coils , code 3 all day every day
mike shea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 08:08 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Default

help im sick of this ruud furnace


ol tradesman u out there?
mike shea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 08:13 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Default

help im sick of this ruud furnace


dvandam what hose you unpluged where was it?
mike shea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 08:21 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,413
Default

help im sick of this ruud furnace


Its the bottom side of the coil that would be dirty.

See if you can get a temp reading right above the coil.
Put a meter across the limit switch. And see if it is opening.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 10:12 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Default

help im sick of this ruud furnace


ol tradesman, i pulled apart the cover to the ac coil yeah that other side was pretty dirty with a lot of lint dust about 40 percent was pluged up with dust 30 percent so i cleaned it real nice (the ol lady woulda been proud) fired it up same darn problem ,so is the limit switch above the flame jet with 2 red wires or that probe thing that reads the temp in the box with the ac coil area with 2 red wires also how do you read set the meter also when the flames are rocking is that when you check the switch?
mike shea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 04:32 AM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,413
Default

help im sick of this ruud furnace


The one just under the coil should be your limit.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 07:54 AM   #12
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,934
Default

help im sick of this ruud furnace


They get weak and lose their accuracy from having been tripped too many times. Need a new one. They are designed to be tripped only a few times, not used as an operating control.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 06:47 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Default

help im sick of this ruud furnace


ruud limit switch is somewhere above the ac coil in the dusty coil box container below the burners? whats the probe called 2 red wires on the front above the burners called, also what is the real little switch 2 red wires 1 of the wires runs up to the probe thingamagiggy, andthis little baby switch sits right above the burner its round with a little button in between the 2 red wires? thanks pros
mike shea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 06:50 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,413
Default

help im sick of this ruud furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by mike shea View Post
andthis little baby switch sits right above the burner its round with a little button in between the 2 red wires? thanks pros
Thats a roll out switch. Manual reset.

Is your furnace a downflow?

Post pics of it with panels off.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 09:27 AM   #15
Senior Tech.
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Default

help im sick of this ruud furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by mike shea View Post
air cleaners are clean 2 in unit 1 in hall, big blower rocks hard, started to take cover off for ac coil looks clean no heavy dust as i said the unit runs good but has allways cycled on off every 5-6 minutes of running till it reaches room temp normally set for 64-68 degrees , also register heat reads 120 out of kitchen air duct, code 3 every cycle shut down then start up, cant afford service call unemployed for xmass

What??

How many filters? Three, or 1 - 2 inch in furnace and one in hall? Are they pleated or fiberglass. At any rate, just one filter is all you need. If limit trips with pleated filters, use the cheap fiberglass. Too many filters will cause the limit to trip. The expensive pleated filters can cause limit trips.

Stop using all that slang if you want help. What does blower rocks hard mean? Good air flow?

How did you clean the A-coil? Are you sure it's clean.

Milk man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruud Furnace issue grubslinger HVAC 16 09-14-2011 12:13 AM
Ruud furnace problem Paul T. HVAC 8 12-07-2008 06:25 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
Sick from fumes from new furnace lsheldon HVAC 5 01-02-2007 11:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.