Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-11-2012, 02:17 AM   #31
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Help - High Static Pressure & Keep getting Possible foil coil error


Thanks, I'll try to give that a go and hopefully it all work out

kolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 10:11 AM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 306
Rewards Points: 260
Default

Help - High Static Pressure & Keep getting Possible foil coil error


First off, these guys all know their stuff!!!!!!

to really do this the right way, you need to invest some time (and pocket change) and do a manual J calculation. This will tell you what you need as far as air flow to each room. With that in hand, you then should do a manual D to find the correct size duct and register for each room.

Just my two cents worth and again the ideas presented here so far are great!!!!
bobinphx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 04:57 PM   #33
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,084
Rewards Points: 3,828
Default

Help - High Static Pressure & Keep getting Possible foil coil error


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobinphx View Post
First off, these guys all know their stuff!!!!!!

to really do this the right way, you need to invest some time (and pocket change) and do a manual J calculation. This will tell you what you need as far as air flow to each room. With that in hand, you then should do a manual D to find the correct size duct and register for each room.

Just my two cents worth and again the ideas presented here so far are great!!!!

Your right, a room by room Manual J and a manual D would be good. Unfortunately, the manual D won't help much since he doesn't want to open his walls to change out those 5" supplies.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 12:32 PM   #34
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Help - High Static Pressure & Keep getting Possible foil coil error


I can only get 18 inch Wide for the supply truck, should I change the 15" to an 18" and change the 10" to 12" or 14"

Last edited by kolo; 09-13-2012 at 12:41 PM.
kolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 04:57 PM   #35
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,084
Rewards Points: 3,828
Default

Help - High Static Pressure & Keep getting Possible foil coil error


If thats all the bigger you can get, then get the 18", and change the 10 to a 14.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 09:27 PM   #36
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Help - High Static Pressure & Keep getting Possible foil coil error


I'll be doing most of the work by myslef any tips or suggestions. I put over 6000.00 already into it and afford to put more in.
kolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 09:36 PM   #37
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,084
Rewards Points: 3,828
Default

Help - High Static Pressure & Keep getting Possible foil coil error


You'll need good sharp tin snips/aviation snips. Take your time, don't rush it. Sheet metal cuts hurt, the zinc burns in a cut.
May have to drop the boots of the supplies to put the new duct up. Its hard to put a trunk line up and connect the supply runs to it as you hang it. So its easier to drop the register boot, hang the duct, and then put the supply run back up.

If you can get vanes, you might want to use tghem to aid the air in turning to the 14X8 duct. Greatly increases air flow.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 12:45 AM   #38
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Help - High Static Pressure & Keep getting Possible foil coil error


Thank you beenthere you been great help
kolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 10:27 PM   #39
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Help - High Static Pressure & Keep getting Possible foil coil error


I was wondering should I only change 5in to 6in in the areas that aren't getting properly flow. Also I have about the 7 outdoor vents in the crawling space that lets air flow through can I close them up. My crawling space is all cement, it gets pretty cold during winter.
kolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 11:29 PM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 599
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Help - High Static Pressure & Keep getting Possible foil coil error


because.... The main trunk line is already carrying maximum volume/static pressure, which will drop slightly further down the line, due to resistance losses in the duct then, ..this allows more input to help total air flow..sort of like by passing a traffic jam and getting back onto the main road where the traffic isn't so heavy.

NOTE..oops...came in at wrong time and place for this comment( missed a page) but, I'm sure you get the point..

Last edited by techpappy; 09-16-2012 at 11:38 PM.
techpappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 06:37 AM   #41
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,084
Rewards Points: 3,828
Default

Help - High Static Pressure & Keep getting Possible foil coil error


Quote:
Originally Posted by kolo View Post
I was wondering should I only change 5in to 6in in the areas that aren't getting properly flow. Also I have about the 7 outdoor vents in the crawling space that lets air flow through can I close them up. My crawling space is all cement, it gets pretty cold during winter.
Changing them to 6" won't hurt. how much it will help varies on how long of a section is replaced.

Most crawlspaces can be closed up. This helps with both heating and ooling the house, since probably lose to 60% of your infiltration is coming from your crawlspace, if it hasn't been sealed from the house. Some will need a dehumidifier.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 02:16 PM   #42
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Help - High Static Pressure & Keep getting Possible foil coil error


there's also two registers in the crawling space two
kolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 06:25 PM   #43
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,084
Rewards Points: 3,828
Default

Help - High Static Pressure & Keep getting Possible foil coil error


Quote:
Originally Posted by kolo View Post
there's also two registers in the crawling space two
Then the crawlspace better be sealed.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slantfin Galaxy Boiler Pressure Mystery chiefswabjockey HVAC 18 11-15-2011 06:37 PM
LP gas high pressure line ChrisDIY Plumbing 6 10-21-2011 11:59 AM
Static Pressure befor filter or after key1cc HVAC 33 11-23-2008 10:56 PM
High pressure bjr23 Plumbing 1 03-27-2007 08:24 PM
High pressure in water line atlfiveo Plumbing 5 02-06-2007 10:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.