Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-29-2009, 09:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Help with gas pack trunk sizing


I need to replace the transition pieces from my 3 1/2 ton 1400CFM Trane gas pack to the trunks inside my finished basement. The existing pieces are taped together and just resting against the gas pack openings with no flange to secure them. Just a little tape.
It looks like someone made the mess when they retrofitted the gas pack years ago. Possibly it was a split unit before the gas pack was installed.
The trunk is also pretty poorly constructed and leaky.

The opening for the supply on the gas pack is 9"x17".
My supply trunk is a metal 16"x20". Is there any reason for the trunk to be that large? I assume it was a plenum for a split unit at some point in the past. The return is slightly smaller.

The supply trunk comes in the house and it immediately turns 90 degrees and goes up 4' to an end cap. 3 round 6" flex ducts come out of the end cap and another smaller trunk (8"x14") feeds out the upper side of the trunk to rooms farther away.
The unit is for the 2 story part of my split level, about 1800SF.
The main ground level has another gas pack, I'll get to that one later.


I have some room to make length changes if needed.
To replace the 16x20 is a custom sheetmetal job.
Can I downsize my trunk to an off the shelf size?
8x24 is the largest I can find locally.



Having someone come in to design a Manual D system isn't in the bank account right now. I just want to get it working and sealed up correctly.

I hope this all makes sense, I was up pretty late last night mixing concrete
to fix the mess under the gas pack

Let me know what I have left out...

thanks,

Justin

justinNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 04:44 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,538
Default

Help with gas pack trunk sizing


8X24 is small for a 3.5 ton unit.
The rest of your duct work is also small for a 3.5 ton unit.

8X28, or 10X22 would be a bit more appropriate.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 08:19 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Help with gas pack trunk sizing


Thanks,

At a supply house I got a pair of "blowouts" to attach to the gas pack.
They flare out to 16x20 so I can attach them to my existing trunks.

I'll see what can be done with upsizing my existing ducts.
The ducts to my upstairs bedroom go from the basement ceiling,
down a chase to the crawlspace and then up another chase to the upstairs bedroom. There must be 100' of mixed rectangular and flex duct in that run.
The house has had several major remodels in its 55 year life. The basement was a carport and the upstairs is a post and beam addition.


I'll see if I can seal up my gaps in my trunks with mastic before I put them back in. I tore out the mechanical closet in my basement so I can get in to work on this stuff. No big deal since I was pulling down the 6" pine T&G boards to put drywall up. Just had to knock out a half dozen studs.

I poured an enlarged slab for my unit, it had a lightweight slab hanging off all 4 sides of an old small slab that must have been for a previous condensor unit. Laying 2 courses of block on newly enlarged slab to get my gas pack up to the same height as the hole in the foundation wall. Trying to get rid of the huge offset that was part of the problem. I had a bunch of blocks and some surface bonding cement laying around anyway.


I wish I knew if the homeowner was a cheapskate or if the installer is to blame or both. I guess someone someday probably won't like what I am doing to the system either
thanks again,

Justin
justinNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 08:38 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,538
Default

Help with gas pack trunk sizing


Your welcome.

it was probably a combination of both previous owner, and the installer.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plenum/Duct sizing Manuel6 HVAC 8 03-28-2011 08:36 PM
Trunk Line Insulation Sype HVAC 4 01-18-2011 09:44 AM
Putting a filter in my cold air trunk? BowDown HVAC 8 09-18-2009 11:16 AM
where to position the main trunk? drewhart HVAC 3 02-12-2009 02:16 PM
Shortening supply trunk? shuship HVAC 46 12-02-2008 10:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.