Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-01-2007, 11:20 AM   #1
Master Plumber

Share |

help to diagnose pilotless heater problem

I need help to diagnose my pilotless gas furnace problem. I am a master plumber in Texas (M-37692) but only roughly know the working process and teminology of HVAC units. Thermostat set properly but no heat. I turn off thermostat and go to attic. Lable on unit says no pilot, so I check the fuse/switch box next to heater, is OK. I turn off switch next to fuse and turn back on. Reset thermostat and the heater fires up but 5 mins. or so later it shuts down without reaching the set temp. Return to attic but this time leave themostat on, flip switch to off, count ten and turn back on. Fan turns on but no flame, ignition system is a type of element that should glow but it does not, but it must have just a little while ago because the flame came on earlier.
jpplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 11:39 AM   #2

Make sure filter is not dirty first. Then reset furnace and just watch and listen to what the furnace does and report back. By the way ,watching your furnace for 5 minutes will seem like forever
trollmastergeneral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 11:50 AM   #3
Master Plumber

the filter is clean, changed quite recently. I can sit up there until the fan shuts down again (which I assume it will do even without fire) or until my butt freezes off, but what am I listening for? Thanks
Old 01-01-2007, 12:00 PM   #4

ooh ya duh.sorry the furnace should be quiet when you have the fan switch on the thermostat set to "auto". The setting to "heat" and the thermosat turned down.Is this the case . WE are trying to make sure the blower motor and induced draft motor are not running.
Old 01-01-2007, 12:08 PM   #5