Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-22-2009, 09:50 PM   #1
KLR

Share |
Unhappy

HELP? Control Board Fixed Heat...But Now A/C Won't Turn On - Homeowner

Hi, Green Newbie Here. Have a Gas Heat & A/C unit combined. Carrier Model 58GEC065-08; Originally installed in 1989; Single phase 115 volt, 60 Hz

I am reading and reading all your great posts but can't find the answer to my problem and I don't know enough to read between the lines. Forgive me in advance if (when) I say anything totally stupid...

I installed a new ICM271 about 6 months ago. All was great...It fixed my heat & blower perfectly BUT... I did not think to check the a/c back in the super cold times...

well the a/c-condenser fan- doesnt come on at all. My huband was so proud of me for fixing the heat, but now no a/c... We can't afford to call someone out here right now. Hope someone can help me...

I tested the power when asking for a/c and I am getting 24 volts between y - gh and also y - r. Thats all. Shouldn't I be getting 24 volts between y and gc??

When I ask for heat -everything works great. I checked the voltage so I could post that info too...When asking for heat, I am getting 24 volts between w - c; r - y; w - y; and gc - w.

Also, my wiring at the thermostat is w to w; y to y; g to g; rc and rH are jumped; and c to b (b is black, I have 5 wires and one is black)

The wiring at the contol board is w to w; y to y/r; gc to gh (supposed to be jumped on the ICM271 control board); r to r; and c to w/b (b - black)

Thanks for any help, Karen

btw: I bought the board at an appliance website listed on "samurai appliance" website

Last edited by KLR; 04-23-2009 at 12:43 PM.
KLR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 10:20 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen

Your checking for voltage the wrong way.