Help With Air Handler And Aux Heat - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2008, 03:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help with Air Handler and Aux Heat


Hi
I have an Ducane Heat Pump and ADP air handler with 5KW backup heat module inside this Air Handler,
I suspect this backup heat module is not working, my house gets warm when out side temp is above 40 or above,
But when temp gets cold, heat pump is working but house does not get warm, it struggles to get to 70, i see AUX in the thermostat indicating Aux heat is on, but i don't get extra heat, also when i put the thermostat to emergency heat all i get is cold air.
How do i make sure Aux heat is working?

Ash

Advertisement

kulkarni_ash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 03:42 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Help with Air Handler and Aux Heat


Quote:
Originally Posted by kulkarni_ash View Post
Hi
I have an Ducane Heat Pump and ADP air handler with 5KW backup heat module inside this Air Handler,
I suspect this backup heat module is not working, my house gets warm when out side temp is above 40 or above,
But when temp gets cold, heat pump is working but house does not get warm, it struggles to get to 70, i see AUX in the thermostat indicating Aux heat is on, but i don't get extra heat, also when i put the thermostat to emergency heat all i get is cold air.
How do i make sure Aux heat is working?

Ash

Check for breakers and any disconnects that may be in the off position.

Advertisement

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 05:20 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help with Air Handler and Aux Heat


Hi
I did see the breakers in fuse box, all of them are in On Position, there is a weird thing, in fuse box in garage, no breaker shows the Air Handler and Backup heat strip written on the box, i have moved in here 2 years ago and have no idea of the wiring,
Is there a way i can find out which one would be for the heat strip, do i turn each and every one off and try to see when the Air Handler does not come on.
Should the air handler and heat pump along with the backup heat strip be on one breaker or on more then one
kulkarni_ash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 07:10 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Help with Air Handler and Aux Heat


Quote:
Originally Posted by kulkarni_ash View Post
Hi
I did see the breakers in fuse box, all of them are in On Position, there is a weird thing, in fuse box in garage, no breaker shows the Air Handler and Backup heat strip written on the box, i have moved in here 2 years ago and have no idea of the wiring,
Is there a way i can find out which one would be for the heat strip, do i turn each and every one off and try to see when the Air Handler does not come on.
Should the air handler and heat pump along with the backup heat strip be on one breaker or on more then one
More than likely the heat strips will be a different circuit than the air handler.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 05:35 AM   #5
oops, did I do that!
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: mid michigan
Posts: 290
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Help with Air Handler and Aux Heat


Is there a disconnect or switch at the air handler? Do you or someone you know have a multimeter and know how to use it? There may be a manual limit tripped at the heater, but before you open any panel you need to turn off the power, the heater is probably a double breaker 220v..
8 Ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 09:05 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help with Air Handler and Aux Heat


Hi
I have a multimeter at home, and there is switch in front of Air Handler,
dont know if it is used to turn off and turn on Air Handler or Heat Strip.
i think the switch has 30 written on it,
I did one test, with the meter
When the Heat Pump + air handler is working the meter runs for about 10 seconds for 1 circle
When thermostat is showing AUX , now it is Heat Pump + Air Handler + AUX then it take 6 seconds to complete circlet
When i put it to emergency heat, there is no increase in meter, it is goes slow, slower then Heat Pump + Air handler setting.

But i dont get any additional heat when it is on AUX heat.

My House is about 1100 sq ft, with decent insulation, and Heat Strip is for 5 KW.

Any ideas

Advertisement

kulkarni_ash is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts