Heil HVAC Unit Fan Won't Go On Help! - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2009, 08:03 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heil HVAC unit fan won't go on help!


My coil is frozen and my fan does not go on can anybody help?

Advertisement

rivera76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 08:12 PM   #2
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,499
Rewards Points: 558
Default


Can you remove the panels on the furnace and reach in and ry to spin the blower wheel by hand.

If it doesn't spin then the motor is fried.

If it does spin look at the control board and locate the thermostat connection terminals. Make a jumper wire and jump the R & G terminals.
You will also have to push in on the safety switch that the panel normally closes.

Advertisement

__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 08:19 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Fan spin normally (by hand). Made the jumper and held the door switch and still nothing.

Last edited by rivera76; 08-28-2009 at 08:31 PM.
rivera76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 08:31 PM   #4
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,499
Rewards Points: 558
Default


DOes the control board have a LED?

If it does when you push the safety switch in does it come on?

If it doesn't check power to the furnace. If it does, does it flash or pluse?

Check also off the control board to the blower motor the cool terminal voltage. "Cool" term to ground should be 120 vac
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 08:50 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


No LED. I need to check the power.
rivera76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 09:07 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


we have power.
rivera76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 09:09 PM   #7
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,499
Rewards Points: 558
Default


Well you said that the coil is frozen so there is power to the furnace. Now check power to the blower motor. Normally the black wire to the motor. If you have poser off the control board to the motor. The next step is to look at the capacitor.

Does it look budged?
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 09:14 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


If I move the black wire from cool to cont the fan goes on. Will this be ok to run this way?
rivera76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 09:16 PM   #9
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,499
Rewards Points: 558
Default


It should work as a temp fix.

Sounds like you have a control board that has gone bad.
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 09:17 PM   #10
Member
 
HvacWiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 287
Rewards Points: 252
Default


yes you can run it like that, sounds like you need a new circuit board.
HvacWiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 09:20 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


this will make the fan run continuos correct?
rivera76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 09:22 PM   #12
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,499
Rewards Points: 558
Default


yes it will
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 08:25 PM   #13
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber101 View Post
yes it will


Not trying to hijack this thread... But , I've been away a while & just wanted to know if plumber ever got the M.H. to cooling correctly/ok

Advertisement

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HVAC Unit Leaking Water timb10594 HVAC 1 08-26-2009 09:51 AM
Why is water coming out from the bottom of the HVAC unit? Woz HVAC 11 08-02-2009 08:38 AM
12 year old HVAC unit, fix or replace Miranda7 HVAC 22 05-29-2009 07:44 PM
HVAC unit moves too much air - can I slow the fan down? UtahGuy HVAC 7 12-16-2008 06:06 PM
HEIL 5000 HVAC troubleshooting tidejunky HVAC 15 03-02-2008 04:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1