Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-29-2011, 10:56 PM   #31
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 25
Share |
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


I am getting absolutely NOTHING off anywhere on the stat.....not even budging my meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
You do have a meter, right? Can you check for voltage at the stat? The R terminal should have 24-ish volts.

Thanatos63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 02:10 PM   #32
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,540
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thanatos63 View Post
I am getting absolutely NOTHING off anywhere on the stat.....not even budging my meter
Do you have 24 volts at the r terminal on the control board? Your stat gets it's power from that terminal on the control board so if you are not receiving power to the stat then we've narrowed the problem down indefinitely to it not being the stat.

Take some close up and clear pictures of the wiring on the board and the board itself so we can determine if possibly you've miswired something. Clear pictures of the transformer and it's wiring and where they go as well, the board and the high voltage wires coming into the unit. We need to be able to see all of it, clearly and close up.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
Thanatos63 (05-31-2011)
Old 05-30-2011, 02:48 PM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 25
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


Wasn't any power to the stat with the old board either - that's what was making me think that I needed to replace it. The transformer that is on it looks nothing like the original one (which is still in the cabinet from when whoever changed it) and has two wires that just hang loose...always has had. I'll get pics up ASAP - Thanks again, Doc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
Do you have 24 volts at the r terminal on the control board? Your stat gets it's power from that terminal on the control board so if you are not receiving power to the stat then we've narrowed the problem down indefinitely to it not being the stat.

Take some close up and clear pictures of the wiring on the board and the board itself so we can determine if possibly you've miswired something. Clear pictures of the transformer and it's wiring and where they go as well, the board and the high voltage wires coming into the unit. We need to be able to see all of it, clearly and close up.
Thanatos63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 06:28 PM   #34
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,540
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


No problem. If all else fails we can bypass the low voltage altogether and you can use your ac by way of breakers, one for the outside condensing unit and one for the furnace/blower. That will encompass bypassing the contactor outside or sticking a screw in it.

Hey, it works.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
Thanatos63 (05-31-2011)
Old 05-30-2011, 06:58 PM   #35
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,895
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


Bubba would be proud.

Had some clown a few years ago decided to run his oil burner w/o a primary safety control. Ie: no flame failure safety or shutoff. Hooked the burner motor to a light switch. His rationale: I am only a few feet away from it in the garage and can hear it from inside the house and if it flames out I will run out and stop it. Yee Hah.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
Doc Holliday (05-30-2011), Thanatos63 (05-31-2011)
Old 05-30-2011, 08:17 PM   #36
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 25
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


Ok, hope these are clear enough for you (reg. camera is on the fritz, so these are with my Droid cell). I labelled everything where I could, so if you have any questions just yell. I just threw every photo in the folder online that I had to try to help.

https://picasaweb.google.com/rlthomp...eat=directlink

BTW, contrary to Yuri's appraisal, that's not rust on the unit, just dust. Hell, in this hellhole I moved to, is a LARGE farming community (cotton and soy beans) and keeping dust out is a major issue....I have to change filters at least every two weeks and usually weekly because of all of it. Every year I have to clean the whole unit out - just haven't gotten to it yet for trying to get it to run. There is NO rust on the unit anywhere that I'm aware of.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
Take some close up and clear pictures of the wiring on the board and the board itself so we can determine if possibly you've miswired something. Clear pictures of the transformer and it's wiring and where they go as well, the board and the high voltage wires coming into the unit. We need to be able to see all of it, clearly and close up.
Thanatos63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 08:22 PM   #37
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 25
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


Yuri, you'd be amazed at what I've seen done here in Arkansas...I'd laugh, but it's too pathetic.

Take this house for example.....They added on to the house and put 1/2" plywood on the walls and paneling over that.....then they redid the kitchen floor and put particle board down!! Particle board! In a wet environment! But the living room is sound proof as hell with all the plywood and paneling on the walls and ceiling!!!

There are no professionals here of any kind, just hacks who have hacked up crap for so long they are professional AT IT! Honest to God, I actually had to argue with one that 0.5 feet was 6 inches!! I miss the real world!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Bubba would be proud.

Had some clown a few years ago decided to run his oil burner w/o a primary safety control. Ie: no flame failure safety or shutoff. Hooked the burner motor to a light switch. His rationale: I am only a few feet away from it in the garage and can hear it from inside the house and if it flames out I will run out and stop it. Yee Hah.
Thanatos63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 08:36 PM   #38
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,895
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


Hackers are universal. Heck with a few of these handyman's secret weapons anybody can be a MacGyver
Attached Thumbnails
HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on-duct-tape-2.jpg   HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on-elec-tape.jpg  
Attached Images
 
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 08:38 PM   #39
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 25
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


You forget J.B. Weld and baling twine/wire......lol AND VICE-GRIPS!
Thanatos63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 08:41 PM   #40
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,895
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


I come from a long line of DIYers. Grandparents lived on a farm with no lectricity for years. Then they got a modern octopus gravity wood burning stove. Great times growing up as a kid and running around on the farm.
Attached Thumbnails
HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on-hatfieldclan.jpg  
Attached Images
 
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 08:55 PM   #41
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 25
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


Nice outhouse.....lol My first wife's family didn't have indoor plumbing until the mid-70's or so. Until they died, they kept a regular gas stove and a wood burning cook stove - as well as three wood stoves in other areas of the house.

I keep trying to tell my kids that they have NO idea what dark really is until they are out in the middle of nowhere with no light.....they think it's dark outside if the streetlight in from of the house goes out......lol Kids today would have a total meltdown if anything ever happens to the powergrid.
Thanatos63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 08:55 PM   #42
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,540
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


burn that unit.

check that transformer. it converts the high voltage to low voltage and if it's bad then you will have no low (24 volts) voltage.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QqaxkGcEzeI

you need to have wire nuts on any of the wires not being used from the transformer.

Last edited by Doc Holliday; 05-30-2011 at 08:58 PM.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 09:08 PM   #43
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 25
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


I just went and checked the voltage at the contacts where the transformer connects to the control board and there is NOTHING coming to the board at all. I'll get a new transformer tomorrow and try it. Wouldn't have any idea what part number I'd need for that transformer would you? LOL Don't see a number on the one that's hooked up and can't find a reference or new part number crossover for the old one. If nothing else I'll remove it and take it to the HVAC wholesale parts place that I got the controller board from. It's 120v in 24v out, is that all I need to tell them?

Crossing my fingers that the transformer is the problem!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
burn that unit.

check that transformer. it converts the high voltage to low voltage and if it's bad then you will have no low (24 volts) voltage.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QqaxkGcEzeI

you need to have wire nuts on any of the wires not being used from the transformer.
Thanatos63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 09:15 PM   #44
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,895
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


Get a 120/24 volt 40 VA, volt/amps type. 20 VA is too small. Ask for a 40 VA and you should be OK.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 09:16 PM   #45
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 25
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


BTW - Did it look like I had gotten the new fan controller board hooked up properly? There were a couple of minor differences between the old and the new board as far as labeling, by I thought I had it changed over correctly. I wasn't sure about where I put the green ground wire of the capacitor, since there wasn't an exact match across the two boards, but it looked right......famous last words.....lol


Last edited by Thanatos63; 05-30-2011 at 09:21 PM.
Thanatos63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hvac relay problem? tatums4 HVAC 7 05-01-2011 12:42 PM
heil 9000 limit switch problem? barryatnewton HVAC 1 01-02-2010 05:44 PM
Hvac heil furnace problem jimbflo HVAC 0 11-12-2009 09:23 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 06:26 PM
HEIL 5000 Furnace Problem moore70 HVAC 5 03-26-2006 07:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.