Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-28-2011, 04:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 25
Share |
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


I have an older (Think it's a 3100) unit that is not coming on. The first day it got warm enough to turn the AC on, I cranked it up and worked perect for 3 or 4 hours and then wouldn't kick back on any longer - I couldn't even get the fan itself to kick on.

I jumped the motor to see if it will still run, and it works fine. I then replaced the blower control circuit board. Still nothing!! Any ideas? I'm pretty much at a loss at this point, other than it being the thermostat itself. The thermostat isn't but a couple of year old digital variety, but I suppose it could be shot too. The display and everything seems to be working fine though. However, I could not jump across the thermostat wires to get the fan to kick on either.

Not getting any cooler here....anyone have a thought?

Thanatos63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 05:17 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,679
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


on the stat: pull the wires on the terminals g and r off. twist those together. if the fan comes on add the wire from the y terminal to call for cool, the condensing unit outside should come on. If you get cold air then your cooling works. If anything works while by passing the stat then your stat is bad.

Again, do not jump the wires, physically remove them and twist them together.

oh yeah, do all work with the the breaker to the furnace off as if you touch those stat wires to anything with power to them you can blow the fuse. turn the breaker back on after you have connected the wires.

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
Thanatos63 (05-31-2011), timaelabu (05-31-2011)
Old 05-28-2011, 05:28 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,044
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


Probably the Capacitor on the outside unit, or the disco is corroded really bad, causing the unit to not get voltage.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
Thanatos63 (05-31-2011)
Old 05-28-2011, 05:47 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 25
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


Wouldn't the circulating fan on the inside unit still come on in manual if it were the outside capacitor? I can't even get it to come on with the thermostat in manual on. That's what is throwing me.
Thanatos63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 06:53 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,044
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


If you can't get it to come on when moving the thermostat to Fan On, then do as Doc stated above.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
Thanatos63 (05-31-2011)
Old 05-28-2011, 07:11 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 25
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


Ok, I twisted the wires together and turned it back on and NOTHING came on. Still no blower motor kicking on. Is that an indication of needing a new thermostat? I can't imagine what else would keep just the blower motor from kicking on when it will it I run straight current to it. Transformer? UGH!!

I would just call a repairman, but I lost my job a few months ago and unless the job fairly drops something on me SOON, I can only afford to do it myself or do without. If it was just me, I'd do without, but I have a wife and kids who are on me about getting it fixed....lol Sorry if it's a pain in the a55. The fan controller circuit board was $120 and I just can't afford a repair call. I REALLY do appreciate the help though...can't tell you how much.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
on the stat: pull the wires on the terminals g and r off. twist those together. if the fan comes on add the wire from the y terminal to call for cool, the condensing unit outside should come on. If you get cold air then your cooling works. If anything works while by passing the stat then your stat is bad.

Again, do not jump the wires, physically remove them and twist them together.

oh yeah, do all work with the the breaker to the furnace off as if you touch those stat wires to anything with power to them you can blow the fuse. turn the breaker back on after you have connected the wires.
Thanatos63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 07:16 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,044
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


No, it is an indication that you need to have someone come in and figure out why it is not working. Power still on to your apartment/house, breakers all on, panels back in place on the indoor unit, so that safeties are not tripped. If you have double checked all panels, breakers, switches, and still nothing, call a HVAC tech.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 11:18 PM   #8
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,679
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thanatos63 View Post
Ok, I twisted the wires together and turned it back on and NOTHING came on. Still no blower motor kicking on. Is that an indication of needing a new thermostat? I can't imagine what else would keep just the blower motor from kicking on when it will it I run straight current to it. Transformer? UGH!!

I would just call a repairman, but I lost my job a few months ago and unless the job fairly drops something on me SOON, I can only afford to do it myself or do without. If it was just me, I'd do without, but I have a wife and kids who are on me about getting it fixed....lol Sorry if it's a pain in the a55. The fan controller circuit board was $120 and I just can't afford a repair call. I REALLY do appreciate the help though...can't tell you how much.

Your furnace control board should have an LED light which will give you a flash code. You should have a legend on the inside of the service panel of the furnace which explains what that flash code means, granted if you do not have power to the furnace your control board will not have power to give you a flash code. The furnace door switch needs to be pushed in as well or you will not be giving the board power and again, no code will be present.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
Thanatos63 (05-31-2011)
Old 05-29-2011, 02:12 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 25
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


Although my testers are indicating that there IS indeed power going through the new fan control circuit board, the status light will not do anything (I have the door safety switch pushed in as well). I'm show power through the control board, to the transformer and the fan will run if I remove the wire from the board and jump it across the power coming into the board. The is no power going to the fan wire when it is plugged into the board, however.

Crossing the r and g wire had no effect at all on anything.

Long hot day trying to figure it out and it's after 2am now.....I'll sleep on it and maybe be able to see something in the new day that I'm not now. Last year I'd had a couple of occasions to where it just quit working and I'd flip the door safety switch a couple of times and it would start up again fine. I jumped across the wires of the safety switch and it had no effect BTW. Here's a thing though, I just though of.....Last time I did had to have the door off, something made a clicking sound when the safety switch was pressed in - that's not there now. Is there a relay that I'm not seeing that could be at fault? Grasping for straws here I guess.

Doc, I REALLY appreciate the help on this that you've given....BIG TIME! I KNOW it's some small something that I'm overlooking. I was so sure that it was the controller board that it threw me when the new one did nothing. I used to work part-time with an installer years ago, but my memory isn't what it never was.....lol
Thanatos63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 07:55 AM   #10
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,295
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


Post the complete model and serial # and pics of it with the 2 doors off and maybe we can recognize it and help more.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
Thanatos63 (05-31-2011)
Old 05-29-2011, 03:30 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 25
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


Here's what I could take with my phone...hope they are clear enough. One is of the complete ID label

https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlink

https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlink

https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlink

Old controller board that I replaced.....

https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlink

Looks like transformer was replaced (and the old one left on) before I bought the house 5 yrs ago. Hope this helps.
Thanatos63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 03:36 PM   #12
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,679
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


Has that blower motor run capacitor been changed?
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
Thanatos63 (05-31-2011)
Old 05-29-2011, 03:37 PM   #13
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,679
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


and btw, that is not a condenser that sits on top of the furnace, that's an evaporator coil.

Your condenser is outside.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
Thanatos63 (05-31-2011)
Old 05-29-2011, 03:51 PM   #14
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,679
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


at this point it is either the blower motor itself or the run cap or both. if you have mfd capability on your meter you can test it. I'd say you can test it by amp draw but if your motor isn't spinning than no amps are being drawn so that leaves a new control board that is sending voltage to the motor but the motor is not spinning.

Run caps start the motors and are notorious for going out yet they are cheap, less than $10. The run capacitor is the silver can looking thing with the wires on the bottom (so the capacitor is upside down) in the pic, just to the right of the control board and speaking of the control board, it should be mounted solid and not left hanging or you will have problems.

There will be numbers on that cap, something like 5 uf or 6 uf or 7.5 or 10 uf or whatever it may be plus the +/- percentage number and the voltage. Match all of those numbers from the old cap to the new capacitor EXACTLY.

Try that first and if still nothing than it's most likely the fan motor itself. if you get a new replacemnet motor than than you will need to get the exact match capacitor for the new motor.

Capacitors holds (stores) voltage and spikes current to shift the electrical phase, causing it to spin so turn all power off to the furnace before sticking your hands in there or you will get elecricuted.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
Thanatos63 (05-31-2011)
Old 05-29-2011, 03:52 PM   #15
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,295
Default

HEIL HVAC Problem - Not kicking on


Which blower control board did you use to replace the original. Those universal boards don't always replace the OEM ones properly and I avoid using them. It also needs to be securely mounted and grounded properly. Furnace needs to be grounded properly too. Poor grounding can damage circuit boards. Looks pretty rusty to me and not in good shape. New board may now be damaged. Hate saying it but throwing parts into it without knowing the problem may cost more than a Pro to do the job. I would consider a new furnace as that one is 10 yrs old, needs expensive repairs and the heat exchanger may be in fair to poor shape and not last too much longer. Average life of the exhaust fan/ventor fan is 10 yrs.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 05-29-2011 at 03:56 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
Thanatos63 (05-31-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hvac relay problem? tatums4 HVAC 7 05-01-2011 12:42 PM
heil 9000 limit switch problem? barryatnewton HVAC 1 01-02-2010 05:44 PM
Hvac heil furnace problem jimbflo HVAC 0 11-12-2009 09:23 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 06:26 PM
HEIL 5000 Furnace Problem moore70 HVAC 5 03-26-2006 07:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.