Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-14-2007, 09:03 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Heil High Efficiency 5000


No heat. No anything. About 10 years old. Once before, I had to clear a pressure switch, but I am not sure what the symptoms were at that time. Anyone got a trouble shooting chart for this unit? Or suggestions? A while back, I thought I heard this unit coming on for a few seconds and cutting off. I thought I posted about it, but cannot find the post. I haven't noticed this for a little while though. I'm thinking it was a sign of bad things to happen .
Thanks for any tips on what the problem might be.

boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 09:55 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Heil High Efficiency 5000


Just noticed this thing is flashing room tempt and time. Wrong time at that and does seem to want to let me set the time. Sound like a stat problem? Batteries? White Rodgers stat. Do these things show error codes? AM I wrong in thinking the batteries have little to do with the operation except for the digital readings?

boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 10:26 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Heil High Efficiency 5000


I ohm between W and RH on the stat get a reading. When I ohm between the white and the red wire on these terminals with the red wire disconnected, I get nothing. Does this point toward a bad transformer? I am assuming that W and RH make a circuit on the stat. Should I try to cross the white and red wires with a jumper? Heheh, really don't want to do anything before someone with some know-how responds. Getting cold here!
boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 11:25 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 83
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Heil High Efficiency 5000


Yes you can jumper the R & W at the thermostat to see if it then fires. If it works, it is the stat not working.
cjett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 01:20 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Heil High Efficiency 5000


Thanks for the response. If I remember correctly, in the past, the fan would come on anytime it was set to the fan position. This is throwing me off since it will not do that now. Shouldn't the interlock switch click when it is depressed? I am going to ohm it to check for continuity. I was checking around with a proximity voltage tester and was getting readings from all over the case. This spooked me, but I am pretty well convinced the tester is acting up. Going to try with another tester.
boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 02:05 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Heil High Efficiency 5000


Seems it was the pressure switch again. Getting warm again!

boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New High Efficiency Furnace Problem Buster 567 HVAC 8 12-13-2010 09:36 PM
Best High Temp Paint for wood stove?? Sellncars Painting 9 01-21-2009 07:21 PM
High Eff. Gas Furnace..? Kyle HVAC 17 12-16-2007 12:17 PM
The Heil 5000 Air Conditioner circlecity4u HVAC 1 05-03-2006 10:54 PM
HEIL 5000 Furnace Problem moore70 HVAC 5 03-26-2006 08:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.