Heil Help! - HVAC - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2009, 12:04 PM   #31
Intern Peon's Assistant
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SoCal, the OC at the Crush & Indio
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heil Help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by kennzz05 View Post
. . . bet they will from now on.
Yep, I would think so.

Also, IMHO Heil (and/or any manufacturer) should make a statement about this possible problem in the installation instructions and make it stand out along with all the other CAUTION statements on the front page.

Advertisement


Last edited by PHOnos; 02-23-2009 at 12:16 PM.
PHOnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 12:09 PM   #32
Intern Peon's Assistant
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SoCal, the OC at the Crush & Indio
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heil Help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
The old tsat was battery operated. Also it has a recharging feature that creates a Back EMF that throws the board into lock out.
Nope, the old tsat was not battery operated, but it did have a non-rechargeable 9 volt back-up battery that I replaced once a year (whether it needed it or not)

But I suspect you are on to something about the battery creating the problem. Hadn't thought of that.

Last edited by PHOnos; 02-23-2009 at 12:17 PM.
PHOnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 02:29 PM   #33
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Heil Help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by PHOnos View Post
Nope, the old tsat was not battery operated, but it did have a non-rechargeable 9 volt back-up battery that I replaced once a year (whether it needed it or not)

But I suspect you are on to something about the battery creating the problem. Hadn't thought of that.
Either with battery charger or not, that Chronotherm stat causes lock outs on any furnace board.


That's ancient history to us old timers who scratched our heads when the first spark boxes went into lock out. The cure was an isolating relay.
The battery in the Chronotherm still induces a small back emf thru the gas valve main solenoid and caused lock out.

There. Now Everybody knows i am so old I invented fire ~sigh~
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 10:57 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Heil Help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by PHOnos View Post
Yep, I would think so.

Also, IMHO Heil (and/or any manufacturer) should make a statement about this possible problem in the installation instructions and make it stand out along with all the other CAUTION statements on the front page.
Yeah, but you don't hardly see battery back up mercury tsats much anymore.
chard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 11:00 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Heil Help!


Change furnace, change tstat.

Change A/C, change tstat.

Just good practice.
chard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 11:59 PM   #36
Intern Peon's Assistant
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SoCal, the OC at the Crush & Indio
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heil Help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
The battery in the Chronotherm still induces a small back emf thru the gas valve main solenoid and caused lock out.
Wonder why they don't have a blinking green light code for this? They do for lots of other problems.
PHOnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 12:06 AM   #37
Intern Peon's Assistant
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SoCal, the OC at the Crush & Indio
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heil Help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by chard View Post
Change furnace, change tstat.

Change A/C, change tstat.

Just good practice.
Yea, makes sense to me.

But, the month before this unit in the desert went out, we had just replaced the 28 year old Rheem Furnace A/C in the house in Orange (this has been an expensive year for heating and cooling and not because of the prices of gas and electricity either) and a different contractor didn't replace the tstat either.
PHOnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 12:13 AM   #38
Intern Peon's Assistant
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SoCal, the OC at the Crush & Indio
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heil Help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Either with battery charger or not, that Chronotherm stat causes lock outs on any furnace board.


That's ancient history to us old timers who scratched our heads when the first spark boxes went into lock out. The cure was an isolating relay.
The battery in the Chronotherm still induces a small back emf thru the gas valve main solenoid and caused lock out.
I just found out that whoever at Heil was working with this contractor on my problem didn't know this either, nor did anyone else at Heil. Apparently there are a whole lot of people that learned something from this exercise.

Last edited by PHOnos; 02-24-2009 at 12:15 AM.
PHOnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 12:16 AM   #39
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Heil Help!


Well ain't that ironic.

I learned that at a Heil Service Seminar.


Go figure.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 12:19 AM   #40
Intern Peon's Assistant
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SoCal, the OC at the Crush & Indio
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heil Help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Well ain't that ironic.

I learned that at a Heil Service Seminar.


Go figure.
The guy was probably an old timer and was making too much money so they let him go?
PHOnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 08:32 AM   #41
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Heil Help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by PHOnos View Post
The guy was probably an old timer and was making too much money so they let him go?
No. He was a contemporary (this was back in '89). But Heil went thru some rough times; got bought a few times. I am sure the guy is still active.

Advertisement

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
heil? mhyman1302 HVAC 1 06-07-2008 09:26 AM
Heil Furnace Jeff HVAC 3 03-30-2007 11:27 PM
heil furnace bbr67 HVAC 5 02-24-2007 01:22 AM
my ac keeps blowing boards on my heil furnace sally HVAC 2 07-23-2005 08:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts