Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-23-2009, 09:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 19
Share |
Default

Heil GNE075B12 Water in teh tube between combustion blower and pressure switch


I have this 7 year old furnace, it's 80+ insngle stage, made by international confort products corp. First 5 years, it runs great. Since last Winter, the rubber tube between combustion air blower and pressure switch constantly has water in it. If the tube is stuffed with water, the furnace is shut down. Once the water is removed, the furnace is back on and works fine. It takes about 3 to 5 days to get water to block the tube. I couldn't figure out where the water comes from and how to stop the water cumulated.
I have enclosed a photo, the red tube has water in it, the black part is blower, and the white/reflecting light, is pressure switch. Should I open the combustion pipe to check it out?

Thanks you for any advice!
Attached Thumbnails
Heil GNE075B12 Water in teh tube between combustion blower and pressure switch-s4200012.jpg  


Last edited by Quin; 12-23-2009 at 09:31 PM.
Quin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 04:10 AM   #2
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Heil GNE075B12 Water in teh tube between combustion blower and pressure switch


Do you have a metal chimney that runs to the roof thru the interior of the home.?

Or does it exhaust into a brick chimney and did the installer put a liner in the chimney?

How long is the flue pipe connecting the furnace to the chimney?

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 09:03 AM   #3
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Default

Heil GNE075B12 Water in teh tube between combustion blower and pressure switch


Yep sounds like you need a Liner.
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 09:04 AM   #4
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Default

Heil GNE075B12 Water in teh tube between combustion blower and pressure switch


It will cost you big bucks too. Beside it should been code for the company but one in
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 09:06 AM   #5
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Default

Heil GNE075B12 Water in teh tube between combustion blower and pressure switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Quin View Post
I have this 7 year old furnace, it's 80+ insngle stage, made by international confort products corp. First 5 years, it runs great. Since last Winter, the rubber tube between combustion air blower and pressure switch constantly has water in it. If the tube is stuffed with water, the furnace is shut down. Once the water is removed, the furnace is back on and works fine. It takes about 3 to 5 days to get water to block the tube. I couldn't figure out where the water comes from and how to stop the water cumulated.
I have enclosed a photo, the red tube has water in it, the black part is blower, and the white/reflecting light, is pressure switch. Should I open the combustion pipe to check it out?

Thanks you for any advice!

Dam you got a smart valve gas furnace. Good luck with that. Get ready to put out tons of money in the future.
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 11:49 AM   #6
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Heil GNE075B12 Water in teh tube between combustion blower and pressure switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tator1076 View Post
It will cost you big bucks too. Beside it should been code for the company but one in
A liner is bit pricey but you don't have to make it sound so bad the OP thinks it'll cost thousands. It's in the mid hundreds.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 12:51 PM   #7
Member
 
newtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 245
Default

Heil GNE075B12 Water in teh tube between combustion blower and pressure switch


On the back of the pressure switch there is a small hole in it. Is is a vent. Make sure it is not plugged. (with dirt,dust....)

You can try to clean it out and see if it helps. ICP had problems with them plugging up, I have seen this happen way too many times.

I would recommnd getting a new pressure switch even if the cleaning helps.

Last edited by newtech; 12-24-2009 at 02:26 PM.
newtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 01:49 PM   #8
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Default

Heil GNE075B12 Water in teh tube between combustion blower and pressure switch


Strange that nothing for 5 years and now only 3 to 5 days for a problem. I agree the possability for a liner but somthing els has changed to cause so much condentation. Has anything changed with the home, chimney or any work on the furnace recently?
Low gas pressure and to high of airflow can also cause similer issues.
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 02:29 PM   #9
Member
 
newtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 245
Default

Heil GNE075B12 Water in teh tube between combustion blower and pressure switch


As JohnH1 stated. " Low gas pressure high air flow."

Would also recomend checking the temp rise on the furnace.
newtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 04:09 PM   #10
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,267
Default

Heil GNE075B12 Water in teh tube between combustion blower and pressure switch


Downdraft on the off cycle will cause that. Did you add a powerful JennAir cooktop fan or central vacuum or other device which exhaust lots of air.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 08:10 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 19
Default

Heil GNE075B12 Water in teh tube between combustion blower and pressure switch


Thanks everyone for all the comments, and wish everyone has a great holiday season.

To HVACLover:
I do have a metal chimney that runs to the roof thru the interior of the home. The furnace is in the basement, then it goes through floor1 and floor2, and last the space between roof and 2floor ceiling.

The metail pipe has no insulation, see photo.

To Tator 1706:
May I ask what the liner is?

To Newtech, I could not find the small hole, the only opening for the pressure switch is the rubber tube.

To JohnH1 and Yuri, The only change in my house is a new water tank installed in Sept 2006, and I had this problem Feb, 2008. the flue pipe from the Furnace and the water tank are jointed togather in the basement, see photo 2. Not sure if this caused any problem. Would it be possible the blower has water inside?

Thanks you all again!
Attached Thumbnails
Heil GNE075B12 Water in teh tube between combustion blower and pressure switch-s4200016_pipe.jpg  
Attached Images
 

Last edited by Quin; 12-27-2009 at 08:14 PM.
Quin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 08:38 PM   #12
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,267
Default

Heil GNE075B12 Water in teh tube between combustion blower and pressure switch


How warm is it in your basement? That water is condensation and caused by the water vapor in the smoke condensing inside that tube. If it is below 65F I would think that will cause it to condense faster. That furnace is notorious for that problem.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 08:47 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 19
Default

Heil GNE075B12 Water in teh tube between combustion blower and pressure switch


Thanks, Yuri, I'm checking the tempature now.
do you know what the liner is?
So glad I can have your help.
Quin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 09:15 PM   #14
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,267
Default

Heil GNE075B12 Water in teh tube between combustion blower and pressure switch


A liner is used in an old outdoor/outside the house old brick chimney. A single wall pipe which can get cold and have problems. Your chimney is internal and won't get cold, no problem.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 09:18 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 19
Default

Heil GNE075B12 Water in teh tube between combustion blower and pressure switch


The basement currently is 68F, and Thermostat is in floor1, setting is 70F. but in the night, the thermostat is set to be 64.4F, I think the basement should be lower as 62F, therefore, what you suspected could be very true.

Can I put insulation layer to cover the pipe in the basement, or even the pipe underneath the roof?

Or I should increase the night time temparature?

Glad that I can see some lights for my puzzle now

Thank you again!

Quin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
Goodman Pressure Switch Issues taburke6 HVAC 0 11-17-2009 10:26 PM
Furnace Pressure Switch bigmatt HVAC 10 09-03-2009 06:25 PM
Trane xl90 Combustion blower Issues bjpaff HVAC 3 12-18-2007 10:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.