Heil Furnace Won't Ignite - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2009, 05:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heil furnace won't ignite


Hi - 1st time post here. I've got a small hunting cabin in central WI that I've been having problems with.

The unit is a Heil 5000 series. Model number is a NULE75BG.

In searching the forums here, I'm thinking it's the pressure switch, but looking for confirmation.

The unit receives signal from the thermostat and the exhaust motor (or I think that's what it is) starts. The electronic ignitition starts to glow, but never does ignite. The motor just continues to run.

This problem started last winter just prior to shutting the system down for the year. At that time, I simply replaced the batteries in the thermostat and it started working again. I've tried that this year, but no such luck.

I left a couple of weeks ago and set the thermostat at 45 degrees. The unit was running fine and held temp when we arrived last Friday. Saturday evening is when it started again. Same syptoms as above, exhaust motor was running, but would not ignite. We changed the batteries and shut the unit down for a while. When we started it back up, it immediately started the exhaust motor, but again would not ignite.

Just looking for some confirmation that I may be on the right track. If so, I plan on buying the replacement pressure switch while I'm still in a major city. My only opportunity is to go there on weekends and trying to find a place that would sell parts and be open are slim to none.

I normally keep the water in service until early Dec, after our deer hunting season. But w/o an operational furnace, that is definitely out of the question.

Thanks for any input.

Advertisement

mjprel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 06:45 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Heil furnace won't ignite


If you are getting the glow bar to glow it is probably not the pressure switch. Could be a spill/limit switch or the gas valve is sticking. If you have a meter check for 24 volts at the gas valve while the glow bar is glowing. Usually towards the end of the glow bar cycle the ignition module will energize the gas valve from 5 to 10 seconds. If you read this voltage the valve is sticking or your out of gas.

Advertisement

SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:30 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heil furnace won't ignite


Quote:
Originally Posted by SKIP4661 View Post
If you are getting the glow bar to glow it is probably not the pressure switch. Could be a spill/limit switch or the gas valve is sticking. If you have a meter check for 24 volts at the gas valve while the glow bar is glowing. Usually towards the end of the glow bar cycle the ignition module will energize the gas valve from 5 to 10 seconds. If you read this voltage the valve is sticking or your out of gas.

Gas I know is good. 250 gallon tank w/ 65% full.

Just checked w/ my BIL who was up this past weekend. Exhaust fan is what's running, and ZERO glow.

Pressure switch still a possibility?
mjprel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:43 PM   #4
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Heil furnace won't ignite


Can you see if the control board is flashing a flash code and if so what is the code?
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 10:48 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heil furnace won't ignite


Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber101 View Post
Can you see if the control board is flashing a flash code and if so what is the code?
Will do. Won't be back at the place until this weekend at the earliest.

I'm thinking of buying the replacement pressure switch, as long as it's returnable and trying that this weekend.

I only make it up there every few weekends. But it's getting closer to winter here in WI and can't afford the frozen pipes, so need to figure this out soon.
mjprel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 10:59 PM   #6
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Heil furnace won't ignite


I can't find the Model number you posted. Could you double check it?
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 11:03 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heil furnace won't ignite


Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber101 View Post
I can't find the Model number you posted. Could you double check it?
Thankfully, brother in law brought back the owners manual.

List as a Heil NULE 075BG01

Model 867.778381

Last edited by mjprel; 10-19-2009 at 11:13 PM.
mjprel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 11:27 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Heil furnace won't ignite


Although pressure switches aren't cost prohibitive, they rarely go bad. Do you know how to use a multi-meter? Why do you suspect the pressure switch as the culprit? The flash code is a good starting point in troubleshooting
Flashheatingand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 05:50 AM   #9
Member
 
newtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 251
Rewards Points: 162
Default

Heil furnace won't ignite


Quote:
Originally Posted by mjprel View Post
Thankfully, brother in law brought back the owners manual.

List as a Heil NULE 075BG01

Model 867.778381
RE check the model number. No NULE listed. There is a NULK and a NULS. www.goheil.com
newtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 07:29 AM   #10
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Heil furnace won't ignite


Quote:
Originally Posted by newtech View Post
RE check the model number. No NULE listed. There is a NULK and a NULS. www.goheil.com

Hi Newtech.


Shouldn't let people sneak up on 'ya like that


How 'ya been ?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 08:36 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heil furnace won't ignite


Quote:
Originally Posted by newtech View Post
RE check the model number. No NULE listed. There is a NULK and a NULS. www.goheil.com
Looking at the spec sheet right now.

N - Model Number
U - Upflow
L - LP gas
E - Series
075 - Nominal Input BTU
B - Feature Code (whatever that means)
G - Nominal Air Flow (G=3.5 tons)
01 - No clue, not listed on the sheet
mjprel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 04:02 PM   #12
Member
 
newtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 251
Rewards Points: 162
Default

Heil furnace won't ignite


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Hi Newtech.


Shouldn't let people sneak up on 'ya like that


How 'ya been ?
Good, and You? Haven't seen ya around in a while..
newtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 04:41 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 279
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Heil furnace won't ignite


Quote:
Originally Posted by newtech View Post
Good, and You? Haven't seen ya around in a while..
He's been out getting his teeth sharpened in preparation for Halloween.
veesubotee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 05:23 PM   #14
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Heil furnace won't ignite


Quote:
Originally Posted by veesubotee View Post
He's been out getting his teeth sharpened in preparation for Halloween.
And that root canal was a bear too!
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 06:48 PM   #15
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,112
Rewards Points: 862
Default

Heil furnace won't ignite


Can any one say Smart/Idiot valve? I wonder if he has one of those lovely devices.

Advertisement

yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 08:01 PM
Heil furnace leaks gas emaxxman HVAC 1 06-18-2009 05:43 PM
Furnace fails to ignite now and then... diitto HVAC 1 01-01-2009 12:00 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts