Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-19-2008, 07:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heil Furnace Problem


I have a 2 year old Heil Gas furnace. Would not go into heat mode. Jumpered R to Y/g and got fan and AC to function. R to W did nothing. Checked all safteies ok there. Jumpered power to the induced draft motor it ran and the fan prove switch made. OK I got brillant and figured a bad main board. Replaced the board and the same results. The gas valve led is lit solid (no faults) but no heat mode. I'm only seeing 15.3 volts through my safety circuit. Any ideas? Don't want to drop $350 on a gas valve if I don't have too!!!! Kevin

Kevi Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 07:58 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Heil Furnace Problem


is it a smart valve? try unplugging the valve connection and see if inducer will start

kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 08:02 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heil Furnace Problem


It is a smart valve. I tried unpluging the 4 wire inducer plug and the 8 wire main control plug. Negative results
Kevi Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 08:48 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Heil Furnace Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevi Jackson View Post
It is a smart valve. I tried unpluging the 4 wire inducer plug and the 8 wire main control plug. Negative results
i guess the next thing i would try is circumventing the board and see if i could power the valve directly to see if it glows and lights if so id say it wasnt the valve where did you get the board local or online
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 10:44 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heil Furnace Problem


I bought the board localy at a major HVAC vendor. RSD supply. Will probably have to call Heil tech support to figure a sure fire way to either condem the valve or find the real cause.
Kevi Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 08:25 AM   #6
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Heil Furnace Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevi Jackson View Post
I bought the board localy at a major HVAC vendor. RSD supply. Will probably have to call Heil tech support to figure a sure fire way to either condem the valve or find the real cause.

Don't think they will talk to a HO directly. They don't even talk to their contractors directly for service assistance. Have to to talk to the local counter guy who is the designated "Tech Assistance guy". And that's only for us contractors.

But give it a shot any way. If they take your call consider your self fortunate.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 08:28 AM   #7
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Heil Furnace Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevi Jackson View Post
I have a 2 year old Heil Gas furnace. Would not go into heat mode. Jumpered R to Y/g and got fan and AC to function. R to W did nothing. Checked all safteies ok there. Jumpered power to the induced draft motor it ran and the fan prove switch made. OK I got brillant and figured a bad main board. Replaced the board and the same results. The gas valve led is lit solid (no faults) but no heat mode. I'm only seeing 15.3 volts through my safety circuit. Any ideas? Don't want to drop $350 on a gas valve if I don't have too!!!! Kevin

If that furnace is two years old it's under a five year parts warranty. Th wholesaler owes you some money back.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 08:30 AM   #8
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Heil Furnace Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevi Jackson View Post
It is a smart valve. I tried unpluging the 4 wire inducer plug and the 8 wire main control plug. Negative results

BTW the power for the inducer goes thru the smart Valve.

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
Furnace Problem JASPER2008 HVAC 9 11-22-2008 08:54 PM
oil furnace problem Dave80 HVAC 1 01-24-2008 07:53 AM
furnace problem captjack HVAC 8 11-23-2007 11:15 AM
HEIL 5000 Furnace Problem moore70 HVAC 5 03-26-2006 07:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.