Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-06-2010, 07:10 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Heil Furnace Pilot Light Not Igniting

I've used this forum many time for knowledge... this is my first time posting. My Heil furnace (not sure of the model number) is original to my house so its going on 20 years old. 2 years ago, the furnace wouldn't fire. I diagnosed it as far as I could before I called a tech. It was the pilot orifice that was clogged and wasn't bringing gas to the pilot light. He replaced that and it worked fine.

Today, I go to turn on my heat, the system turns on but no heat. I go to check and I didn't hear the usually ticking sound you hear from the pilot light. I turned the system off, checked to make sure the line to the pilot wasn't clogged and lightly cleaned the pilot. Still nothing. No ticking sound like its trying to fire.

Two things.

1. our gas went out when they hit a gas line in front of my house about a week ago. When the gas company came to turn it back on, he didn't attempt to turn on the furnace. He just checked the range to make sure the gas was working. He said the furnace should be fine. Not sure if this is related?

2. When I had the pilot out, I had the line from the valve? to the pilot disconnected. I turned the system on to see if I could smell gas coming out. I am a little nervous doing this but I remember the tech doing it before. I only left it on for a few seconds but I didn't smell any gas coming out? Not sure if this is related to the above? Or maybe a bad valve?

I know I've read other posts about a board and lights.. but my board doesn't seem to have any of this.

So, looking to see if any experts have any opinions on this before I call a tech yet again.