Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2011, 06:36 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Heil furnace Model #nugk100dh08


I have a 10 year old Heil Model #nugk100dh08. Haven't had any problems with it prior to this. The exhaust inducer motor was bad, so I replaced the unit. I used the old capacitor because the place I ordered from sent me one that doesn't look like an exact match.

The exhaust blower is working now without vibrating, but I am not getting any heat. It doesn't seem to be getting any gas. I don't smell any gas.

How long after I turn the unit on should I have to wait for it to ignite?

Anything else I should be looking for?

TIA

lionround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 07:39 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 452
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Heil furnace Model #nugk100dh08


ID fans are sensitive and need to be accurately replaced. They spin at different speeds (and 'pull' different pressure amounts) to close a specific pressure switch. They can spin clockwise or counterclockwise etc.

I recommend looking here to match up and ensure you got the correct replacement:

http://www.fasco.com/documents/pgs068-095.pdf

http://www.fasco.com/documents/pgs051-059.pdf

diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 08:07 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heil furnace Model #nugk100dh08


Purge time before ignition is usually around 1 minute. Check to make sure any pressure switch hoses are connected correctly. Maybe the inducer isn't spinning fast enough with the old capacitor.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 04:21 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,120
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Heil furnace Model #nugk100dh08


The new capacitor does have to match the old one. It just has to be the right one for the new inducer. Put the new capacitor on.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 08:34 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heil furnace Model #nugk100dh08


OK, I changed the capacitor. I took the vacuum hose off the inducer and put my finger over the hole. I didn't feel any vacuum. I sucked on the hose and then clamped it off with my hand and gas started to flow. Of course, as soon as I let go of it, it shut off again. So, I hooked it back up to the inducer vacuum port and no gas.
lionround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 09:10 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,120
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Heil furnace Model #nugk100dh08


Clogged flue or intake, clogged condensate drain or a cracked heat exchanger.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 09:16 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heil furnace Model #nugk100dh08


BeenThere, Thanks for all your help. Everything was working fine before I changed the old motor/blower. It was vibrating badly, but everything was working. I am trying not to doubt your suggestions because I have ABSOLUTELY no experience with any of this. However, I have to believe there is something else due to the fact that it was working before and if I apply vacuum to the hose, everything works.

Is it possible the replacement motor is dual purpose and there is a plug inside the vacuum port or something?

Thanks.
lionround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 09:22 PM   #8
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,492
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Heil furnace Model #nugk100dh08


The easy things to check are the...
Check the inducer vaccum port for debris, especially since you didn't feel any vaccum from there. A bit of wire will work. I usually also check the pressure switch ports as well ( your mouth sucking might be enough to work around a partial obstruction but the inducer vaccum may not be as strong). Sucking too strongly on the line to the pressure switch can also ruin the switch.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 09:34 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,120
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Heil furnace Model #nugk100dh08


Doubt there is a plug. Are you sure its sealed right.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
lionround (11-10-2011)
Old 11-08-2011, 05:26 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 452
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Heil furnace Model #nugk100dh08


Checking the stats of the older fan and the newer fan should provide good info.

See my earlier post. You may have been sold a new fan that can't do the job.
diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 11:15 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heil furnace Model #nugk100dh08


Thanks for all your help, especially BeenThere. Apparently there are two vacuum ports, one by the intake and one by the exhaust. I had it plugged into the wrong one. Got it running this morning just in time for our cold snap here in Memphis this week. (My apologies to the people in the Northeast who have had no power for being such a wimp in my 50 degree weather).

Thanks again.
lionround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 03:07 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,120
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Heil furnace Model #nugk100dh08


Quote:
Originally Posted by lionround View Post
Apparently there are two vacuum ports, one by the intake and one by the exhaust. I had it plugged into the wrong one.

Thanks again.

You are the only person in the world that has ever connected the hose to the wrong port. LOL...

Hate when I do that, it makes me scratch my head too much. And I don't have but a few strands of hair left on my head.

Glad you got it resolved.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 04:39 PM   #13
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,423
Rewards Points: 70
Default

Heil furnace Model #nugk100dh08


I have the same problem. Saves on shampoo though.

There may be an orifice plate on the back of the inducer, make sure it is installed properly. On the high efficiency condensing units they are notorious for breaking off.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 02:55 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heil furnace Model #nugk100dh08


Well, it's been a year and I am at it again. Same furnace. When I turn on the thermostat, the blower comes on immediately and I am not getting any gas to the burners. Any ideas on where to start would be appreciated.
lionround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 05:20 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Heil furnace Model #nugk100dh08


can you show us picture of old inducer and new inducer////ben sr

ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HEIL 5000 Furnace Problem bwalters108 HVAC 7 03-16-2010 08:19 PM
Heil Furnace Info Bear63 HVAC 1 10-21-2009 03:08 PM
Heil 9000 LP gas furnace cjf1980 HVAC 4 07-28-2009 08:45 PM
Heil furnace question KEN S HVAC 1 07-20-2009 10:52 AM
Heil Furnace Jeff HVAC 3 03-30-2007 10:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.