Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-15-2011, 05:50 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Heil furnace gas shut's off & on


I just bought a house and this is first winter in it. My furnace seems to work fine with keeping house at temp. And my bill is alot lower than most neighbors but I'm single and keep temp on 68. My question is when furnace is running the gas shuts off and on. The furnace doesnt start new cycle the gas will just burn for a bit then shut off and then a few seconds later the igniter will glow and the gas will start flowing and then start burning for abit. The fan never shuts off, the flame just burns and then goes out over and over. Is this normal???
I put a new igniter and flame senser on it and it made no difference


Last edited by mkmoony; 12-15-2011 at 05:53 AM.
mkmoony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 06:06 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Heil furnace gas shut's off & on


Not normal. That's what a furnace does when it's overheating. Perhaps the old owners didn't change the furnace filter often and the AC coil on top of the furnace is dirty.

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Marty S. For This Useful Post:
mkmoony (12-15-2011)
Old 12-16-2011, 09:09 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Heil furnace gas shut's off & on


Thank you for your reply. But I tried a few things like I checked a-coil and it was very very clean, I put a jumper wire in the three sensor's that was on the furnace and nothing changed. I checked all the wires for good connection on mother board and still nothing. Don't ask me why but I was just standing there thinking about how much a repair was going to cost when I reached down and took the rubber hose off that goes from exhaust blower to a module that has a cple of wires coming from it. I blew through it and I could tell I blew something out of it. I put it back on and it seems to be working fine. Could somebody tell me if that could fix problem and why??
mkmoony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 08:43 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,293
Default

Heil furnace gas shut's off & on


Quote:
Originally Posted by mkmoony View Post
Thank you for your reply. But I tried a few things like I checked a-coil and it was very very clean, I put a jumper wire in the three sensor's that was on the furnace and nothing changed. I checked all the wires for good connection on mother board and still nothing. Don't ask me why but I was just standing there thinking about how much a repair was going to cost when I reached down and took the rubber hose off that goes from exhaust blower to a module that has a cple of wires coming from it. I blew through it and I could tell I blew something out of it. I put it back on and it seems to be working fine. Could somebody tell me if that could fix problem and why??
seem like if something came out of the tube then that could have been tripping pressure switch on and off....that would explain burnners comming on and off with inducer still running...
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 11:24 PM   #5
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Default

Heil furnace gas shut's off & on


bug rolled in there maybe the tube wasn't proofing the induced draft fan mounted above the burner so the silver disc with 2 wires was doing its job....tripping the gas..restarting...etc.anytime you see a short cycle like that re-ignition relite it that PSI proof.when your statcall the first item to run is that smaller induced draft fan then the PSI proofs air to the burner and away you go.
biggles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 07:20 AM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,273
Default

Heil furnace gas shut's off & on


that is a common problem with those units. water condenses inside there and starts to fill it and trip the pressure switch. once a yr/in fall remove it and blow thru it.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (12-17-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Electric furnace tripping breaker chrishosley HVAC 31 02-26-2013 06:35 PM
Furnace makes squeaking/rattling noise after burner shuts off Red Squirrel HVAC 10 11-12-2011 10:39 PM
Heil furnace problems nj1984 HVAC 7 10-22-2011 01:52 PM
Furnace continues to run after system shuts down spikesnet HVAC 38 10-21-2011 08:23 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.