Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-01-2013, 02:58 PM   #31
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,895
Share |
Default

Heil Furnace driving me insane - and broke!


By disconnect switch I mean the one that supplies 120 volts to the furnace and is mounted on your wall or ceiling ( main power switch ). Those light switches are cheap and will fail with age.

What about Robin Olds. You guys should google him and read up about him, one tough smart ballzy guy. Or watch HIstory Channel - Air Aces.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 06:04 PM   #32
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 23
Default

Heil Furnace driving me insane - and broke!


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
By disconnect switch I mean the one that supplies 120 volts to the furnace and is mounted on your wall or ceiling ( main power switch ). Those light switches are cheap and will fail with age.

What about Robin Olds. You guys should google him and read up about him, one tough smart ballzy guy. Or watch HIstory Channel - Air Aces.
Its hard wired with a breaker, and no switch - its a standard plug. There is 120 reaching the furnace, as there is 24V present at the transformer and control boards.
Drider75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 10:03 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 599
Default

Heil Furnace driving me insane - and broke!


Maybe I missed where you checked it but, is it possible the ID motor is seized/obstructed preventing rotation? From reading previous threads this can happen without blowing breakers. Just a thought.
techpappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 10:13 PM   #34
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 23
Default

Heil Furnace driving me insane - and broke!


Quote:
Originally Posted by techpappy View Post
Maybe I missed where you checked it but, is it possible the ID motor is seized/obstructed preventing rotation? From reading previous threads this can happen without blowing breakers. Just a thought.
Nope - ID motor is fine, I jumpered 24v to it, it will run all day. One of the first things I checked...

It appears the only thing I have not done is replace the gas valve. At this point, its only another $130 so that will probably be my next try. Sure would be nice to find a service manual for this POS, I hate replacing stuff and guessing, goes against everything I've ever done as a tech person.
Drider75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 10:39 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 599
Default

Heil Furnace driving me insane - and broke!


You keep saying you have applied 24V to the ID fan..I thought they were all 120V...maybe this should be confirmed..
techpappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 12:20 AM   #36
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 22
Default

Heil Furnace driving me insane - and broke!


You said the inductor motor runs fine with 24VAC; although the diagram you posted shows it's 115VAC. So what voltage is it getting when it should be turning but isn't?
bausin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 12:31 AM   #37
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 22
Default

Heil Furnace driving me insane - and broke!


I really don't understand most of the suggestions in this thread. Why bother checking the pressure switch if the inducer motor is not starting? Or the gas valve?

Figure out why the inducer is not running first. Then we can get the braintrust here back to solving my problem. :-)

Last edited by bausin; 02-03-2013 at 01:48 AM.
bausin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:58 AM   #38
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 23
Default

Heil Furnace driving me insane - and broke!


Quote:
Originally Posted by bausin View Post
You said the inductor motor runs fine with 24VAC; although the diagram you posted shows it's 115VAC. So what voltage is it getting when it should be turning but isn't?
Sorry, 115V, not 24. Its NOT the fan.
Drider75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 08:03 AM   #39
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 23
Default

Heil Furnace driving me insane - and broke!


Quote:
Originally Posted by bausin View Post
I really don't understand most of the suggestions in this thread. Why bother checking the pressure switch if the inducer motor is not starting? Or the gas valve?

Figure out why the inducer is not running first. Then we can get the braintrust here back to solving my problem. :-)
This is a pretty simple furnace - there are only few things that can cause the inducer not to start:

1> Bad door interlock (checked, fine - actually its now bypassed)
2> Bad limit switch - there are 4 - all checked fine
3> Bad inducer fan - it runs fine when voltage applied to it directly
4> Bad fan timer board - replaced with new one
5> Bad connections - checked all, unseated and re-seated.

Its all been checked, we have 4 hours into this, $500 and two tech visits and the POS still does not work. Never seen anything like it.
Drider75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 08:15 AM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Heil Furnace driving me insane - and broke!


Wouldn't be the first time a new part was bad out of the box.
24V between W and C...check
Limits and roll outs closed...check
board sending 120v to inducer...no
Seems like that new board is either not wired right or it's faulty
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 09:09 AM   #41
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,895
Default

Heil Furnace driving me insane - and broke!


That does happen, sometimes they repackage them after some clown used it or damaged it whilst he did his parts changing routine and then took it back for a refund and lied about what he did. Did you make sure you grounded/discharged yourself B4 touching the board. Static electricity can damage them. I always touch the side of the furnace and hold it while sliding a board out of the anti static bag and periodicially touch the furnace to eliminate that hazard.

Post some closeup pics of the furnace with both doors off so I/we can see what controls it has.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 02-03-2013 at 09:14 AM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 12:25 PM   #42
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 22
Default

Heil Furnace driving me insane - and broke!


> what voltage is it getting when it should be turning but isn't?

>>Sorry, 115V, not 24. Its NOT the fan.

So does that mean you're not getting any voltage to the inducer?
bausin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 01:21 PM   #43
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,243
Default

Heil Furnace driving me insane - and broke!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Drider75 View Post
Sorry, 115V, not 24. Its NOT the fan.
Is the board puting out the 120 volts for the ID fan? Check it by unhooking the ID connection on the board and start the furnace. Measure with a volt meter and see if the ouput is working
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 06:41 AM   #44
jkv
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 121
Default

Heil Furnace driving me insane - and broke!


It may be a long shot but replace that tube its the only thing you havent done sometimes they will get a hairline crack in them

jkv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bubbling Toilet, Pilot Light in furnace out, extremely sick SewerBreath Plumbing 24 05-09-2011 06:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.