Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-21-2009, 12:21 PM   #46
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Share |
Default

Heil Furnace Burner Problem


the orifice is the hole.. It's there. Have you been able to tell if you are getting any gas out of the pilot tube with it disconnected from the pilot ??

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 06:57 AM   #47
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Default

Heil Furnace Burner Problem


I did not turn the heat on while the igniter-sensor-pilot gas feed unit was not mounted by the main burners. How could you tell if gas was coming out other than lighting it? Would you hear it or smell it? How dangerous would it be to turn the heat on with the tube disconnected? Would it be smarter to disconnect the pilot gas feed tube right at the gas valve away from the igniter and sensor? Here again, would you smell the gas or hear it? Donaldb
donaldb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 07:02 AM   #48
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Heil Furnace Burner Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by donaldb View Post
I did not turn the heat on while the igniter-sensor-pilot gas feed unit was not mounted by the main burners. How could you tell if gas was coming out other than lighting it? Would you hear it or smell it? Would it be smarter to disconnect the pilot gas feed tube right at the gas valve away from the igniter and sensor? Here again, would you smell the gas or hear it? Donaldb

Yes ,Yes ,Yes


be ready to kill the power just when you hear the gas come out of the tube at the valve.. It will be a small amount. But , just don't let it blow & blow, Turn it off as soon as you hear it

Of course, the safest way would be to install a gauge at the pilot port.when the pilot valve opens you will see it on the gauge.. You will need a gauge that measures inches of water column gas pressure....be safe however you check it

Last edited by kenmac; 05-22-2009 at 07:48 AM.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 12:35 PM   #49
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Default

Heil Furnace Burner Problem


Thanx, I may try to get a soft plastic tube a foot long or so, that will fit tightly into the opening at the valve where I take the pilot feed tube out of. The gas then would be coming out a foot away from the furnace. I can't imagine an danger that way. And I would be ready to flip the switch. If nothing comes out would that mean I have a bad smart valve? Donaldb
donaldb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 03:08 PM   #50
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Heil Furnace Burner Problem


Well check all your limits, pressure switch, connections at the valve.imop, These valves have had more problems than any other valve on the market
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 07:03 PM   #51
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Default

Heil Furnace Burner Problem


I'm afraid you are talking way over my head. I don't know what you mean by limits, or what a pressure switch is or what a valve.imop is. Thanx for the advice anyhow. I guess I'll have to just break done and call someone. Donaldb
donaldb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 07:28 PM   #52
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Heil Furnace Burner Problem


In my opinion ( imo). added a p any probably shouldn't have....... If you have gas out of the pilot tube . Then it's the pilot orifice. If you don't get gas out of the pilot tube. Checked all the connections at the valve. & don't know how to check the other items.... . You need to call someone
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 08:40 AM   #53
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Default

Heil Furnace Burner Problem


I took off the aluminum tube on the main valve control and stuck a little rubber tube in it and run it to a container of soapy water. When I turned on the furnace and the valve controller clicked there was plenty of gas coming out. So, I guess it has to be the orfice or the igniter. I do see the igniter glow for 10-15 seconds. Unless the igniter has weakened over the last 10 years then it must mean the orfice is plugged up. Is the orfice hard to replace? What holds it in there? I can't see how to get it out. Do you have to buy the whole unit? Donaldb
donaldb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 09:04 AM   #54
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Heil Furnace Burner Problem


If I remember correctly. The orifice spud id stamped steel. It's probably rusted in place. You may tear it up getting it out. If the ignitor is glowing it should light with gas.. You will probably have to buy the pilot assy.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 10:15 AM   #55
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Default

Heil Furnace Burner Problem


Before I buy an orfice or an assembly I wonder if it is possible that the pilot is burning and that I just can't see it? I see the glow of the igniter but I can't really tell how far down in it is. If it isn't too expensive, I could just go ahead and replace the whole assembly which would include the sensor, ignitor and pilot orfice. Do you know of anyone that handles that assembly. I've been doing some searches but haven't found a good company yet. Donaldb
donaldb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 12:28 PM   #56
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Default

Heil Furnace Burner Problem


I can't seem to find a place to buy a igniter, sensor, orfice assembly. Do you know if anyone handles that assembly? Its a Heil DC90 ultra high efficiency furnace. Donaldb
donaldb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 05:26 PM   #57
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Heil Furnace Burner Problem


I did google search & found this place http://www.allpartsgrills.com/productCat99580.ctlg You don't need ignitor if it's glowing... Unless you want a spare
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 08:58 PM   #58
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Default

Heil Furnace Burner Problem


I also had found that site, but the combination set-up looks a little different from mine and it didn't say it would work on a Heil funace. I may give them a call on Tuesday to see if the combo unit will work on my furnace. That sounds like a very good deal. Donaldb
donaldb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 09:52 PM   #59
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Heil Furnace Burner Problem


All the smart valves use the same pilot assy.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 12:50 AM   #60
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
Default

Heil Furnace Burner Problem


Good, I'm glad to hear that. It just seemed odd to me that at a different site I found an igniter alone for about $80! And on this site http://www.allpartsgrills.com/productCat99580.ctlg you get the igniter-pilot-sensor for $34.65. Thats a lot of difference. I will still call them on Tuesday to make sure it will work on my furnace before I order the unit. Thanx kenmac Donaldb

donaldb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant Furnace main burner goes out after 5 seconds Da_Bears HVAC 8 01-03-2012 01:24 AM
New High Efficiency Furnace Problem Buster 567 HVAC 8 12-13-2010 08:36 PM
furnace problem captjack HVAC 8 11-23-2007 11:15 AM
Burner won't fire on Payne 490AAV furnace lwhpops HVAC 2 10-20-2006 03:03 PM
HEIL 5000 Furnace Problem moore70 HVAC 5 03-26-2006 07:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.