Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-11-2010, 05:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

HEIL 5000 Furnace Problem


Hi All,
Had something of a freak occurrence a week ago. The furnace circuit has a common neutral with another 120v circuit in the house. The neutral opened up due to a surge causing 240v to be applied to the furnace (it blew out a computer too). Of course now that the circuits have been fixed the furnace is not responding in anyway. It was not running at the time of the open neutral so I am hoping that a transformer is simply blown. (Circuit breaker and voltages are ok.) Any thoughts on this?
Thanks,
Bill
bwalters108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 06:08 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,325
Default

HEIL 5000 Furnace Problem


You may be out of luck. Modern circuit boards are grounded to the furnace chassis and the secondary side of the transformer. Surges can blow circuit boards. Even w/o a neutral there is still a circuit to ground. Sorry.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 09:00 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default

HEIL 5000 Furnace Problem


Thanks very much for your response. I measured 240 volts at the outlet the furnace was plugged into (before the circuit was fixed). Also thought i smelled smoke when I opened the door to the furnace enclosure. So no doubt 240 got applied to some component of the furnace. So you are saying that it would likely be more than the transformer that got fried and probably includes control circuitry? What would you suggest as a way to test that? Can you recommend where I can obtain parts for this model?
bwalters108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 09:12 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,325
Default

HEIL 5000 Furnace Problem


How old is it? Post some pics of it with both doors off. There are LOTS of different versions of Heil/ICPs out there. Where do you live.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 04:55 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,446
Default

HEIL 5000 Furnace Problem


Good chance it took out the transformer, and control board.

Did you check to see if there is a fuse on the board that may be blown.

Get your meter out and start checking componets.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 05:27 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default

HEIL 5000 Furnace Problem


I am located in Placentia, California. Here are pictures of the Heil High Efficiency 5000 furnace. I do not know its age. I measured zero volts on the terminal board (terminals designated as W, Y, R, G & C). The hot (black) 120V lead coming from the house appears to first go to a component that I suppose is a circuit breaker or a fuse. It has a long white spring loaded button protruding from the front of the transformer assembly. I tested the continuity through it and found that it is open in the out position and makes contact in the in position, however the button will only remain in the out position as shown in the pic. It appears to be easily replaceable. I would think this is the first thing that needs to be replaced.
Attached Thumbnails
HEIL 5000 Furnace Problem-100_1715.jpg   HEIL 5000 Furnace Problem-100_1716.jpg  
bwalters108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 06:03 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,325
Default

HEIL 5000 Furnace Problem


That white button is a door switch to prevent furnace from running w/o the door. That furnace is 20 yrs old or older. IMO it is not worth spending a lot of $$ on because the heat exchanger may be cracked or crack soon. We sold lots of them where I am and only about 10-15% are still in use. I am pretty sure the burners are obsolete. Once a furnace has water damage or a SERIOUS power surge it is unsafe IMO. Critical controls may be damaged and w/o a licensed tech to check everything it is unsafe IMO. Not worth endangering your family's safety.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by yuri; 03-16-2010 at 06:12 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 08:19 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 35
Blog Entries: 1
Default

HEIL 5000 Furnace Problem


if you are lucky it only ruined the transformer, but it probably got the board
richiemoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help troubleshooting furnace problem robert_ HVAC 21 02-15-2012 08:04 AM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
Lennox Elite Series Furnace Problem steges HVAC 7 11-06-2010 02:49 PM
furnace burner problem brent h HVAC 2 01-11-2010 07:50 PM
my ac keeps blowing boards on my heil furnace sally HVAC 2 07-23-2005 07:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.