Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-21-2013, 09:22 AM   #31
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 15
Share |
Default

Heil 5000 Furnace


OK I got 25.4 volts to red, or PV the pilot, the pilot fires up but i only get 8 volts to Black or MV. when the pilot goes out all voltage drops to O
Rchevy61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 09:37 AM   #32
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,331
Default

Heil 5000 Furnace


then the S86 ignition control is faulty or the gas valve is draining the voltage. check with the wire off the valve. either way you got a $200 problem. the new S86U/ universal is TRICKY to install as they changed some of the wiring terminals and terminology and you need to read the install info VERY VERY carefully.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (04-21-2013)
Old 04-21-2013, 09:52 AM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 15
Default

Heil 5000 Furnace


would it light if i switched the red and black around? I only need this thing for a few more weeks? I got a new one coming in June.
Rchevy61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 10:05 AM   #34
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,331
Default

Heil 5000 Furnace


DO NOT EVER start switching things around. If it loses it's flame then you will blow up the house as you will have NO flame failure protection.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (04-21-2013)
Old 04-21-2013, 10:34 AM   #35
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 15
Default

Heil 5000 Furnace


Can it be manual fired just to get the chill out during the spring?
Rchevy61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 11:20 AM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Heil 5000 Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rchevy61 View Post
Can it be manual fired just to get the chill out during the spring?
No. Go buy a space heater or two to knock off the chill.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Marty S. For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (04-21-2013)
Old 12-29-2013, 04:09 PM   #37
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Default

Heil 5000 Furnace


I've read the previous posts, but they don't exactly address my problem.

When I turn the 'stat up so the unit will start, the fan starts, the igniter sparks, and a puff of pilot gas ignites, but the pilot light goes out right away. This sequence will repeat itself every few minutes (until I turn the 'stat down to off). I've checked all electrical connections and the unit worked a couple of days ago. What's my next step? Thanks.
Bozak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 05:58 PM   #38
Experienced HVAC Tech
 
HVAC1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 357
Default

Heil 5000 Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bozak
I've read the previous posts, but they don't exactly address my problem. When I turn the 'stat up so the unit will start, the fan starts, the igniter sparks, and a puff of pilot gas ignites, but the pilot light goes out right away. This sequence will repeat itself every few minutes (until I turn the 'stat down to off). I've checked all electrical connections and the unit worked a couple of days ago. What's my next step? Thanks.
clean the flame sensor. It is in the same "cluster" or assembly that the little aluminum pilot tube terminates. It looks like a little thick wire that sticks out in front of the pilot hood. Use a wire brush or scotchbrite pad to clean off wire. While u are at it clean of sparking igniter rods. They look just about the same as flame sensing rod
HVAC1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Natural Gas Cost For Furnace 1 Hour Run Time hammerlane HVAC 15 11-11-2013 10:34 AM
Heil 1990 furnace and Roll Out Switch jimdwest HVAC 12 02-09-2013 06:24 PM
Heil Furnace driving me insane - and broke! Drider75 HVAC 43 02-04-2013 06:41 AM
American Standard 5000 gas furnace PyrateJim HVAC 20 01-05-2011 01:48 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.