Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-20-2013, 10:23 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heil 5000 Furnace


I have a Heil 5000 Furnace Will not light. When it calls for heat the ignitor comes on, a small piolet comes on but the burners do not ignite.

I dont want to put money in to this, i just want to get through the spring plan on replacing in fall. what can i do to make it work a few more weeks

Rchevy61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 10:40 AM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Heil 5000 Furnace


flame sensor is not telling the control board it senses a flame, thus is not lighting. post pics.

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 10:58 AM   #3
Experienced HVAC Tech
 
HVAC1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 357
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Heil 5000 Furnace


This unit has a Honeywell smart valve (gas valve is also a control board). If after cleaning the flame rod (careful when you do so, the igniter is very close to the flame rod and is very fragile. Don't even touch it as the oil from your skin will make it have hot spots and fail) it still has that problem check where it plugs into the gas valve, check for corrosion there and clean it as best as you can. From there if the problem still exists you probably need a new Smart Valve.
HVAC1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 11:10 AM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,628
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

Heil 5000 Furnace


I would not fool around with the sensor/igniter as it will probably break. Carefully with the power off unplug the 2 wiring harnesses from on top of the gas valve and reconnect them. First of all try jiggling them when the pilot is on and it may start. Most problems are those connections at the valve.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 11:48 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heil 5000 Furnace


I have checked all the gas valve connections, i even tapped on the valve when it try's to light I am not a furnace guy but i think it is a valve problem I dont want to stick 200$ in to a valve when i am going to junk the thing in a few months, i just need to make it work a few more weeks
Rchevy61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 12:04 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,628
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

Heil 5000 Furnace


not likely it is the flame sensor as they have been VERY reliable even when dirty. you would have to remove the pilot burner and take it all apart and try clean the sensor BUT it is very difficult to do and most of the time the igniter will break. I usually replace the whole pilot assembly as it gets corroded along with the sensor and warped. Buy or borrow a couple small space heaters may be your best option and then you have them for future emergencies or to loan to family or friends.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 12:30 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heil 5000 Furnace


The pilot come on works fine, the main burners wont ignite, seems like its not getting gas
Rchevy61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 02:11 PM   #8
Experienced HVAC Tech
 
HVAC1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 357
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Heil 5000 Furnace


well it is either a) your flame sensor is not geting a signal back to the smart valve (gas valve) b) your smart valve is bad and needs to be replaced.
try what both Yuri and I have suggested above, if this does not change anything you need a new valve. those smart valves have a control board in them and do a lot of functions just cause the pilot lights does not rule out the valve being bad, one part can stop working (opening gas to main burners) while another part works perfectly fine (the pilot igniting)
i dont want to say these go bad often cause they don't, but i had to change out one on a customers this last week and it was doing the same thing yours is, i changed it out and now it works perfectly
HVAC1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 03:07 PM   #9
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,628
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

Heil 5000 Furnace


google: flame rectification.

even with the pilot on it may not be hitting the sensor properly or strong enough, the orifices plug up with age in those pilot burners, the hoods get rusty or warped and won't conduct a strong enough signal back to the valve etc etc etc. most of the time it is the valve and the board breaks inside it.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
HVAC1000 (04-20-2013)
Old 04-20-2013, 03:55 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heil 5000 Furnace


Can i trick the valve some how in to thinking its getting a signal from the flame sensor? by jumping a wire or 2?
Attached Thumbnails
Heil 5000 Furnace-img_6660.jpg  
Rchevy61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 03:59 PM   #11
Experienced HVAC Tech
 
HVAC1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 357
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Heil 5000 Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rchevy61
Can i trick the valve some how in to thinking its getting a signal from the flame sensor? by jumping a wire or 2?
All of the components are sealed inside the valve. This is an internal fault that is on a control board within the valve. IF the valve is faulted you need a new one. There is no repairing a gas valve
Like both yuri and I have said check your electrical connections.
All of the wires you see that go outside of the valve are to power the igniter, one goes to the flame sensor, the others go to safeties and talk to the fan control board in the lower half of the furnace. There is no real way to jump these wires for it to run properly

Last edited by HVAC1000; 04-20-2013 at 04:05 PM.
HVAC1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 06:14 PM   #12
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,628
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

Heil 5000 Furnace


that is not a smartvalve. it is a standard VR8200 valve. it should be getting 24 volts AC at the 2 terminals on the side of it. if it does and it does not open then it is seized up/kaput. I am very certain the heat exchanger is probably cracked on that furnace as that is a big issue with them. good idea to replace it. get some temporary heaters is your best bet. if it is not getting 24 volts then the ignition control may be shot and either way it is not fixable w/o spending some serious $$ on.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 06:16 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heil 5000 Furnace


I have removed valv, took cover off, removed board all contacts look good but i cleaned them anyway. ALso cleaned the pilot and all contacts. reassembled and got the same thing. Blower starts, ignitor starts, pilot lights, but no main burner. the plungers on the valve move free. what am i missing?
Rchevy61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 06:17 PM   #14
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,628
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

Heil 5000 Furnace


reread my post above yours as we posted at the same time.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 06:18 PM   #15
Experienced HVAC Tech
 
HVAC1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 357
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Heil 5000 Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri
that is not a smartvalve. it is a standard VR8200 valve. it should be getting 24 volts AC at the 2 terminals on the side of it. if it does and it does not open then it is seized up/kaput. I am very cetain the heat exchanger is probably cracked on that furnace as that is a big issue with them. good idea to replace it. get some temporary heaters is your best bet.
You are right that is not a smart valve. I thought it was ahead of time then I did not look at the picture very closely. I guess that's what I get for assuming and not actually checking. Yuri is right. Sorry once again for not looking very close

HVAC1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Natural Gas Cost For Furnace 1 Hour Run Time hammerlane HVAC 15 11-11-2013 10:34 AM
Heil 1990 furnace and Roll Out Switch jimdwest HVAC 12 02-09-2013 06:24 PM
Heil Furnace driving me insane - and broke! Drider75 HVAC 43 02-04-2013 06:41 AM
American Standard 5000 gas furnace PyrateJim HVAC 20 01-05-2011 01:48 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.