Heil 5000 Furance - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2009, 12:46 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

heil 5000 furance


I got a heil 5000 furance not it is short cycleing on my gas valve it don't say the amps does anyone know where do i set the anticipator to on the thermostat.It is a 75,000btu

Advertisement


Last edited by harley75; 01-15-2009 at 12:47 PM. Reason: forgot
harley75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 01:44 PM   #2
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

heil 5000 furance


Do you have a amp meter? Or if not .5 should be close. Are you sure it is cycling on the T-stat? Did you jump it and then it stayed running?

Advertisement

JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 01:47 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

heil 5000 furance


I got a digital and standered meter.My thermo is a lux T10-1141sa now i put my digital meter on it.Set meter to ac it showed 38.1 on the wires.Not sure if that was the right way or not.

Last edited by harley75; 01-15-2009 at 02:23 PM. Reason: forgot
harley75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 02:30 PM   #4
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

heil 5000 furance


Quote:
Originally Posted by harley75 View Post
I got a digital and standered meter.My thermo is a lux T10-1141sa now i put my digital meter on it.Set meter to ac it showed 38.1 on the wires.Not sure if that was the right way or not.
Not voltage Amprage. Can your meter clamp around a wire?
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 02:33 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

heil 5000 furance


no mine is a multimeter not the clamp kind
harley75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 02:38 PM   #6
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

heil 5000 furance


The .5 is just a guess unless you can check it. Again are you sure it is short cycling on the stat? Is this a new stat or a new problem with a old stat.
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 02:50 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

heil 5000 furance


it's a new stat didn't seem to run long to heat house then shut off a few seconds later back on/off/on /off a few seconds in between
harley75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 03:00 PM   #8
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

heil 5000 furance


I would start with .5 to .7 setting the higher the number the longer the run cycle
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 03:30 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

heil 5000 furance


I found the tag it was hiding it is 3.5-4.5
harley75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 04:29 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

heil 5000 furance


i found a some info i don't know how true it is but is says if you valve calls for 3.5-4.5 set it at 4 one more then it draws at 3.5 to run it longer and keep it off longer.
harley75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 07:44 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

heil 5000 furance


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnH1 View Post
I would start with .5 to .7 setting the higher the number the longer the run cycle
My question is now the furance say 3.5-4.5 on the sticker the tag on the gas valve says 3.5-.4 and the ignitor is a honeywell 24v.So do i go by the valve tag only
harley75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 07:50 AM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,545
Rewards Points: 4,728
Default

heil 5000 furance


Your not drawing that kind of amperage on the thermostat.
Don't know what tag your reading, but its not the right one.

Even a Taco power head, only draws 1.2 amps.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 01:11 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

heil 5000 furance


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Your not drawing that kind of amperage on the thermostat.
Don't know what tag your reading, but its not the right one.

Even a Taco power head, only draws 1.2 amps.
the gas valve says on it 3.5-.4
harley75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 02:19 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

heil 5000 furance


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Your not drawing that kind of amperage on the thermostat.
Don't know what tag your reading, but its not the right one.

Even a Taco power head, only draws 1.2 amps.
can a DC ammeter hand held kind be use one the two wires on the thermo i seen that somewhere but i forget what i was reading.But if so it reads 75ma

Last edited by harley75; 01-16-2009 at 02:25 PM. Reason: forgot
harley75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 04:11 PM   #15
Member
 
Dr Heat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern Central IL
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 75
Default

heil 5000 furance


.8 you will find the number on the back side of the valve you will need a mirror. its a black ink stamp

Advertisement

Dr Heat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HEIL 5000 HVAC troubleshooting tidejunky HVAC 15 03-02-2008 05:19 PM
Heil 5000 AC robtspcr HVAC 1 02-10-2008 04:04 PM
Heil High Efficiency 5000 boman47k HVAC 5 12-14-2007 02:05 PM
The Heil 5000 Air Conditioner circlecity4u HVAC 1 05-03-2006 10:54 PM
HEIL 5000 Furnace Problem moore70 HVAC 5 03-26-2006 08:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts