Height From Ground For Fresh Air Intake - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2013, 02:15 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 99
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Height from ground for Fresh Air Intake


I need to install a fresh air intake to the basement, and wondering what sort of clearance I should have from the ground. I've got a bit over 2 feet between ground level and the subfloor. I'm in Minnesota, so I ask because of the potential for snow to block the intake.

Advertisement

dvaupel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 06:14 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,415
Rewards Points: 4,482
Default

Height from ground for Fresh Air Intake


12" above normal snow fall accumulation level.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 08:12 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 99
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Height from ground for Fresh Air Intake


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
12" above normal snow fall accumulation level.
So do I then need to put a gooseneck in my line? To do 12" above snow level on a straight shot I would have to run it through one of the exterior walls of a bedroom....
dvaupel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 07:45 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,415
Rewards Points: 4,482
Default

Height from ground for Fresh Air Intake


Goose neck it.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 09:16 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 99
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Height from ground for Fresh Air Intake


Forgot to ask this one earlier....what diameter of pipe do I need for this? It's a 105K boiler and a 30K water heater in an open 900 sqft basement. I'm actually puzzled by the need for the air supply, but the guy who's servicing our water heater (under warranty) won't do the work until after one is installed.
dvaupel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 07:24 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,415
Rewards Points: 4,482
Default

Height from ground for Fresh Air Intake


By code, 68 sq inches of cross section. 9" round. Many contactors just run a single 6".

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subpanel - equipment ground feed wire not terminated peaks Electrical 2 12-27-2012 05:37 PM
How does grounding work? scyarch Electrical 44 06-12-2012 05:59 PM
Fried electronics after earth ground accidentally disconnected oukachiru Electrical 7 07-12-2011 04:05 PM
Wiring an outlet using both ground screws instead of pig-tailing together. cabber24 Electrical 5 08-26-2010 09:40 AM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts