Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-03-2012, 08:13 PM   #1
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Share |
Default

Heavy Compressor


http://www.complift.com/residential.html


Does anybody know how much is this residential lift?

How you guys doing to replace a heavy compressor?
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 08:48 PM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,313
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Heavy Compressor


pick it up and put it in is what I do. Or i remove the coil (not a great option)
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 09:06 PM   #3
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Heavy Compressor


5T unit????? I wanna see this....... It's hard even for 2 guys

Replaced 3 compressors this week......
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 10:33 PM   #4
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,313
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Heavy Compressor


You want hard... try 15 ton compressors by yourself. It can be done.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 10:41 PM   #5
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Heavy Compressor


Let me know your technique. Today I replaced a compressor in a 5T Trane . The compressor is very heavy in addition the condenser is tall.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 10:55 PM   #6
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,313
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Heavy Compressor


Hard work... continuous lifting and working.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 04:51 AM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,435
Default

Heavy Compressor


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
Let me know your technique. Today I replaced a compressor in a 5T Trane . The compressor is very heavy in addition the condenser is tall.
Heck, I can't even reach some of the compressors in higher efficiency Trane condensers without a ladder.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:50 AM   #8
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,792
Default

Heavy Compressor


Ive never changed a compressoron a residential unit,thats what they new condensors for!
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 07:33 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Heavy Compressor


We have a bar with a steel stub to hook the loop on top of the compressor. It comes in handy for the tall ones but I prefer to stick the handle of a channel locks through the loop. Either way you're lifting with one arm,even the 5 toners, so eat your spinach.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 09:34 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 172
Default

Heavy Compressor


plummen,
you have to change them out if there under warrenty.
I had a unit that had a leak in the condenser coil which was a micr channel type. freon leaked out and unit was still running and took out the compressor.
supply house gave me a new compressor and a new condenser instead of a new unit. unit was 2 years old. i would have loved to swich out the cond.
hvac instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:31 PM   #11
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,792
Default

Heavy Compressor


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvac instructor View Post
plummen,
you have to change them out if there under warrenty.
I had a unit that had a leak in the condenser coil which was a micr channel type. freon leaked out and unit was still running and took out the compressor.
supply house gave me a new compressor and a new condenser instead of a new unit. unit was 2 years old. i would have loved to swich out the cond.
Only unit I ever had go out under warranty was one I bought from briggs back in 2004,they gave me a whole new condensor to replace it with.
other wise Ive had really good luck with equipment Ive installed over the years including ducane /goodman mostly in last 20 years,but I have started selling some 13 seer ruud and weather king condensors and coils in the last year that seem to be pretty decently built
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 phase 230/460 air compressor install questions DinAZ Electrical 7 10-21-2011 10:28 PM
Do I really need a new compressor, or am I about to be ripped off? mrgadfly HVAC 8 07-02-2011 05:01 PM
Help assembling compressor jfhspike Tools 5 03-27-2011 10:07 AM
Air compressor and framing nailer for DIY ADKstorm Tools 20 11-11-2010 07:38 AM
New Compressor - Wrong Charge? shayneb HVAC 4 08-23-2008 08:13 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.