Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2009, 10:03 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

heating ducts


After reading some articles, I have discovered why my small bedroom (15x10) is so cold, when the rest of the house is comfortable. The supply is not only against an interior wall and not against the exterior wall by the window 15 feet away, but is directly under the cold air return. As obvious as this is now, it didn't occur to me when purchasing the home from the builder in August. I think I can access the supply from the garage and run a new supply to the exterior wall by the window. Is this something I can do myself?

Retirement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 11:38 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 187
Rewards Points: 150
Default

heating ducts


Without more details and knowledge of your abilities no one could really say.
Is this a new house? If so do you have any recourse against the builder? Or is it something the inspector should have caught?

Gary

Gary_602z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 12:19 PM   #3
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

heating ducts


if you have access you should be able to relocate this with no problems.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 12:33 PM   #4
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

heating ducts


Not a prob as long as there are no fixtures in the way.

Put the new register under the window. Register should be a 10x6 or 10x8.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 02:48 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

heating ducts


Thanks for the replys. Good point about the building inspector, who was let go in October...go figure. Gonna try to cut in this weekend.
Retirement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 04:14 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 83
Rewards Points: 75
Default

heating ducts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Mariani View Post
if you have access you should be able to relocate this with no problems.
Well - you'll probably cut your hands at least 37 times. Not sure if that count's as "no problems" or not.

Sheetmetal is tough on your hands.
Garasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 04:24 PM   #7
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

heating ducts


There is always flex duct.

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
re-sizing heating ducts david belletsky HVAC 1 10-04-2007 06:12 PM
Rehab Mess- Ducts Knocking-Furnace Vibrating drmark7 HVAC 7 03-18-2007 04:34 PM
Soffits for Heating ducts handyflyer Remodeling 5 02-06-2007 05:07 PM
How far should insulation be from heating ducts... AllGoNoShow Remodeling 4 11-09-2006 05:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.