Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2008, 09:02 PM   #1
DIY Expert in Training!
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warminster, PA
Posts: 297
Share |
Default

Heater out..PLEASE HELP ASAP???


I did some work in my laundry room today and it required shutting off the furnace. This evening I noticed the vents were blowing cold air. I checked the furnace and it was flashing 5x. The cover says that means "Roll out open". It's York...about 14 years old.

What do I do?

gone_fishing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 09:06 PM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,625
Default

Heater out..PLEASE HELP ASAP???


might be a manuall reset on the roll out switch itself or shut off power to the furnace and repower it to reset the fault

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 03:11 PM   #3
DIY Expert in Training!
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warminster, PA
Posts: 297
Default

Heater out..PLEASE HELP ASAP???


Ok...I had been pushing the reset buttons...realized there was a 3rd reset. Hit it and boom...it's working.

Do I need to worry about fire?
gone_fishing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 07:38 PM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,625
Default

Heater out..PLEASE HELP ASAP???


not if there is nothing that can burn laying around the furnace.the ROLLOUT switch did its job when the burner comes uo to catch the header for the burner section a little roll on the flame will kick it out.the other roll out situation would be when the burner lites off and te heat-x starts to heat the fan coming on if you see any change on the burner fame(as if you blew on it) that is something to get checked if that trips the rollout at any time call for a inspection of the heat exchanger...serious stuff.if you never trip again no swet...was that the first time you reset it?

Last edited by biggles; 02-03-2008 at 08:09 PM.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 09:15 PM   #5
DIY Expert in Training!
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warminster, PA
Posts: 297
Default

Heater out..PLEASE HELP ASAP???


I thought I was resetting the switch. There are two switches on each side of the burners. When I reset the switch on the top right of the burners it started working.
gone_fishing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water heater problem bear1957 Plumbing 23 11-01-2007 03:53 PM
Chimney Liner for Water Heater mruggeri001 HVAC 6 01-10-2007 06:08 AM
Wiring electric heater in bathroom PatSea Electrical 5 01-06-2007 09:40 PM
Baseboard heater Help! jweinstock Electrical 6 10-28-2006 04:01 PM
Periodic release from (I think) the T&P valve on the water heater alexz Plumbing 3 08-15-2006 10:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.