Heat Won't Stop Running, Just Installed New Thermostat - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2012, 08:16 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,155
Rewards Points: 648
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


so your problem is resolved?

Advertisement

digitalplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 08:22 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


The heat pump itself is outside and has an Amana Distinctions label on it....

My stat install manual also instructs: If you have a B and O wire, do not connect the B wire (trane heat pump) connect B to C

I do have a B and O...But its not a trane heat pump


Nope not fixed yet BTW....heat is still running...stat is reading 75F but is set to 70F
NorthSidePK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 08:41 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


I looked on the outside heat pump, it is model no

GSH130241AC
NorthSidePK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 08:58 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


This is just ridiculous....

After changing the jumpers the heat was still running.....

So I turned the a/c on and it wouldn't get cold!!!!


So I changed the jumpers back now the a/c is cooling the place down...

but it still is not fixed
NorthSidePK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:03 PM   #20
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,365
Rewards Points: 1,094
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


put the old stat back on........call a pro. or get a better thermostat.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:07 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


I hear ya.....I was just looking at the manual for the heat pump...it had a picture of the circuit board for the heat pump...

It doesn't even have a B wire terminal on the circuit board!!!

How do I have a B wire?!??!?!

In the manual it clearly stated that the O wire is used to switch over to heat and the R/G/Y wire to cool....there is no B wire......

Something's fishy......
NorthSidePK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:13 PM   #22
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,365
Rewards Points: 1,094
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


Do you have a zoning system? Some used to use both O and B terminals. What model was the old thermostat? You can also check the colors/terminals in the air handler and at the heat pump to verify what color goes to which terminal.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:25 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


I have no idea what a zoning system is....Im just glad its finally cooling down in here.......

How would I find out if I have a zoning system?

the old stat is made by GE...it has a sticker inside that reads "janitrol" HPT 18-60


Huh..I'm looking at the old stat and it appears the B labeled wire went to a terminal labeled E......

On the new stat I connected the B labeled wire to the B terminal, cause it has no E terminal....
NorthSidePK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:39 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


I think I got it....what is labeled B was connected to E

E is the emergency heat

So whenever I turned the normal heat on it was turning the emergency heat on

cause Wire B (the emergency heat wire) was connected to

terminal B (which is the valve switch terminal)

and all this had nothing to do with the jumpers...
NorthSidePK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:42 PM   #25
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,365
Rewards Points: 1,094
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


no, I think it did to an extent.... You didn't have it setup for hp to begin with.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:45 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


So I just attempted to "correct" the jumpers so that it is set for a heat pump

The system worked fine until I put jumper 6 on...then the a/c got warm

So i'm back to jumper 4,5, & 7 on and I taped off the wire labeled B

and now it seems my problem is solved!!
NorthSidePK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 11:12 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


whew....
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 07:54 AM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


So after a good nights rest it seems the issue is resolved. The heat pump and thermostat worked as designed all night.
NorthSidePK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 11:05 AM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 210
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


Here's the diff's: Fossil-fuel heat only requires a signal to be sent on the heat line, the fan is controlled at the furnace once the burner gets hot enough, it will come on. Electric heat requires a signal on both the heat line, and on the fan lines. The fan starts up at the same time that the heating coils are turned on (fan is not controlled by furnace, but by the thermostat). When in air conditioning mode, a signal is applied to the cooling line, and to the fan as well.

Heat pumps, above electric heating require additional lines for multiple stages and other components, and are completely different. In cooling, a signal is applied to the compressor line just as it is in a regular air conditioner...this starts the compressor outside, but there is also a signal sent to the reversing valve to place the heat pump in cooling mode. (this is a BIG difference in the wiring scheme of a heat pump over a regular furnace/air conditioner system where obviously no reversing valve) When in heating mode, a signal is NOT sent to the reversing valve (most heat pumps, default for the reversing valve is in heating mode, but I think Rheem/RUUD is the opposite and apply power to reversing valve to heat...this may be your issue!) but still applied to the compressor. If additional heating is needed, a second signal is sent to the auxiliary heating line that turns on heat strips. If you have a dual-fuel system which uses a fossil fuel furnace as backup, the signal to the compressor will be dropped when auxiliary heating is activated (with electric auxiliary heat, the compressor runs in conjunction with heat strips). Heat pumps also have a "defrost" circuit inside the outdoor compressor. When The controller for the defrost activates, it applies power to the reversing valve placing the system into air conditioning mode (to warm up the outdoor coil) It also applies power to a defrost line that goes back to the thermostat. This makes an indicator light glow on the thermostat showing that the system is defrosting. The thermostat then jumpers this signal over to the aux heat line so that the heat strips are activated to warm the air back up. If your system keeps running and running, check and make sure you correctly connected your auxilary heating circuit. If you heat pump cannot keep up with the heating load, it will need aux heating, and if it isn't working then it will continue to run in only the first stage attempting to meet the heating load

When installing the thermostat, it is important to set up the configuration for the style system you have. Based on this information, These settings determine which components in your system are activated for what is needed. Some of the more inexpensive thermostats use jumpers for these settings. Chances are, you have the most common settings between heat pump and electric heat, fossil fuel, and electric heat. If you have a heat pump with electric backup, make sure BOTH the jumpers / switches for electric heat and heat pump are ON. If you have fossil fuel backup, you want the electric heat OFF. Check your wiring too, you may have crossed up some of the connections to the wiring to the individual components.

Do you have an emergency heat mode in your thermostat? If so, all it probably does is place a signal on the auxiliary heating mode line, and then turns OFF the signal to the compressor. If you have a fossil fuel furnace, it will also drop the fan on signal as well, so your system operates exactly like an ordinary thermostat, and not a heat pump

Advertisement


Last edited by av-geek; 11-01-2012 at 11:11 AM.
av-geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodman Electric Heat Continously Running jrice41159 HVAC 3 11-27-2011 07:56 PM
Replacing thermostat, no heat (heat pump, 2 stage heat, 1 stage cool) BrianJM HVAC 20 09-28-2011 10:53 AM
How to stop auxillary heat from coming on defrost cycle and limit auxillary heat use? twilightcall HVAC 34 12-28-2010 07:53 PM
Heat Pump Thermostat HELP!!! MichaelG HVAC 22 12-09-2010 05:50 PM
Installed new thermostat, killing fuses when switching to heat carsnrockmusic HVAC 8 11-03-2010 09:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts