Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-29-2012, 06:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Share |
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


So this is prolly my bad...But here's the situation.

I just installed a new programable thermostat (model 3M-25)

I followed the instructions pretty well but the provided wiring diagrams did not match my wires exactly.

I had a wire labeled R2, but no Rc or Rh.

Anyhow after poking around 3M's website I saw that R is a hot wire for the heat so I hooked it up to the Rh on the thermostat and the a/c has worked just fine.

But now its getting cold, so I turn on the heat.

I have the heat programmed at 70F.

So it gets cold and the heat cuts on at the correct temp.....

But it just stays on...until I manually turn it off...

I mean it was 79F when I got home today.....

Anyhow I could use some help..

NorthSidePK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:22 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lansing,MI
Posts: 169
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


What are the other wires hooked to, and what type of equipment.Usually W=white G=green Y=yellow/blue R or RH & RC =red

HVACTECH96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:34 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


I have C,B,O,W2,Y,RH & G connected on the new thermostat

The old thermostat had C,B,O,W2,R,& G connected

I hooked the wired labeled R on the old to the RH on the new

The new has W,Y2, & RC empty and unconnected

The heater is electric and has Goodman model A24-08 marked on it


Thanks for the help BTW
NorthSidePK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:37 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


O is orange
G is green
C is white
W2 is White
R is red
Y is yellow
B is black
NorthSidePK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:40 PM   #5
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


Sounds like you have a heat pump. Did you setup the stat for that? Did you use the HP terminal designations?
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:42 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lansing,MI
Posts: 169
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


is this air to air heat pump
HVACTECH96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:43 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


I have the jumpers set for elec heat.....I guess I could change it to the heat pump setting to see if it helps...

Whats the difference between a heat pump and an elec heater? if you dont mind me asking??
NorthSidePK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:46 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lansing,MI
Posts: 169
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


heat pump uses freon ran in reverse direction and electric is usually strip heaters in an air handler.
HVACTECH96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:51 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


So my jumpers go like this:

1-on=24hr clock <-----I have no jumper on 1
1-off=12hr clock

2-on=Celsius disp. <----I have no jumper on 2
2-off=Fahrenheit Disp.

3-on=Gas/oil Heat <----I have no jumper on 3
3-off=no fan

4-on=elec heat <----I have no jumper on 4 ( i just took it off)
4-off=no fan

5-on=heat pump <----I have a jumper on 5 (I just put it on)
5-off=normal

6-on=HP-AUX Only <-----I have no jumper on 6
6-off= normal

7-on=RC-RH connected <-----I have a jumper on 7 (should I??)
7-off=RC-RH separate

8-on=gas/oil HP AUX <--------I have no jumper on 8
8-off= elect HP-AUX


Does this sound correct?
NorthSidePK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:54 PM   #10
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


need the jumper on 4.........
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:55 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


ok, so I have a jumper on 4,5 and 7 now.....
NorthSidePK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:58 PM   #12
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


not sure if 6 should have one or not I would have to look up your stat install instructions.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 07:08 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


The wiring diagram that is closest to mine in the stat install manual is a 5-wire heat pump with aux heat.

the diagram shows C,W2,Y,RH,G and B or O for a total of 6 wires...

I have 7 wires, cause I have a B and an O....

Either way it sounds like I should jumper 6...right?
NorthSidePK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 07:08 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,061
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


post model number of units so folks can tell you what you have
digitalplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 07:13 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Heat won't stop running, just installed new thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalplumber View Post
post model number of units so folks can tell you what you have
Model numbers ar 3M-25 on the thermostat

and

goodman a24-08 on what I thought was an elec heater...but is actually a heat pump..

NorthSidePK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodman Electric Heat Continously Running jrice41159 HVAC 3 11-27-2011 06:56 PM
Replacing thermostat, no heat (heat pump, 2 stage heat, 1 stage cool) BrianJM HVAC 20 09-28-2011 09:53 AM
How to stop auxillary heat from coming on defrost cycle and limit auxillary heat use? twilightcall HVAC 34 12-28-2010 06:53 PM
Heat Pump Thermostat HELP!!! MichaelG HVAC 22 12-09-2010 04:50 PM
Installed new thermostat, killing fuses when switching to heat carsnrockmusic HVAC 8 11-03-2010 08:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.