Heat Tripping Breaker - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2010, 04:10 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Heat tripping breaker


My A/C runs fine. Problem is with heat. On a cold night if I crank up the thermostat the breaker will trip. If I reset and only raise the thermosat a couple of degrees no problem. Than when I reach the set temp i again raise another couple of degrees. No problem. Only trips when I raise the temp say 6 OR 8 DEGREES AT A TIME. lOOKS LIKE THE AIR HANDLER IS ON A DOUBLE POLE 30 AMP BREAKER AND THE OUTSIDE UNIT IS ON A DOUBLE POLE 20 AMP BREAKER IF THIS HELPS.

tHANKS.

Advertisement

drjay9051 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 05:03 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,112
Rewards Points: 862
Default

Heat tripping breaker


Is it a heat pump? Post the brand name and model and serial #. If it has extra electric strip heaters in the ductwork one may be shorted and causing the problem. They cut in when the temp has dropped or the heat pump cannot keep up.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 05:42 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Heat tripping breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Is it a heat pump? Post the brand name and model and serial #. If it has extra electric strip heaters in the ductwork one may be shorted and causing the problem. They cut in when the temp has dropped or the heat pump cannot keep up.
Yuri:
Appreciate the reply. Unit is made by Goodman manufacturing Houston, TX. Only three years old. Unit inside house says heatpump/ac unit. Model number is ARUF182416AA Serial Number is 0607203217.

Where are these heat strips located? Can I fix myself or do I call an HVAC professional. Never heard of Goodman. If I had put in unit would have gone with a better know name but it was installed just before I bought house. Had home inspection done but not sure if inspector checked heat as inspection was done in May.

Thanks again

Jay
drjay9051 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 05:59 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Heat tripping breaker


Check the kW rating of that air handler/strip heat. A 30 Amp breaker would be good for 5 kW or so. Many units have 10 kW strip heaters, which would blow a 30 Amp breaker in short order.

So the question now is this: Does the breaker trip immediately, or take a few minutes after you bump up the heat setting by more than a few degrees?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 06:00 PM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,112
Rewards Points: 862
Default

Heat tripping breaker


You should get a Pro to do it. Those strips use 240 volts and if shorted one slip can kill you. May have 5 yr warranty on parts but 1 yr on labor. Goodman is a very large company. Got a lot better recently when they joined with Amana. VERY popular with new home builders due to reasonably priced equipment. Not hard to get parts for.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 06:11 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Heat tripping breaker


Thanks, Yuri. The breaker takes a couple of minutes to trip. I see no KW rating on unit. There is a plate which indicates minimum amperage if "auxillary heat kit" is installed however none of the listed aux. heat units are checked on the plate. Ill look up the model on Goodman site. I hope its a short in the strip and not too small a braeker as this would be quite expensive to rerun a circuit I imagine. Yuri, when HVAC pro did the original wiring hookup wouldnt they assure the breaker was of adequate size??
drjay9051 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 06:49 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,112
Rewards Points: 862
Default

Heat tripping breaker


You would hope so. Possible that no permit was taken out or inspection done. Another reason to get a Pro to check it out properly.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 08:44 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,531
Rewards Points: 4,700
Default

Heat tripping breaker


The model number of the air handler won't tell you what strip kit is in it.

Need to look to know.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 09:58 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Heat tripping breaker


Where is the strip kit located??????????????
drjay9051 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 10:00 AM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,531
Rewards Points: 4,700
Default

Heat tripping breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by drjay9051 View Post
Where is the strip kit located??????????????

Inside the blower compartment.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 11:05 PM   #11
mechanic by trade
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat tripping breaker


I have the exact same unit with two heat strips and it is on a 30 amp breaker but the heat strips are coming on in cool mode. If I disconnect them it cools fine. What would cause this?
Shadetree99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 11:18 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,531
Rewards Points: 4,700
Default

Heat tripping breaker


Short in thermostat or thermostat wires. Or a bad sequencer.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 07:56 PM   #13
mechanic by trade
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat tripping breaker


I tried disconnecting the wire from the thermostat to the heat control and no change. Is the sequencer the small circuit board? Do you think it could still be the thermostat?
Shadetree99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 08:17 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,531
Rewards Points: 4,700
Default

Heat tripping breaker


If you disconnected the wires from the stat and it still did it. Then it can't be the stat.

Post pic of inside of units control panel.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 05:34 PM   #15
mechanic by trade
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat tripping breaker


Sorry for the delay. I have since replaced the thermostat. Heat strips are still receiving current in cool mode. Do you think it circuit board or transformer in the pic causing the issue?
Attached Images
 

Advertisement

Shadetree99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Electric furnace tripping breaker chrishosley HVAC 31 02-26-2013 07:35 PM
Heatpump vs Natural Gas - Energy Cost Spreadsheet zootjeff HVAC 8 11-19-2011 11:45 PM
How to stop auxillary heat from coming on defrost cycle and limit auxillary heat use? twilightcall HVAC 34 12-28-2010 07:53 PM
HW tank breaker tripping arichard21 Electrical 6 10-31-2007 05:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts