Heat Pump Tstat Install - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2012, 04:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

heat pump tstat install


I'm trying to switch my old trane stat to a new honeywell stat. i think I've got it figured out but i don't know where to put the 't' wire in the new stat. i believe it controls the thermistor. please help.

old stat: new stat:
red-r c-blue
tan-t
orange-o o/b-orange
green-g g-green
yellow-y y-yellow
white-x2 to u e-white
blue-b c-blue
l-open
aux=open

Advertisement

belanger44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 04:53 PM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,364
Rewards Points: 1,092
Blog Entries: 1
Default

heat pump tstat install


aux needs jumpered to E. Tan is taped off and not used.

Advertisement

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 04:58 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

heat pump tstat install


why is 't' tape off. it is connected in the condenser outside.
belanger44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 05:01 PM   #4
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,364
Rewards Points: 1,092
Blog Entries: 1
Default

heat pump tstat install


the honeywell thermostat does not use it.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 05:03 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

heat pump tstat install


will it effect the heat pump in any way? performance?
belanger44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 05:04 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

heat pump tstat install


does the 't' wire control the thermistor?
belanger44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 05:07 PM   #7
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,364
Rewards Points: 1,092
Blog Entries: 1
Default

heat pump tstat install


T sent a signal to the old t-stat for temp. It is not necessary for the new thermostat. It really doesn't matter what it did. It was only for proprietary thermostats from trane.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 05:19 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

heat pump tstat install


thank you for our help
belanger44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 07:08 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: MD
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

heat pump tstat install


the t terminal is only required for that trane tstat. it was used for the heat anticipator. that stat needed the t input. the honeywell does not.

Advertisement

turnermech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What did I do? Heat Pump isn't working ChrisDIY HVAC 10 03-14-2011 04:55 PM
How to stop auxillary heat from coming on defrost cycle and limit auxillary heat use? twilightcall HVAC 34 12-28-2010 07:53 PM
Heat Pump vs Aux Electric Heat batolson HVAC 16 01-17-2009 11:28 AM
Testing FuelMaster 21 Module? Heat Pump no Run. thehotrod11 HVAC 3 12-29-2007 03:11 PM
Trane Heat Pump tstat replacement with Honeywell prog - wiring question sep23 HVAC 2 10-20-2006 10:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts