Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-07-2010, 07:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Heat Pump Thermostat HELP!!!


**********UPDATED***************

I recently replaced my Heat pumps thermostat and it doesn't seem to be calling for auxilliary heat at all. My house will not get above 55 degrees.

All electric setup here.

My wires and how they are suggested to hook up to the thermostat per the heat pump manual are as follows -

R - Red - 24v
G - Green - Fan
O - Orange - Heat 1st
w1- Brown - Heat 2nd
w2- White - Heat 3rd
Y - Yellow - Cool
C - Blue - Common

The new thermostat is a Hunter 44272

I understand everything but I am unsure about the W1 Brown wire.. I was told the White wire is the Aux heat but not sure about the W2 & W1 wires... on the old thermostat, the Brown was connected to E terminal.

I was suspect the thermostat went bad so I am changing it out. To me, the heat pump seems to be working fine when I inspected it - It just cant keep up with the 20 degree cold snap on it's own. For some reason my aux heat strips are not kicking in and I need to figure out why... Is it my wiring to the thermostat??

I now have it hooked up like this -

R - 24v
y - compressor contact
G - Fan relay
O - Cool relay / valve
W2 - Aux heat
C - Common

Brown - unhooked.


Last edited by MichaelG; 12-08-2010 at 08:32 AM. Reason: new
MichaelG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 08:03 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat Pump Thermostat HELP!!!


I wonder if there is something blown and the aux can't kick on because of that.?.?

MichaelG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 08:05 PM   #3
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Heat Pump Thermostat HELP!!!


try w1 with white and w2 with brown. depending on your air handler in may need a call for heat on white before brown in order to fire up, or you may have a problem with your backup heat and it may not be stat at all
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 08:34 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,056
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat Pump Thermostat HELP!!!


Was the aux heat working with your old thermostat?
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 08:56 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 117
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat Pump Thermostat HELP!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelG
I recently replaced my Heat pumps thermostat and it doesn't seem to be calling for auxilliary heat at all. My house will not get above 55 degrees.

All electric setup here.

My wires and how they are suggested to hook up to the thermostat per the heat pump manual are as follows -

R - Red - 24v
G - Green - Fan
O - Orange - Heat 1st
w1- Brown - Heat 2nd
w2- White - Heat 3rd
Y - Yellow - Cool
C - Blue - Common

The new thermostat is a Hunter 44272

I understand everything but I am unsure about the W1 Brown wire.. I was told the White wire is the Aux heat but not sure about the W2 & W1 wires... on the old thermostat, the Brown was connected to E terminal.

I was suspect the thermostat went bad so I am changing it out. To me, the heat pump seems to be working fine when I inspected it - It just cant keep up with the 20 degree cold snap on it's own. For some reason my aux heat strips are not kicking in and I need to figure out why... Is it my wiring to the thermostat??

I now have it hooked up like this -

R - 24v
y - compressor contact
G - Fan relay
O - Cool relay / valve
W2 - Aux heat
C - Common

Brown - unhooked.
Jump w1 and w2 at stat go to furnace and remove brown wire jump w2 and e at furnace or aux if different at furnace send a reply
Hixheat1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 09:21 PM   #6
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Heat Pump Thermostat HELP!!!


why would you do that hix? You are taking away a stage of heating. for comfort and energy conservation you would want them to be staged!

also you could be masking a problem of one of the banks of heat being inoperative.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 03:45 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat Pump Thermostat HELP!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Was the aux heat working with your old thermostat?
Either one or both banks seemed to have stopped working...The system would be running non stop and the house would only be around 62 degrees. I was told that my old Janitrol mercury stat might have crapped out and to replace it first to see if that was the issue. That is where I am at now.
MichaelG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 04:19 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat Pump Thermostat HELP!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
try w1 with white and w2 with brown. depending on your air handler in may need a call for heat on white before brown in order to fire up, or you may have a problem with your backup heat and it may not be stat at all
Just tried this and it doesn't seem to do anything. I have attached pictures so you can see what I am looking at. On the new stat it does not show w1 or w2 as an option for heat pump hook up. It does however have it listed on the side for conventional.... Please see the attached images for more clarification.


OLD STAT


HEAT PUMP MANUAL


NEW STAT


NEW STAT MANUAL



Btw - someone should develop a wiring harness that is used throughout the HVAC industry that would be a standard quick disconnect. Someone please get all the controls and equipment manufacturers together and come to an agreement!!!! Problems like mine seem all to common on many levels within the wiring department for all different spectrums of the HVAC industry.....


Thanks for your help! If I can't get this figured out in the next few hours - I will be calling a service tech. It is a balmy 50 degrees in the house now...
MichaelG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 04:21 AM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,056
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat Pump Thermostat HELP!!!


Ok. So this is not an issue of just a miswired thermostat then.

You probably have a bad sequencer in your air handler, and that is why the aux heat isn't working. Or, it could be that one or both of the strip heaters are broke.

Do you have a multimeter.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 04:23 AM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,056
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat Pump Thermostat HELP!!!


Not all heating systems work the same to use a standard harness.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 05:04 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat Pump Thermostat HELP!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Ok. So this is not an issue of just a miswired thermostat then.

You probably have a bad sequencer in your air handler, and that is why the aux heat isn't working. Or, it could be that one or both of the strip heaters are broke.

Do you have a multimeter.
Yes I have a multimeter.
MichaelG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 05:07 AM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,056
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat Pump Thermostat HELP!!!


Turn power off to air handler. And check if the heaters have an ohm readings. of roughly 12 ohms.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 07:20 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat Pump Thermostat HELP!!!


Funny - I am having a hard time locating the heat strips. Having never fooled around with HVAC before - Is there somewhere else I should look other than inside the unit? I have looked at the duct work as well to check for an inline duct heater and couldn't find anything. Starting to think this POS system doesn't have a secondary element.... I am calling a tech.
MichaelG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 08:20 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat Pump Thermostat HELP!!!


Okay - I found the heating element. It was on the side of the unit in an access panel I didn't bother to remove. It's attached to the side of the house fan. Looks like a mouse or two got in there and might of made a connection inside the heater kit. Could it of blown something here? What are these black things?



MichaelG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 08:29 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat Pump Thermostat HELP!!!


Are those transformers? Can I just swap it out?

MichaelG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hunter Thermostat Model 44860 Heat Pump Emergency Heat Does Not Work On Auto stvnhdmpa HVAC 8 12-08-2010 05:44 PM
Setting heat pump with oil back up thermostat sandy_d HVAC 0 11-06-2010 07:53 AM
Heat Pump thermostat wiring max2k HVAC 5 10-12-2010 03:42 PM
Heat pump thermostat emergency switch joe913 HVAC 2 12-10-2009 12:54 PM
Testing FuelMaster 21 Module? Heat Pump no Run. thehotrod11 HVAC 3 12-29-2007 02:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.