Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2011, 07:39 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Heat pump starts initially but will not come back on to maintain temps


Quote:
Originally Posted by jfrotten View Post
where did you measure this voltage? The red wire?
No, i measured at the Y terminal which has a yellow wire connected.

The red wire was measured yesterday and it has a constant 24V to it.

johnniebravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 08:53 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat pump starts initially but will not come back on to maintain temps


Okay, so I've been posting from my phone. I just got home and logged in from my computer. I looked up your thermostat model and it looks like in order to adjust the installer settings you're going to need a carrier technician. I didn't realize that you had a freakin computer running your system. I can't find instructions for how to enter the installer set up mode. I'm thinking that your heat pump is set to run as the aux in heat mode. When the temp in the house is 2 or more degrees below the target, the primary AND aux heat kick in. Once your temp is within 2 degrees of the target, the aux kicks off and the primary cycles on and off to maintain the temp. I think that your heat pump is set as aux heat and whatever is set as your primary is not morking. That would explain why your heat pump will run when you first turn your heat on after its been off for a while And why your heat pump would not run when the thermostat is maintaining temp. Next time you get ready to turn your heat on after it's been off for a while, turn it on like you normally do. Make sure the heat pump has kicked on. Then, turn the temperature setting to only 1 degree less than whatever the temp in the house is. I bet the heat pump kicks off. The opposite should also be true. After your heat has run and got you up to temp the first time, when it kicks on the second time and the heat pump is not running but the fan is, try turning the temperature setting way up( like 5 degrees hotter than it is in the house). I bet the heat pump kicks on then. This would indicate that the heat pump is either wired or set as the aux instead of the primary for your heat. I hope I didn't get too confusing with all of that.
jfrotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 09:51 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat pump starts initially but will not come back on to maintain temps


It can't run the heat pump in heating and the gas furnace at the same time or the heat pump will trip the high pressure switch.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 10:16 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat pump starts initially but will not come back on to maintain temps


I don't think its gas..
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 05:35 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat pump starts initially but will not come back on to maintain temps


Quote:
Originally Posted by jfrotten View Post
Okay, so I've been posting from my phone. I just got home and logged in from my computer. I looked up your thermostat model and it looks like in order to adjust the installer settings you're going to need a carrier technician. I didn't realize that you had a freakin computer running your system. I can't find instructions for how to enter the installer set up mode. I'm thinking that your heat pump is set to run as the aux in heat mode. When the temp in the house is 2 or more degrees below the target, the primary AND aux heat kick in. Once your temp is within 2 degrees of the target, the aux kicks off and the primary cycles on and off to maintain the temp. I think that your heat pump is set as aux heat and whatever is set as your primary is not morking. That would explain why your heat pump will run when you first turn your heat on after its been off for a while And why your heat pump would not run when the thermostat is maintaining temp. Next time you get ready to turn your heat on after it's been off for a while, turn it on like you normally do. Make sure the heat pump has kicked on. Then, turn the temperature setting to only 1 degree less than whatever the temp in the house is. I bet the heat pump kicks off. The opposite should also be true. After your heat has run and got you up to temp the first time, when it kicks on the second time and the heat pump is not running but the fan is, try turning the temperature setting way up( like 5 degrees hotter than it is in the house). I bet the heat pump kicks on then. This would indicate that the heat pump is either wired or set as the aux instead of the primary for your heat. I hope I didn't get too confusing with all of that.

I understand what you are saying, I will test it at my first opportunity.

If I switch to my e-heat setting, the gas furnace does kick in. At the same time, the aux heat icon lights up at the bottom of the thermostat. Wouldn't that indicate that the gas furnace was wired as the aux?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfrotten View Post
After your heat has run and got you up to temp the first time, when it kicks on the second time and the heat pump is not running but the fan is, try turning the temperature setting way up ( like 5 degrees hotter than it is in the house).
Well usually after a long night of cold, the temp showing on the tstat is like 62-65 when the target set for the heat is 72. Are you suggesting to set the target to 77 versus the already set 72 that its already not maintaining? or to just turn the temp up and see if the heat pump responds?

As far as programming for my current tstat, taken from another thread, this link shows how to enter setup mode:
http://www.docs.hvacpartners.com/idc...tstat-23si.pdf


Thanks for the large amount of feedback so far! I greatly appreciate it. I will have to make sure I pay back the advice over in the automotive forum since that is more of my area of expertise.
johnniebravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 06:54 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat pump starts initially but will not come back on to maintain temps


What control is being used to lock out the heat pump during gas furnace operation?
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 07:01 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat pump starts initially but will not come back on to maintain temps


Quote:
Originally Posted by Master of Cold View Post
What control is being used to lock out the heat pump during gas furnace operation?
my thermostat has the option to operate in heat, eheat, cool, and auto modes. If i select heat, the heat pump comes on and aux heat (i.e. gas furnace) used to kick in when needed.

If i use e-heat, its only using the gas furnace. heat pump will not come on.

obviously cool is cool.

I have never operated the system in auto mode.
johnniebravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 07:16 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat pump starts initially but will not come back on to maintain temps


Next time the heat pump wont start check for voltage on the yellow wire, if you have it, check the wire that feeds the contactor. If you don't have voltage there then time for a new board. Im a little suspicious of the 24 volts at the condenser, when you have 27 at the thermostat.
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 08:56 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat pump starts initially but will not come back on to maintain temps


Quote:
Originally Posted by johnniebravo


If I switch to my e-heat setting, the gas furnace does kick in. At the same time, the aux heat icon lights up at the bottom of the thermostat. Wouldn't that indicate that the gas furnace was wired as the aux?

Well usually after a long night of cold, the temp showing on the tstat is like 62-65 when the target set for the heat is 72. Are you suggesting to set the target to 77 versus the already set 72 that its already not maintaining? or to just turn the temp up and see if the heat pump responds?
Just because the gas is your emergency doen't mean that it is also your aux... it should be but that depends on the installer settings in your thermostat. As for the second part, what I meant was when your fan is running but your heat pump isn't, try turning the setting up far enough to trigger the aux heat (usually 3-5 degrees higher than the current temp) to see if the heat pump kicks in.
New idea... follow those instructions you posted the link to and write down all of the settings that are currently set. Don't change anything yet. If everything looks good from there the next thing we'll do is the test that it talks about in step 5. Run through the installer setup and write post what all of the current settings are.
jfrotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 10:55 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat pump starts initially but will not come back on to maintain temps


When the Thermostat is calling for heat and the condenser outside is not running, go outside and get a measurement of AC voltage between the common and Y terminal coming into the board from the thermostat wires from the inside unit. If it is showing 24 volts or higher, its in the outside unit. If its not showing 24 volts then its inside.
Patrick Eubanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 04:16 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat pump starts initially but will not come back on to maintain temps


Quote:
Originally Posted by Master of Cold View Post
Look inside the compressor area. You will have 2 red or pink (the colors fade) that are probably laying on the hot gas line. Examine these wires and see if they have been damaged.
checked the two yellow wires wrapped around the hot line and they are not damaged. No red lines in the compressor area.

Another note, this outside unit is not the original compressor. Most all of the parts in the unit including the fan and compressor are dated mid 2000. House was built between 96-98 and sold in 1998.
johnniebravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 08:56 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat pump starts initially but will not come back on to maintain temps


If this were mine..I would take the yellow wire off of the defrost board, and connect the contactor directly. See what happens.
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 05:09 AM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat pump starts initially but will not come back on to maintain temps


Quote:
Originally Posted by Master of Cold View Post
If this were mine..I would take the yellow wire off of the defrost board, and connect the contactor directly. See what happens.
I don't have the wiring diagram with me at the moment, but is this yellow wire set from the high pressure limit switch?

Could all this be caused by a low charge that only manifests itself in heat mode?
johnniebravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 10:19 AM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat pump starts initially but will not come back on to maintain temps


Sorry..the yellow thermostat wire that attaches to the board..
Low charge could cause the compressor to overheat, and shut down.
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 02:25 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Heat pump starts initially but will not come back on to maintain temps


It sounds as if you have a dual fuel configuration. If so Im betting the outdoor temperature sensor tells the unit when to switch from Heat Pump to furnace. Is this correct? If so then check the wiring for the outdoor temp sensor. If its not shielded cable then that could be your problem. You may also want to change yout outdoor temp sensor I ran into this problem about a year ago on one of my dual fuel units. We had no way to get back to the sensor wire so I ended up installing a honeywell Prestige IAQ thermostat with the wireless outdoor sensor. Problem solved and a happy customer again.

Patrick Eubanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
compressor, heat, pump, thermostat


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heat pump vs in floor heat mugen HVAC 5 03-02-2010 08:18 PM
Getting a House..heatpump or no? DavidsCPU HVAC 10 02-07-2010 10:22 PM
Heat Pump Blower always on gg_daman HVAC 1 12-16-2009 06:15 AM
Which diagram to use on Lenox Thermostat wiring setup? Heat Pump Lenox techs needed twilightcall HVAC 1 08-13-2008 11:49 AM
Testing FuelMaster 21 Module? Heat Pump no Run. thehotrod11 HVAC 3 12-29-2007 02:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.