Heat Pump In PA - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2012, 01:22 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat Pump in PA


we recently were talked into a heat pump unit, on top of our ac we had a local installer put in......we are very unhappy with the unit....we paid an extra 800 dollars because he said it would be worth it and keep the home comfortable.....well it blows cold air most of the time......the ac part works good....but the heat pump was a total waste of money in our opinion......any idea why...or what could be wrong with it?? any help would be appreciated...thanks in advance!

Advertisement

mopardude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 01:29 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,537
Rewards Points: 4,712
Default

Heat Pump in PA


Most likely its not set up right. Charge could be off a little also.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 01:52 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat Pump in PA


Thank you.......I feel I didnt get a good job....his work was very shotty....lazy...path to least resistance type of guy.....any things specific to look for.....I want to have another company come in and look at it...but already being leary....I dont want to become a stool pigeon either....since I do not know what Im talking about....I may be taken advantage of. I will say something that happened...but he didnt say it would effect anything.....when he installed the unit..he plopped in right underneath our living room window....I didnt want to look at it...or hear it.....so i asked him if we could install it on the other side,...only more wire he said....i thought it was worth it...so we did....he mentioned we would be at our max line length? but it would be alright.....could this be the problem at all? plus he said he would come back and check over the system and never did.....so maybe it does need tweaked per say? thanks for the help regardless
mopardude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 02:19 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,537
Rewards Points: 4,712
Default

Heat Pump in PA


Longer line set can decrease capacity a little. But that probably isn't causing you any problem as far as cool air from it. He probably didn't add extra charge for teh longer line set. And good chance he didn't set up the blower.

Needs to be checked for proper air flow, and proper charge.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 04:33 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat Pump in PA


yes who knows...like i said im pretty naive with this stuff....so a lil leary....thats why im here.....so i dont get taken again......for instance...were in a cape cod...so he put the handler in the access attick behind our bedroom wall....the air coming outta that vent is so much and so loud....its ridicoulous......he says its because its the shortest run....live with it??? we have a pretty small home....816 sq ft on the main and 300 sq ft upstairs....all very small rooms....our master is 14 x12 the largest one......he fitted us wiht a luxaire 13 seer , and i believe 3.5 ton>? ....so i have no idea if its enough unit? or the set up from him
mopardude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 05:12 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,537
Rewards Points: 4,712
Default

Heat Pump in PA


More like its because he installed under sized duct work.

And a less then 1200 sq ft house would be in line for a 2 ton unit. 2.5 ton if it has little to no insulation.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 05:47 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat Pump in PA


the home was built in 97, we assumed its insulated decent...it is NOt wrapped though..i do know that......When u say undersized...do u mean diameter....i believe he used 6 or 8 inch.......or do u mean runs...he ran 6 runs....but i think the placement of the runs is not correct either.....like i said....path of least resistance.. there are two bedrooms upstairs...and two downstairs.......and he only put one run in our combo living room and kitchen, the largest area in the home....I question him if there should be two goin into that area! ,then he put the last one in the staircase goin to the second floor which didnt make sense cause all the hot air just hangs there...its really not getting circulated any where useful.....we left for work and this is what we got when we came home...how does a person know until its all over!....I could be wrong about the tonnage?.....I'll look up the paper work again
mopardude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 05:50 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat Pump in PA


where are u in pa been there?
mopardude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:12 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,537
Rewards Points: 4,712
Default

Heat Pump in PA


About 60 west of philly. In Lancster
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:12 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,537
Rewards Points: 4,712
Default

Heat Pump in PA


I was talking about the main truk line. can you post the model number of your outdoor unit.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:22 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat Pump in PA


Oh ok sorry.....I sure will, still at work......will tomm....thanks.....your a lil far from me...im above pittsburgh
mopardude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:24 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,537
Rewards Points: 4,712
Default

Heat Pump in PA


LOL, ya, thats out of my range.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 09:31 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat Pump in PA


I was wrong...its a 2.0 ton
description and model numbers on outside unit and air handler as follows

2.0t 13s hp r410a model thjd24s41s4

ah 1pc psc 2.0t 18 flex hz pan model ahr24b3xh21
mopardude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 01:40 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,412
Rewards Points: 822
Default

Heat Pump in PA


Reversing valve? T'stat o/b set up right?
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 01:44 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat Pump in PA


???? not talkin my language sorry....appreciate the help..but know nothing about these systems, other than what he told me about installing it.....white rodgers, run of the mill therm, i can tell u that.....beenthere was asking for the model numbers.......

Advertisement

mopardude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual fuel heat pump - no heat without propane sweetfarm HVAC 3 10-11-2012 09:07 AM
Can I connect Honeywell Vision PRO 8000 (1 Heat/ 1 cool) to a Heat Pump w/aux for heat coils? TimDavis HVAC 12 01-18-2012 08:06 AM
New Heat Pump Problems Cooling Zombify HVAC 2 04-06-2010 04:42 PM
Need help from control guys or heat pump gurus (reversing heat pump defrost cycle) pomelo HVAC 11 03-08-2010 09:13 PM
Comparison and Heat Pump Selection help... ChrisDIY HVAC 7 03-06-2010 09:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts