Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-10-2012, 12:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

Heat pump outside unit not working


The 20A fuess in the outside fuses box blown and the inside breaker tripped everytime the heat pump tried to start. I replaced the 20A , reset the breaker and replaced the capacity but still the same issues. please help. What can cause the fuses keep blowing every time it tried to start ?

cn36131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 12:30 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Heat pump outside unit not working


Compressor or a wire shorted to ground.

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 12:31 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tennesse
Posts: 74
Default

Heat pump outside unit not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by cn36131 View Post
The 20A fuess in the outside fuses box blown and the inside breaker tripped everytime the heat pump tried to start. I replaced the 20A , reset the breaker and replaced the capacity but still the same issues. please help. What can cause the fuses keep blowing every time it tried to start ?
This is a very bad sign, you have a dead short.....i hate to speculate....but usually when a breaker trips and a fuse blows, its a bad compressor.
dosy777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 12:34 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Heat pump outside unit not working


that means big bill and call the pro? is there anything I can do myself?
cn36131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 12:38 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tennesse
Posts: 74
Default

Heat pump outside unit not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by cn36131 View Post
that means big bill and call the pro? is there anything I can do myself?
if your comfortable with high voltage, and you have all the refrigeration equipment needed to diagnose and swap out a compressor, then I say go for it.......other wise yes call the pros

Its not something we can talk you through
dosy777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 01:10 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Heat pump outside unit not working


thank you. any idea of how much this can cause? it is a carrier old heat pump.
cn36131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 01:12 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Heat pump outside unit not working


before it stop working I heard some sound like air leaking so it is more like the compressor problem?
cn36131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 01:13 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tennesse
Posts: 74
Default

Heat pump outside unit not working


depends on the size, if its over 15 years old then it would be a waste of money to repair it.
dosy777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 01:16 PM   #9
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,575
Default

Heat pump outside unit not working


shut the disconnect out side remove the control panel is the contactor burnt or badly arked,burnt wires,pop the compressor cover where the 3 wires go in intact or what...last thing go to whee the guages go and burp some freon onto your finger ..do the insulatd line smell it if it smells(burns your nose) burnt the compressor is shot if freon is cooked as with that smell the compressor short did it..complete compressor change freon dryers contactors...be careful some rock and roller will come in an try to seel you a new condenser and or entire system....are you using R-22 if it's a 410A update more money to change out..be careful get many quotes or get screwed
biggles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 01:57 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Heat pump outside unit not working


the problem is the repair guys charge at least $100 just by coming to check out the unit...
cn36131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 03:04 PM   #11
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Default

Heat pump outside unit not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by cn36131 View Post
the problem is the repair guys charge at least $100 just by coming to check out the unit...
Most company's will prorate what you pay for them to come out to replacement of new system. But 100.00 is cheaper then 500 electric bill
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 05:11 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Heat pump outside unit not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by cn36131 View Post
before it stop working I heard some sound like air leaking so it is more like the compressor problem?
Probably blew the terminals out of the compressor. The money would be better spent toward a new unit instead of sinking $1500 into an old one.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 07:20 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Heat pump outside unit not working


Go with a new heat pump not worth doing a compressor change out.
Bigpapi08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 11:12 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Heat pump outside unit not working


Thank you everyone for response. Does a new heat pump use less electricity and eventually save my electric bill? Any good model ?
cn36131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 11:25 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tennesse
Posts: 74
Default

Heat pump outside unit not working


I am especially fond of the newer lennox HP's because they can be solar powered......

http://www.lennox.com/products/heat-pumps/XP21/

dosy777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VisionPRO Setup Functions & Heat Pump infoskr HVAC 34 11-20-2013 04:24 PM
Can I connect Honeywell Vision PRO 8000 (1 Heat/ 1 cool) to a Heat Pump w/aux for heat coils? TimDavis HVAC 12 01-18-2012 07:06 AM
Heat pump starts initially but will not come back on to maintain temps johnniebravo HVAC 53 11-22-2011 07:48 PM
Aux Heat Not working with Heat Pump quamism HVAC 5 10-26-2011 04:40 PM
heat pump not working kyleGR HVAC 2 05-30-2006 02:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.