Heat Pump Or Newer High Seer Unit - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2011, 10:07 AM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat Pump or Newer high seer unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Read my post above yours. It had to leak somewhere. May have a slow leak in the schraeder valve fittings outside. The only way to know for sure it to remove all the freon and do an expensive pressure test with nitrogen. If it has not been serviced for several years it may lose 1 lb but to lose 2 sounds like a lot and I imagine the previous owner would not have tolerated poor heating or cooling. You can look at the outdoor sticker rating plate and it should tell you how many pounds and ounces it holds. 2 ton unit can hold up to 6 lbs so I am extrapolating.

The condo unit has been empty for about a year and the college students probably were comfortable by just lowering the stat.

Also, there is also the possibility that it did not really need 2 lbs of freon, not making an accusation but it is a possibility.

Here is more information from him:


York Heat Pump M# E1RC042S06D (2003 model)

Compressor pulling 12.8 out of 23.5


Evaporator York Air Handler M# F2FP048H06BS (2003 model)

Blower pulling 2.3 a out of 3.4


"Evaporator is clogged. Preassures read 65/150 psig on startup at 65 degrees. Due to clogged evaporator, pressures drop steadily into freezing range. Will not know how much freon is needed until evap coil is cleaned."

Advertisement

Ed C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 10:13 AM   #17
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,137
Rewards Points: 912
Default

Heat Pump or Newer high seer unit


If it is overcharged then the larger line outside will get white and iced up and the indoor coil freezes up (usually) but it takes several hrs for that to happen and it will cool normally until that happens. W/O being there we cannot really tell you what the problem is. For all we know the compressor may not be running or the condensor fan going too slow or a whole host of other problems. My point is I would not assume it is overcharged until he tells you what he thinks is wrong or you get another skilled tech out there. It should be pulling about 3/4 of its rated amps on a hot day with a load.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 10:16 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat Pump or Newer high seer unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
If it is overcharged then the larger line outside will get white and iced up and the indoor coil freezes up (usually) but it takes several hrs for that to happen and it will cool normally until that happens. W/O being there we cannot really tell you what the problem is. For all we know the compressor may not be running or the condensor fan going too slow or a whole host of other problems. My point is I would not assume it is overcharged until he tells you what he thinks is wrong or you get another skilled tech out there. It should be pulling about 3/4 of its rated amps on a hot day with a load.

Thanks, yes I agree with all you say. Blower is set on low speed and is for a 4 ton and the actual heat pump is 3.5 ton.




As I asked earlier, you and he both state that the 2lbs is 20 percent of the total charge, does this unit hold 10lbs? seems like a lot! Disregard, re-read your earlier post!

Last edited by Ed C; 04-17-2011 at 10:22 AM. Reason: updated
Ed C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 10:26 AM   #19
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,137
Rewards Points: 912
Default

Heat Pump or Newer high seer unit


The problem you may have is that college students don't do maintenance (partying is more important), tend to keep the tstat at lower temps/drive the sheet out of it and may have shortened its life. I do rentals near a University and they could not care less as long as it blows some air. Air filter, whats that? We were all young and the same but it does not bode well for a happy healthy heat pump.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 10:49 AM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat Pump or Newer high seer unit


Thanks will advice later when I get back. News just said high 80's today so we should get a good load on lit.

Thanks
Ed C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 10:54 AM   #21
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,137
Rewards Points: 912
Default

Heat Pump or Newer high seer unit


Get the following readings:

outdoor temp
is unit running in direct sunlight at the time of readings or in the shade
outdoor relative humidity from weather channel
indoor humidity if you have a accurate table top humidity gauge or pick one up for under $20 at HDepot
supply temp from registers
return temp or indoor temp from tstat
freon pressures from his report

Then Beenthere and others can help but not necessarily me. Regulars ACs no problema.

Give the guy an honest chance to fix it. I get less than 5% callbacks on my service calls but do get a few from mismatched units, etc etc.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 04-17-2011 at 10:58 AM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 11:12 AM   #22
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,571
Rewards Points: 4,780
Default

Heat Pump or Newer high seer unit


The E1RC042 comes with 7 pounds 1 oz of charge in it, the F2FP048H requires an additional 17 ounces of charge to be added. And then what ever the line set length would require. So 10 pounds is possible if the line set is very long.

A 2003 makes it 8 years old, and it should have several more years of life span left in it.

Its also not possible to tell if its charged correctly or not with a dirty evap coil. And as said earlier, shouldn't need additional charge added unless it has a leak, or someone was huffing it.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 11:38 AM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat Pump or Newer high seer unit


Thanks, dont think anyone was huffing it but who knows.

As I recall in his first analysis, he said that the coil would need to be cleaned first to really determine if more refrigerant (2lbs) was needed. I also assume that he correctly leak checked it then added freon. I assume that he determined after cleaning that it did since he stated he added it. I also understand that at the temp he did all of this at, he may not have good readings. Whether he actually put in 2 lbs after cleaning is really unknown, no one knows but we want to believe he did.

I guess an explanantion as to it being low is that the system was never correctly charged when installed, hence the low refrigerant level now. Possible!

If he did add 2lbs to a system after the coil and condensor was cleaned then all we can say now is that the ac does not seem to cool as it did prior to all of this. When the ac cycles, you just dont feel the air change to cool like you think it would with a stat set at 73. You should be cold at 73, right!

Yuri basically asked for info to attempt a super heat analysis and maybe he will do one or at least I can watch and write down numbers.

Line set run is 25 feet easy.

Thanks for all of the help and suggestions.

Last edited by Ed C; 04-17-2011 at 11:43 AM.
Ed C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 11:47 AM   #24
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,571
Rewards Points: 4,780
Default

Heat Pump or Newer high seer unit


A 25 foot line set only requires an additional 7 ounces.

Sounds like its probably over charged. Got to give the system time to stabilize before adding refrigerant to a system. Also air flow should be checked.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 11:51 AM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat Pump or Newer high seer unit


Thanks, leaving now will advise later, really appreciate all of the help.

Again, not looking for a fight with the HVAC service, just need it fixed!

Thanks
Ed C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 12:00 PM   #26
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,571
Rewards Points: 4,780
Default

Heat Pump or Newer high seer unit


Your total charge based on a 25 foot line set should be 8 pounds 9 ounces.

Good luck.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 12:05 PM   #27
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,137
Rewards Points: 912
Default

Heat Pump or Newer high seer unit


I don't have a York charging table or the experience with their heat pumps but hopefully with some readings Beenthere can narrow it down as to whether it is close to normal.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 03:18 PM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat Pump or Newer high seer unit


Hi guys, sorry for taking so long. Dont have all of the numbers, I think the day we were there I had been working hard and well,,,,,,,,all is good as I recall from what I could see on guages I think they were aroungd 62-65 over 150, I think. Outside temp was about 83. Inside humidity (on a cheap meter) was about 45-47.

All is well between me and service folks, they advise if any other concerns just call.

SO I have another question, but will open new post.

Thanks!
Ed C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 05:19 PM   #29
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,571
Rewards Points: 4,780
Default

Heat Pump or Newer high seer unit


150 PSIGH would be 83F, which would indicate an overcharge if that was your head pressure when its 83 outside.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 05:30 PM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat Pump or Newer high seer unit


can you give me an idea what it should have been? I could be mistaken on what I was able to see, ballpark?

Are you coming to Texas anytime soon?

Advertisement

Ed C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trane Heat pump capacitor exploded! swiffy25 HVAC 18 01-19-2011 06:48 AM
heat pump / ac unit vs electric furnace ellebt HVAC 4 01-12-2011 10:22 PM
Using Gas heat during Defrost mgroves HVAC 15 12-18-2010 06:51 PM
Heat Pump Woes Zenica HVAC 50 01-27-2009 08:37 AM
Which diagram to use on Lenox Thermostat wiring setup? Heat Pump Lenox techs needed twilightcall HVAC 1 08-13-2008 12:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts