Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-14-2012, 11:37 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Heat Pump Efficiency Help!

I'm a noob so go easy on me

Random information about my house:
It is 926 square feet, has R13-14 walls, R30 Ceiling, Insulated (1 inch) Slab foundation
The heat pump is the original 1987 Lennox, 2 ton, ~8 seer? (tag faded long ago), split unit with the air handler in the [unfinished] garage. All of the ductwork is in the attic and has about an inch of insulation. The thermostat is a honeywell programmable on a wall that is about 3 feet from the return duct.

The efficiency problem I have had this winter is that whenever the temps were below 40 or so, the blast of cold air stored in the duct work combined with the time it takes for the heat pump to warm up cools the house to where the thermostat calls for aux heat after only about a minute. So I spent most of January and February heating my house with the strips. If the strip doesn't kick in after about two or three minutes the heat pump will run until the house warms up. I keep the temperature constant in the winter since whenever the thermostat increases it, it also kicks in the strip heat (so much for saving energy).

Is there anything I can do about this (short and long-term)? I have thought about insulating the rafters, garage, and duct work. Has anyone tried this and how well did it work? All of the smaller ductwork is pretty well buried in the 14" of insulation but large ducts are exposed on 3 and 4 sides.