Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2009, 09:28 AM   #1
Old Swab
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

heat pump cut off set point


We have a new Carrier Performance 5 ton heat pump, a 2200 sq foot home with lots of glass, and live 50 south of Indianapolis. The new heat pump and ultra high efficiency gas furnace (also Carrier) were installed in October. This is my first experience with a heat pump but we had a high efficiency Carrier gas furnace for 22 years before this new installation.
The heat pump seems to lock out and the gas furnace aux heat come on below about 30 degrees, but as soon as the inside temp recovers to 70 (we set it at 60 at night) the heat pump seems to kick in again. Hasn't really been cold enough during the days yet to see if the heat pump stays off when day time highs stay in the 20's. So my question is, given the price of natural gas, would it be more economical to select emergency heat when outside temps get below 30 and thus lock out the heat pump and rely on the gas furnace? I'm assuming that in the emergency heat mode that the heat pump does not operate, right?
Thanks.

oldswab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 01:30 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 291
Default

heat pump cut off set point


If it's a brand new system you should be asking your contractor for the optimal lockout settings based on his experience with temp conditions and energy costs in the area.

In general, a 30 degree heat pump lockout temp seems way too high unless electricity is super expensive and natural gas is cheap. I wouldn't be looking to set HP lockouts until you're in the low twenties.

hennyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 01:35 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,389
Default

heat pump cut off set point


That would depend on your gas and electric rate.

Nope, once set to emergency heat, the heat pump doesn't run anymore.
Sounds like they really oversized your heat pump.
What brand and lodel thermostat are you using.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 02:04 PM   #4
Old Swab
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 2
Default

heat pump cut off set point


The thermostat is a Carrier seven day programmable. I was wrong about house square footage, more like 3200. My wife is a realtor and keeps track of that stuff, I try to keep the machines running.
oldswab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 02:09 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,389
Default

heat pump cut off set point


5 ton for 3200 sounds better.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
heat pumps, natural gas


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting a House..heatpump or no? DavidsCPU HVAC 10 02-07-2010 10:22 PM
Help with heat pump!! mike85rob HVAC 2 12-02-2009 08:45 AM
Heat Pump Woes Zenica HVAC 50 01-27-2009 07:37 AM
Wiring a RobertShaw 9870i to Gas Furnace & Heat Pump jerfer HVAC 11 12-21-2008 09:09 PM
Electric Heat pump in New England? jzinckgra HVAC 7 05-22-2008 02:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.