Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-20-2014, 05:57 PM   #1

Share |

Heat Pump/Compressor Issues

Greetings,
This is my first time posting. I am hoping to get some advice for my mother. My late father who was an electrician installed a heat pump in the early in (probably) 1980. It lasted until 2008. Since then, my mother has had numerous issues with the new heat pump. The amount of money she spent is staggering and the latest round of repairs is being quoted (labor only) at double what it cost me to put in my own furnace, although mine is gas and probably not nearly as energy efficient.

Here are some basics:
*My mother lives in the Chicago area. I point this out because I believe it may be pertinent for several reasons. One major reason is that each time this pump has failed my mother has been forced to use the auxiliary heating which has resulted in electric bills that are hundreds of dollars more. The cost of the failures in extra heating bills is well over a thousand total and still climbing.

*My mother has a service agreement with the HVAC company that installed the heat pump since my fatherís death over ten years ago. They come twice a year and do routine maintenance and check for issues. My mother was told recently that these checks should last about an hour which was a surprise to her as there had been times the service person had been at her house for only 20 minutes.

*The new heat pump was installed in February of 2008.

*In July of 2009 the first compressor failed. At the time my mother was told there was no way to determine the cause of the failure. The part was covered under warranty, but labor was not.

*In March of 2011 the compressor failed again. Again my mother was told there was no way to determine a cause of the failure. This time however, all the work was covered at no cost to my mother.