Heat Pump Aux Heat Runs (almost) Always - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2010, 11:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Exclamation

Heat pump aux heat runs (almost) always


Good evening friends.
My wife and I just moved in to our newly built house. One of our first projects we decided on was installing a programmable thermostat that matched our decor. We decided on the Honeywell RTH7600D.

Ever since we wired up the new Tstat, the aux heat seems to be running all the time and for no reason. I will have it set to 70... the house temp is also at 70, then, after a couple of minutes, the aux heat clicks on, yet the temperature never went down. It will stay on for a couple minutes then click back off. If you wait another few minutes, it will click back on. Meanwhile, the temp never went below 70 and the set temp never went above 70.

I would prefer to only use the aux heat in extreme situations... like 15 degrees from set temp.

I also had a couple setup questions that may answer my question above:
What should I set the 0190 option to? I can set it to 0 or 1, depending on if I wired up O or B to O/B. Well, my old tstat had B/O and the new one has O/B...? I've been feeling heat with the system, so I think I have it set up correctly.

I'm not sure if you can tell or not, but I'm extremely new to home projects. I have the old tstat, notes I've taken during the install, and some pictures of the equipment if needed. Thank you so much for your assistance!

Advertisement

snappjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 12:37 AM   #2
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 594
Rewards Points: 514
Default

Heat pump aux heat runs (almost) always


If your heat pump outside is a Rheem, Ruud or Weatherking, (I've also seen old Mammoth Geothermals like this) option 190 = 1.
All other brands will need option 190 to be 0.




The Honeywell VisionPro TH8320 and the TH8321 (with the optional outdoor sensor) allow you to lockout Aux heat untill outdoor temp is 40 degrees.






Advertisement

Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 12:40 AM   #3
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 594
Rewards Points: 514
Default

Heat pump aux heat runs (almost) always


What is your option 170 setting?

Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 06:39 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,471
Rewards Points: 4,588
Default

Heat pump aux heat runs (almost) always


Why would you want the temp in your house to drop to 55 before the aux heat kicks on.
If thats what you want. Then just set the thermostat to 55. You'll be cold either way.

Wrong stat if you want the temp to have to drop more then before bringing on the aux heat.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 08:14 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat pump aux heat runs (almost) always


Thank you, as always, for the quick responses.

Just as a side note, here is how my wiring looks:
C to C
G to G
Y1 to Y
B/O to O/B
R to R with RC Jumper
W2 to Aux
E to E
No wire to L

Also, is the 1/2 degree aux kick on normal? Again, I am a noobie in every respect and I thank you for your time.
snappjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 08:20 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,471
Rewards Points: 4,588
Default

Heat pump aux heat runs (almost) always


With that line of thermostat yes.

There are some ways to hold it off a little longer. but not much. Its a comfort thermostat. So its designed to hold a very tight temp tolerance.
Big temp swings are not considered to provide comfort.

If you have your aux CPH set to factory recommended 9CPH. Change that to 3. It will hold off the aux heat for a little longer.

Also. Check to make sure the hole where the wires come through is sealed. A cool draft can make it bring on the aux quicker then needed also.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 08:21 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat pump aux heat runs (almost) always


Quote:
Originally Posted by Houston204 View Post
What is your option 170 setting?

My 170 is set to 7. Would setting it to 2 completely turn off the aux heat?
snappjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 08:24 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat pump aux heat runs (almost) always


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
With that line of thermostat yes.

There are some ways to hold it off a little longer. but not much. Its a comfort thermostat. So its designed to hold a very tight temp tolerance.
Big temp swings are not considered to provide comfort.

If you have your aux CPH set to factory recommended 9CPH. Change that to 3. It will hold off the aux heat for a little longer.

Also. Check to make sure the hole where the wires come through is sealed. A cool draft can make it bring on the aux quicker then needed also.
Thanks for the info! I'll check the sealing as soon as I am able. I may be able to stuff something in there to help out.
How would I check the aux CPH? Thanks guys, you are a huge help to me and the wife.
snappjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 08:30 AM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,471
Rewards Points: 4,588
Default

Heat pump aux heat runs (almost) always


Installer set.
0250 should be your aux heat CPH setting. See what its set to. Probably at factory setting of 9.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 08:35 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Heat pump aux heat runs (almost) always


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Installer set.
0250 should be your aux heat CPH setting. See what its set to. Probably at factory setting of 9.
I'm actually not seeing a 0250 option.
Here is the hookup manual for the Tstat:
http://customer.honeywell.com/techli.../69-2206EF.pdf
On page 18, it jumps from 0240 to 0270...
snappjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 08:49 AM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,471
Rewards Points: 4,588
Default

Heat pump aux heat runs (almost) always


I don't use the box store stats. They have some limitations that the trade stats don't.

So either 240 or 270 will be your setting to use for aux heat.

Set both of them to 3. If 240 is already at 3 and 270 is at 9. then 270 is both emergency and aux CPH setting.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aux , heat pump , honeywell


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heatpump vs Natural Gas - Energy Cost Spreadsheet zootjeff HVAC 8 11-19-2011 11:45 PM
infinity heat pump always on aux heat below 40 degree hirrlinger HVAC 4 07-18-2010 01:51 PM
Heat pump thermostat emergency switch joe913 HVAC 2 12-10-2009 01:54 PM
Ductless Heat Pump for Garage?? brittlediabetic HVAC 25 04-23-2009 03:28 PM
Please answer this question about my Carrier Heat Pump... jifmom HVAC 4 02-20-2009 12:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts