Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-16-2011, 07:15 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S.W. Indiana
Posts: 263
Share |
Default

Heat pump


Almost new Rheem PNL 024 JEZ heat pump quit working. Not getting 24 volts at the thermostat. Cant get 24 V anywhere on the control board, have 240/120 going in. Low voltage fuse is good but there is no voltage getting to it. Is the circuit board dead ?

JackDidley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 07:21 PM   #2
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Heat pump


Check 24vac at the transformer

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 07:39 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S.W. Indiana
Posts: 263
Default

Heat pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
Check 24vac at the transformer
I dont see a typical transformer. It has a defrost board on top of a control board, a defrost relay, fan relay and two capacitors. There is a blue box mounted to the control board with two large gauge high voltage wires going in it. Maybe an electronic transformer ??
JackDidley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 07:42 PM   #4
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Heat pump


did you check at the air handler?
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 07:47 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S.W. Indiana
Posts: 263
Default

Heat pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
did you check at the air handler?
The air handler is actually a gas furnace. It has its own transformer and the furnace is working fine.
JackDidley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 08:00 PM   #6
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Heat pump


Can you post pictures? The transformer is the only device that step up/down voltage. You should see a transformer in the controller board or outside
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 08:04 PM   #7
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Heat pump


http://www.rheem.com/product.aspx?id...C-713B7A0E4011
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 08:10 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S.W. Indiana
Posts: 263
Default

Heat pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
Can you post pictures? The transformer is the only device that step up/down voltage. You should see a transformer in the controller board or outside
I will get pics in the morning, its dark outside here now. Thanks for the link, thats the unit.
JackDidley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 08:13 PM   #9
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Heat pump


Let us know the number showing in the controller board display.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 08:24 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S.W. Indiana
Posts: 263
Default

Heat pump


No number. Its like there is no power anywhere on the board.
JackDidley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 08:31 PM   #11
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Heat pump


Check this video. You need to measure the incoming voltage in the board

http://www.youtube.com/user/dizzieda.../2/ephQCo8ikms
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 08:42 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S.W. Indiana
Posts: 263
Default

Heat pump


Thats almost identical. I do have 240 going in. The capacitors have power to all points. I "think" the blue box on the board is the transformer. It has power going in. No way to check output without removing the board. If I do that and there is no power coming out, can that be fixed or do I get another board ?
JackDidley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 09:05 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Default

Heat pump


install a new 3ton compressor and the breaker still trippin some one help with this one please
Dongoddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 09:02 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S.W. Indiana
Posts: 263
Default

Heat pump


Thought I'd update this. The guy came out today. It was the thermostat that was causing the problem. I was expecting him to hit me with a big bill but he would not accepy any $$$.

JackDidley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Gas heat during Defrost mgroves HVAC 15 12-18-2010 05:51 PM
New Heat Pump Problems Cooling Zombify HVAC 2 04-06-2010 03:42 PM
Need help from control guys or heat pump gurus (reversing heat pump defrost cycle) pomelo HVAC 11 03-08-2010 08:13 PM
New Install - Heat Pump Woes... mark1210 HVAC 7 03-07-2010 09:14 AM
Comparison and Heat Pump Selection help... ChrisDIY HVAC 7 03-06-2010 08:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.