Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-16-2011, 02:16 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Heat On Heat Off

This is my first time here, and I'm glad to have found this site...learning alot just reading the Q & A's...thanks in advance for any help you can give. OK, here's the deal. Heat was working ok, then stopped. Grabbed the first and easiest thought, must be the TStat...hadn't had a reason to open in years..made note of wiring colors Y W R Blk & Brn. Opened new honeywell programable (Old one was also programable) and noticed it calls for a green wire connection..on the old tsat I had wired the black wire in place of green and fan always worked fine. Did same again w/new tsat. Turned on the heat, cycled once turned off few minutes later cycled again..thought great, I'm done. Would'nt and couldn't get it working after 2nd cycle. Frustrated, changed to a manual Tstat. Wired up..turned it on, and we got heat..cycled once turned off...cycled again..then wouldn't come on again....left it alone for a day..got home last night, tried it and it came on for about 10 min..hasn't come on since. Hoping to get some ideas on what the problem could be so if I have it checked I don't get the run around. The unit is an 18 year old 3 ton Rheem located on the roof. Hope you folks can help. I don't hear any click when turning Tstat on..not sure if thats important or not..I believe this is a case of me knowing just enough to get myself into trouble........

Last edited by mbgsixty; 12-16-2011 at 02:33 PM.
mbgsixty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 03:45 PM   #2

Heat On Heat Off