Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-16-2010, 08:20 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


maybe a dumb question...you say O/B is either Orange or Blue. I have the Blue from the heat pump and the yellow from the furnace. Does that make sense of it there supposed to be just 1 wire into the O/B slot on the EIM?

HoneyPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 08:57 PM   #17
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,489
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


No.

I missed the yellow from furnace. What is the Yellow connected to at teh furnace.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 09:31 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


good question...this yellow wire is connected in the furnace to a larger half black half white wire. This one leads to some device with several prongs labelled M1 through M8. There are also 4 prongs with no label. The yellow wire is connected to one of these "unlabelled" wires. Does this help at all?
HoneyPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 10:36 AM   #19
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,489
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


Sounds like you'll need the furnace install manual to determine what wire goes where.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 09:29 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


I realize the color doesn't matter and it only matters that they match up. Most wire diagrams and manufacturers use this color coding. And using them in the field will avoid confusion.

What about the other wires that were not matching up? So use blue on O/B instead of orange, just make sure it's the same on condenser. What happened to white and yellow. Where do they go?
gibhvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 08:42 AM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


I removed the yellow wire coming from the furnace on the O/B leaving just the blue from the HP. Finally everything seemed to be working great! Heat was coming on as well as emergency heat when called upon and they were shutting off normally. However during the night the house got colled. Heat when on but was't warm...seemed just air moving around. So now I'm even more confused. The yellow wire I removed came from the furnance. How can it affect the HP? Am I getting closer??
HoneyPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 09:29 AM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


Ok good. sounds like your getting there. The heat strips may not be coming on. Do you have an amp probe to check amperage?If so =take the panel off of the air handler. clamp on your amp probe. you should get 20 amps per 5 KW of heat. So if you have 10KW. You will have 40 amps and your strips are working? If not, thats another issue. Can you access your HOneywell Installation manual. Go thru the steps again to reconfigure the stat. The step that asks how the system is energized- in cooling or in heat- choose heat and see what happens. But continue thru the steps until you have completed each step. I believe you will have an "0" option and a "1" option. choose "1". That will energize the reversing valve in heat if thats how rheem systems are set up. IF that doesn't fix it. go back and change to what it was on before you changed it. Because that probably wasn't the problem. if its still exists.

The yellow should go to Y on the stat. Yellow on Furnace. and yellow on condenser. Let me know how that goes.match the yellows up on each component.

OH and that white wire normally operates your heat. trace all your whites and make sure white goes to W1 on Tstat or aux. White at furnace to white- white on condenser to white. This could be your problem as well. let me know
gibhvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 09:41 AM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


Quote:
Originally Posted by HoneyPro View Post
I removed the yellow wire coming from the furnace on the O/B leaving just the blue from the HP. Finally everything seemed to be working great! Heat was coming on as well as emergency heat when called upon and they were shutting off normally. However during the night the house got colled. Heat when on but was't warm...seemed just air moving around. So now I'm even more confused. The yellow wire I removed came from the furnance. How can it affect the HP? Am I getting closer??

oh and btw. sounds like your HP is warming your house, but your strips are the main source of heat, they probably are not hooked up. Make sure the White is matched up with aux on stat. and if the wires are not white at the air handler- Thank rheem for making it difficult. get your wire diagram find out which wire operates those strips and hook up your white from outside and from the stat to the air handler. that will take care of the strip heat.

1-Temperature from vents when HP only is operating will be 98 degrees.
2-Temperature when strips are operating with heat pump will be around 120 degrees. when your stat reaches set temp. the strips go off and your hp maintains the temperature your strips helped to attain. thats why it runs continuously. This would be normal operation.

You must live somewhere where it gets cold. If you cant warm the house. Where are you from?
gibhvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 02:10 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


I live in Quebec, Canada and currently we're a few degrees above freezing points...nothing compared to waht we get in January or February.
On the EIM, can there be 2 wires on the same slot?
On the Y, I currently have the yellow from the HP.
Should the Y from the furnace go in this same slot?
HoneyPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 09:34 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


Quote:
Originally Posted by HoneyPro View Post
I live in Quebec, Canada and currently we're a few degrees above freezing points...nothing compared to waht we get in January or February.
On the EIM, can there be 2 wires on the same slot?
On the Y, I currently have the yellow from the HP.
Should the Y from the furnace go in this same slot?
What does EIM stand for? If it's an accessory I am not sure if that would right or not. If it is an accessory, and you want heat, you may want to take that out of play for now. Until you can have someone who knows in your area to determine that for you. But you should only have one yellow on stat. At your air handler you should have yellow that came with the unit and two wires wirenuted or on the terminal board marked yellow. If no yellow is found in air handler, simply wire nut the two thermostat wires from stat and outdoor unit. That will complete the cooling circuit. Do you have the model number of the air handler, outdoor unit, and any accessories that is on your system? If you give me those numbers, I can look them up and check what wires go where and we can go from there. I have seen Rheem/Rhuud have some wacky wiring. Sometimes the wires aren't solid color wires, they maybe two colors.

One last question, why do you have a heat pump if you live in such a cold area. Your heat pump will constantly be in defrost and never keep the house as warm as you like. Did you know your heat pump goes into air conditioning when going through defrost and your heat strips supplement the cold air while in defrost. A heat pump works best at temps 45 degrees or higher. Just wondering. Get me that info so I know what your working with. Thanks
gibhvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 12:40 AM   #26
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,489
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


Equipment Interface Module

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodman GPH1336H21AA heat strip connection jrajra HVAC 2 09-02-2010 04:52 PM
How hot can I turn up my floor heat? secutanudu Flooring 7 05-16-2010 10:07 PM
Honeywell 5yr old unit with no heat iniazi HVAC 4 01-10-2010 12:10 AM
HELP? Control Board Fixed Heat...But Now A/C Won't Turn On - Homeowner KLR HVAC 35 08-15-2009 10:46 AM
Cracked Heat Exchanger SusanB. HVAC 12 10-14-2008 03:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.