Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2010, 12:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


Got a new Honeywell Truesteam and VisionPro IAQ installes a few months ago on my RUDD. A/C worked great during the summer but with the recent colder weather I noticed the heat doesn't stop once it goes on, even if everything is turned off on the t-stat.
I either have to switch it to A/C and then stop it or turn it off at the braker.
Actually if I tunr off the braker and turn in back on right away the heat is still going. I know it's the heat and not just the fan because the house keeps getting hotter.

Could it be a wiring issue or a programming issue with the VisonPro?

Thanks for your help

HoneyPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 12:27 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 162
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


Quote:
Originally Posted by HoneyPro View Post
Got a new Honeywell Truesteam and VisionPro IAQ installes a few months ago on my RUDD. A/C worked great during the summer but with the recent colder weather I noticed the heat doesn't stop once it goes on, even if everything is turned off on the t-stat.
I either have to switch it to A/C and then stop it or turn it off at the braker.
Actually if I tunr off the braker and turn in back on right away the heat is still going. I know it's the heat and not just the fan because the house keeps getting hotter.

Could it be a wiring issue or a programming issue with the VisonPro?

Thanks for your help
Sounds like a stuck relay inside the VisionPro, to me.

moondawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 05:52 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,791
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


Probably miswired.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 09:09 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


How do I go about testing and finding out which one it is? I've read numerous posts and I would say the wiring is OK. It was done by a professional (but it was his first EIM). How do I know which colors coming from the HP and the furnace are what?
HoneyPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 09:24 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,791
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


Look what wires are connected where. And post that info here.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 09:35 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


Here goes...
From the HP:
red to RH
black to C
orange to out 1 and green to out 2 for outdoor sensor
blue to O/B
yellow to Y
white and black are free

From furnace:
red to RC
white to C
green to G
blue to aux1
yellow to O/B

From humidifier:
white to hum1
black to hum2

From t-stat:
orange to 1
black to 2
red to 3
HoneyPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 09:42 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,791
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


Generally. Whote of the furnace. Should go to W/aux of the EIM. Presuming that its connected to the W of the furnace.

Apparently, they did not wire your heat pump to bring the furnace on for defrost.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 10:21 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


Quote:
Originally Posted by HoneyPro View Post
Got a new Honeywell Truesteam and VisionPro IAQ installes a few months ago on my RUDD. A/C worked great during the summer but with the recent colder weather I noticed the heat doesn't stop once it goes on, even if everything is turned off on the t-stat.
I either have to switch it to A/C and then stop it or turn it off at the braker.
Actually if I tunr off the braker and turn in back on right away the heat is still going. I know it's the heat and not just the fan because the house keeps getting hotter.

Could it be a wiring issue or a programming issue with the VisonPro?

Thanks for your help
Sounds like it didn't get programmed correctly for the application you are trying to run. When a tstat that works on heat pump and gas systems are not programmed correctly it will act like you have explained. Also make sure stat is wired correctly too. Good luck.
gibhvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 10:54 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


From this the wiring is not correct. If you need heat I would eliminate the accessaries for now until a tech can come out and check it. If u can't wait for tech wire up for normal application and go in and reprogram the vision pro for the app you are using.

Ususally orange is O/B on stat- outdoor and air handler are wired to orange
White is white w1/aux
Red to rh
Use blue for common
Yellow to yellow
Green to green and gets wired on air handler for indoor fan. Not needed on outdoor unit
If you have 2 stage cooling. Use black outside and at stat.
When you confirm all is wired to correct terminals. Reprogram vision pro for the application type. The first few settings are most important and if set wrong will not work correctly. Let me know if you need more help.

From the HP:
red to RH
black to C
orange to out 1 and green to out 2 for outdoor sensor
blue to O/B
yellow to Y
white and black are free

From furnace:
red to RC
white to C
green to G
blue to aux1
yellow to O/B
From humidifier:

Who wired this thermostat? Looks like that's your problem to start with.
Yellow is used for compressor- Y
Green is indoor fan. No green hooked up outside. G
Orange is reversing valve. O/B
Red is power. Rh or R on stat. Leave jumper in place. Don't remove.
White is heat. Or W1
Common. Use blue in and out.
Everything is color coded and should match up colors

Is this a gas furnace or heat pump. Split unit or package unit?
*** turn off power to units when changing wiring. And you would be wise to go through programming the stat to make sure it's correct. If not it will keep you scratching your head .
white to hum1
black to hum2

From t-stat:
orange to 1
black to 2
red to 3[/QUOTE]
gibhvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 03:39 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


Not sure how to go about this anymore. So far I got replies saying it can by a stuck relay, wrong wiring, or wrong configuration.
Anyway I can test which one it could really be?
HoneyPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 04:26 PM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,791
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


Write down where all the wires are connected at each device, and post it here.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 01:02 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


From the HP:
red to RH
black to C
orange to out 1 and green to out 2 for outdoor sensor
blue to O/B
yellow to Y
white and black are free

From furnace:
red to RC
white to C
green to G
blue to aux1
yellow to O/B

From humidifier:
white to hum1
black to hum2

From t-stat:
orange to 1
black to 2
red to 3
HoneyPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 02:55 PM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,791
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


You said the house kept getting warmer. Did it show that the temp was increasing on the stat, or did the stat just show the temp not rising.

Who ever wired it, was a comedian. Most people would use the same color code from each piece of equipment where ever possible. However, its wired ok. Except, the heat pump is not wired to use the aux heat during defrost.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 04:00 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


From how I am reading it- its not wired correctly. I will list what doesnt match up from what I am reading.

Blue to O/B- shouldnt Orange from O/d unit and Air handler go to Orange on stat. This is for orange- not blue

white to Common- shouldnt whatver is used fro common on o/door unit and air handler be the same color. If black is used for common at heat pump then black should be used for common on air handler too. and at the stat. Black to Black to black for common.

White needs to be used on W1 at furnace, white to white on outdoor unit and white to aux on stat. They have yellow going to O/B on stat. Orange goes there.
Take blue off of O/B and dont use it
Take Yellow off O/B on Furnace- Orange should go there and at the stat. Use Orange to Orange on HP.

All wires need to match colors. its not as difficult as you think.
This is what you need to have
Thermostat:
Red to RH
Yellow to Y
Black to C
White to Aux
Orange to O/B
Green to G

Furnace:
Red to red
Yellow to Yellow
Black to common
White to W1
Orange to Orange
Green to Green

Heat Pump
Red to Red
Yellow to Yellow
Black to Common
White to White
Orange to Orange
No Green needed. Disconnct that wire for now to eliminate that outdoor sensor for time being until a tech can rewire this system.

Follow the above and you will have heat and it will work correctly. Your wires are for sure crossed with th info you have given. Let me know how it turns out.
gibhvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 04:05 PM   #15
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,791
Default

Heat does not turn off with new VisionPro


O/B stands for Orange or Blue(blue is most often used with Rheem/Ruud heat pumps, since they energize the RV for heat).

Yes, its better if the same color wires are used at all connections. The equipment only cares that the wires make the correct connection, not that the color is a certain color..

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodman GPH1336H21AA heat strip connection jrajra HVAC 2 09-02-2010 04:52 PM
How hot can I turn up my floor heat? secutanudu Flooring 7 05-16-2010 10:07 PM
Honeywell 5yr old unit with no heat iniazi HVAC 4 01-10-2010 12:10 AM
HELP? Control Board Fixed Heat...But Now A/C Won't Turn On - Homeowner KLR HVAC 35 08-15-2009 10:46 AM
Cracked Heat Exchanger SusanB. HVAC 12 10-14-2008 03:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.