Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-30-2013, 08:59 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

heat on Cool


I just replaced my Honeywell thermostat with a Trane and now my heat comes on when set to cool..

I tried switching the Orange and White and it is still happening.. Is there a reason for this happening? I'm starting to sweat a little, and the wife is not helping..

I originally setup the new one going off the chart here on page 6

Old

New

mchipser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 09:09 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,390
Rewards Points: 4
Default

heat on Cool


Look in your furnace and see how the wires are connected. Match them to your thermostat and hopefully it works.

__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to djlandkpl For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (10-30-2013)
Old 10-30-2013, 09:10 PM   #3
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 1
Default

heat on Cool


do you have a heat pump? Did you program the stat for your type of system in the installers setup? Reread the manual.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvactech126 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (10-30-2013)
Old 10-30-2013, 09:11 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,088
Rewards Points: 70
Default

heat on Cool


Did you go to 18C and set I to heat. If so, change it back.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 09:17 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 0
Default

heat on Cool


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
do you have a heat pump? Did you program the stat for your type of system in the installers setup? Reread the manual.
I just saw that in the manual

I don't think my system is a multi stage even though I have a Y2 label.

Also should the Orange go to W2 (like i originally had it) or W1

Last edited by mchipser; 10-30-2013 at 09:29 PM.
mchipser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 10:04 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 0
Default

heat on Cool


This is the thermostat I am coming from..

http://hpgavin.pratt.duke.edu/DFM/HoneywellRTH7400.pdf
mchipser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 10:22 PM   #7
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,764
Rewards Points: 18
Default

heat on Cool


Old:
R (and RC): 24 volts via red wire
orange wire to W for heat pump/first stage heat
white wire to w2 for second stage heat OR auxilary/back up heat/emergency
Yellow wire to Y for cooling
Green wire to G for "fan on"
blue wire on C is commaon


For new stat:
red wire to 2-1c (opposite where it is now)
and switch w1 (white wire)
and w2 (orange)
Green wire is still to G
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 10:27 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 0
Default

heat on Cool


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
Old:
R (and RC): 24 volts via red wire
orange wire to W for heat pump/first stage heat
white wire to w2 for second stage heat OR auxilary/back up heat/emergency
Yellow wire to Y for cooling
Green wire to G for "fan on"
blue wire on C is commaon


For new stat:
red wire to 2-1c (opposite where it is now)
and switch w1 (white wire)
and w2 (orange)
Green wire is still to G
There isn't a 2-1c on the new one..
mchipser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 10:31 PM   #9
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,764
Rewards Points: 18
Default

heat on Cool


yuppers, I read that wrong. It's 24c, top right, where you currentl;y have the blue common wire. that is where the 24 volts from the furnace allows the stat to be a switch, where the red wire belongs first and foremost so the stat can switch calls as needed.

I want a service fee...
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 10:33 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 0
Default

heat on Cool


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
yuppers, I read that wrong. It's 24c, top right, where you currentl;y have the blue common wire. that is where the 24 volts from the furnace allows the stat to be a switch, where the red wire belongs first and foremost so the stat can switch calls as needed.

I want a service fee...
Then where does the blue wire go?
mchipser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 10:56 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 0
Default

heat on Cool


I pulled all the wires out and it looks like the blue wire wasn't in the slot correctly.. I reset the blue wire and it is working now..

Thanks for the help guys!!
mchipser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 11:09 PM   #12
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,764
Rewards Points: 18
Default

heat on Cool


good.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 11:16 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 0
Default

heat on Cool


Once i added it to my Zwave system is started to not work again..
mchipser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 08:28 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 0
Default

heat on Cool


So it stopped working a few months ago, and i didn't worry about it since it got cold outside.. Now that it is warm again I'm freaking hot.. I put the old thermostat back on and it still isn't working.. It fan does kick on, but the compressor does not. I checked the fuse in the air handler and it wasn't blown.. I did have the compressor changed last year, it shorted out, anything else i can check before I call the AC guys out again?

mchipser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trane Heat Pump Problems (heat instead of cool) leesimmonds HVAC 12 03-22-2011 04:23 AM
How to stop auxillary heat from coming on defrost cycle and limit auxillary heat use? twilightcall HVAC 34 12-28-2010 06:53 PM
Governments Renewable Heat Incentive SMurray Green Home Improvement 1 10-24-2010 08:30 AM
uneven heat: testing ceiling radiant heat /finding cables/fix cables martinradiant Electrical 1 10-03-2010 08:22 PM
Is there a way to have heat, cool and fan all on same blower speed? pirateo HVAC 4 08-14-2009 04:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.