Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-30-2011, 12:54 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 199
Rewards Points: 150
Default

heat and air conditioner on a boat


hey I have a marine heat pump system that runs on r 22. the problem is the thermostat is old, and I want to put a new digital thermostat there. the problem is the control voltage on the boat is 120 volts not 24 volts. but the compressor and air handlers are120 volts. can't I add a transformer and change out the relay and make this thing work?

thanks for all your help

wetbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 01:20 PM   #2
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,714
Rewards Points: 2,062
Default

heat and air conditioner on a boat


Quote:
can't I add a transformer and change out the relay and make this thing work?
Ayuh,... Maybe....

Probably easier to just get a 120v T-stat...

Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 04:30 PM   #3
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,769
Rewards Points: 2,676
Default

heat and air conditioner on a boat


I agree

http://www.luxproproducts.com/program.html

They have a line voltage one for heating. Have never seen one for AC as there are no 110 volt AC tstats that I have ever seen. You can do it with a transformer and relay but may run into liability issues if something goes wrong.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 11-30-2011 at 04:43 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 04:46 PM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

heat and air conditioner on a boat


could add this relay http://www.bestbuyheatingandaircondi..._Code=REL90123 might want to add a time delay with it being 120V along with that TR 40VA 115/24.if you go with the 24V change ton of setback stats are there with wake/leave/return/sleep..if you just want 2 setbacks might hold off...120Vs are availible....
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.